We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“southernmost hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Southernmost Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
“southernmost hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

i loved staying in this beautifully appointed hotel. The room was spacious, contemporary design with 5 star amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. I needed directions to get to my room and the person I asked WALKED me to it. The food we ordered from bar by pool was delicious. Ceasar salad and scrimp. Fresh and tasty. The concierge recommended excellent restaurants and info on where galleries and shops were. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    409
    82
    43
    33
See reviews for
296
745
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temperance, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our room was newly renovated, nice and comfortable. The staff was very good and helpful. We liked the location, close to the beach and southernmost cafe. Check this place out, you will like it.One thing to know, most of the housekeeping staff are non-english speaking, therefore it was difficult to convey any special needs directly with the lady who was our housekeeper. I had to go down to the front desk and let them know what little changes I needed. The front desk quickly made sure those little requests were addressed. All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room facing United Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I found this hotel because it is one of the few in key west that seemed to have a resort like feel and it is much cheaper than the Southern Most on The Beach. You still get all the amenities of the Beach resort just at a better price and slightly different location. Most rooms are parking lot view which was not a big deal because who really stays in the room much in kw? There are some rooms with a pool view. Checking in was easy and the front desk staff were all very nice. However, there was some construction going on, the website said he construction would be completed almost a month before our stay. This was a problem because it did wake us up earlier than expected one morning. We did talk to the front desk and did receive comp breakfast, which was a nice gesture but I'm not sure how I felt about the whole situation. Before this,we had a light flickering and a broken refrigerator. The fridge was replaced quickly and the light bulb was removed and not replaced. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a pleasant surprise. There was a very large walk in shower and ample space for getting ready. The room was small but that's expected most places in kw. The pool bar was great and even had happy hour and drink specials daily. Many activities are held each day at the hotel and we very much enjoyed beer school with Boomer by the pool. I was also a little confused as the why there was a guy walking around the "private" beach area with a very inappropriate thong like outfit. I felt that this was inappropriate considering the little kids at the beach area. But I overheard him telling people that this was allowed. If my child had been with us I would have left be beach, yes it's that bad. After all this is kw! You never know what you will see here. Overall we had a good stay and yes I would come back,but maybe choose to pay a little more for a pool area room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I would like to apologize for the noise you heard during your stay with us. All major renovations to our property were completed by October 19th with a few minor improvements still in progress. I believe our new luggage storage addition was the noise you heard and while I wish these improvements could be accomplished in another fashion, unfortunately there is little alternative. I am glad the front desk bought you breakfast for this inconvenience. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed the brand new rooms we've just updated and our fun and fabulous pools and bars. I can tell by your description you were on Key Wests South Beach and as we do not own this property we have no ability to dictate an individual’s attire. I can appreciate your concern however, Key West is known for its open and accepting attitudes and while this may not be for everyone it is a valued part of the community. I would like to thank you again for taking time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Southernmost Hotel for 3 nights, we were in the part across the street from the beach but was still very convenient. The Southernmost Beach Cafe had good food at prices that were not outrageous. We had read some reviews that had me concerned so we we checked in I asked if the room has in the renovated part and when they said it was not I asked to see the room. I was pleasantly surprised. Even though it had not yet been renovated the room was very nice with nice big bathroom with large tiled shower enclosure. Had a problem with hot water at one point but once we reported it, they fixed the issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in Key West, recently.

Check-in was easy, and Wally was accommodating and super friendly, introducing us to the concierge, and showing us where the pools, spa and bars are on the property. He also tried to find us a larger room, but we were totally okay with the prospect of being at the end of the building.

We ended up in room 130, which was indeed small, but it was perfect! They've managed to fit quite a lot into the little space - large dresser, work desk, queen bed, closet w/ fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. The bathroom was a decent size - plenty of room to move around in. The best part about the room was the QUIET. Being at the end of the building, we were pretty much isolated from the rest. The room also opens out into a little garden area, and we could hear a couple roosters crowing in the morning. It was great.

We had drinks a couple nights at the bar near the beach, during happy hour. The service at the bar inside was okay, but we sat out on the patio, where there was zero service. So we just went inside whenever we wanted a drink.

Tried the spa for a pedicure and had a really good one, courtesy of Tippy, whose leg & foot massage made me want to just fall asleep in the chair for a while! Also, Amber, who also works at the spa is incredibly sweet and very efficient with scheduling. Very well run place.

We were only in Key West for a long weekend, so we spent most of our time walking around town, doing some tours, and eating/drinking. Didn't lounge by any of the hotel's pools, but they looked nice from what I could tell.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you like peace & quiet (read: no sleep interruptions) and don't mind a small room, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First the resort is made up of several buildings. Our room was in the front building nice remodeled room.There were 3 pools and a beach all of which were very nice. Each poolbar had daily specials as did the main resteraunt bar. The rooms were very clean and withing walking distance of most anything you wanted to get to. The trolley stop was close by. Would deffinatly stay again. Just wish the Rooster would loose his voice or reset his clock.

Room Tip: If you want spend a little more and get back by the beach and back pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service very clean and modern rooms, a little pricey during the event, but we would return, close to everything, beach is not special but keys do not have lots of beach ... have lots of their own bars and food to offer we just tried the bar

Room Tip: we stayed along side street which was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.