We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Mahtomedi, mn
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed for two nights to try the other side of the island. The room was large and clean, pool area was very nice. We enjoyed the company of Rich and Melissa at the pool bar, freindly and helpfull. Being right on the water was nice and my wife enjoyed the hammocks out by the water.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    438
    93
    39
    15
See reviews for
446
1,380
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed in a new room with a partial sea view. Room was outstanding and well worth the extra. Pool area was great although a rowdy group of adullts with mission to party occupied it most of the time. They did get out of hand on a couple of occassions (using very explicit language and doing stunts in the pool) somone complained (with small children) and manager dealt with them efficiently and effectively. Our only issue was the cafe, we had breakfast there once, we thought it was very poor and when you get the bill with GRATUATITY NOT INCLUDED written in huge writing gives you an indication of where their priorities are!

Overall though a fantastic place and probably best place we have stayed in the keys.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Well.. I had been planning a trip to Key West for months to scatter my dad's ashes and we finally made it down a week ago. The hotel was beautiful.. great views, clean, food was good at the cafe.. wonderful service at the pool bar.. thanks Kevin, Rich, and Melissa :) However our stay turned for the worse when we used the hotel concierge to book a few trips. I won't go into what they were but needless to say we were disappointed. She booked us on the busiest day without telling us.. she talked us into something that was not for us. She probably knew what she was doing but was trying to make money instead of help new comers find activities they enjoyed. She gave us the wrong time to be at a ship and they wouldn't let us on and charged us for the trip anyway. We tried to tell a manager that she gave us the wrong time and no one seemed to care. Like I said, nice hotel... just beware of the concierge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in a new king size room with a balcony. We loved everything about the room which included an awesome shower, coffee maker, in-room safe and refrigerator. The pool was very nice and clean with a view of the ocean. Pool bar is open until 11:00pm and if Kevin the bartender is working you will have a great time. The location was great and within walking distance of most sights. If it's too hot or your not up for a walk you can rent a bike or scooter ( scooters are awesome ) catch a cab or take a trolley. The hotel has a private beach nothing to get excited over, none of the beaches on this island are great. The reception staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. I do recommend the Hemmingway House, bars/shopping on Duval, Mallory Square sunset, a jetski tour around the island ( located next door on beach at Reach Resort and a scooter rental ( only way to see the island ). I would definitally stay at the Southernmost on the Beach again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I decided to cruise down to the Keys after a conference in Hollywood, FL we looked at TRIP ADVISOR and found this gem!! We loved it!! The location was GREAT it was within walking distance of almost all of the sights and there was a trolley tour you could take across the street if you couldn't walk. The rooms were clean, big and had beautiful views! The pool was fabulous and the Kevin the bartender even played the guitar!! I would recommend this for families or romantic getaways. We plan on coming back with our children next time! I do recommend that you stay longer than the two nights we stayed as there is so much to do!! I do recommend the Butterfly conservatory, Pirate Soul, Rooftop Cafe, Camille's and the bars/shopping on Duval

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach in the "old" rooms. However, the room looked like it was new. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. The location was great on the beach and a walk or bike ride from the "happening" part of Duval St. There are 3 pools at the Southernmost hotel bunch. The one one the beach has a bar as well as the one across the street. There is a somewhat hidden pool that is by the conference center that was very private especially at night. I would definitally stay at the Southernmost again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was a very nice hotel. The rooms are large and roomy and the balcony was very nice. The staff was exceptional. The pool area was nice and clean and family friendly. We had a great time at this property.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.