We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing and first class with everything!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing and first class with everything!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was the most wonderful experience in Key West! We stayed here two nights, almost like a second honeymoon for our 37 yr marriage. Our oceanfront room was gorgeous, the view from the balcony was awesome, the amenities were sensational, including the espresso machine, chocolates on the pillows, and a beautiful king size super comfy bed. You'll pay for all these first class high quality accommodations, but it's grand. Beautiful memories for us!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so pleased to know that you had such a wonderful time with us and it is so gratifying to read that our accommodations made you feel like you were experiencing a second honeymoon! Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories with us and I hope you and your husband with visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    404
    85
    36
    13
See reviews for
424
1297
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Five star hotel, lovely rooms with the most comfortable beds. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Used the concierge to book a sunset sail. Lovely pool and grounds with lots of bars. Would have no problem revisiting anytime

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I really appreciate all of the kind words you have for our resort and staff and I am very pleased you look forward to returning to us in the future. I know that our staff members genuinely want our guests to have a fantastic time while visiting and your praise is very much appreciated. Thank you again for writing your review and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was one of my most memorable trips to Key West. The staff was amazing and made it a point to remember my name. My room was impeccably clean and the poolside staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I will always stay at the Southernmost whenever i visit Key West.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property Nelson T. I am so pleased that you had a memorable stay! Thank you for letting us know how well you were treated by our staff members and how much you enjoyed your room. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for every guest and I’m very proud we were able to do this for you. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach for a girls trip. We are in our late 40's and are all seasoned travelers. The resort is beautiful, we were in building "A" however I've definitely stayed in better! Complaints: our room never cooled to below 77, there were NEVER enough pool chairs, and if you are staying here because they have a little "beach", find somewhere else. The beach sucked!
Positives: clean, well decorated room with comfortable beds. Nicely manicured grounds, at the quiet end of town, the tranquility pool was awesome, except your feet will burn off if you walk barefoot. The food in Key West is some of the best cuisine I've tasted anywhere!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize that your “girls’ trip” was not exceptional. While it is true Key West isn’t known for its beaches (we are situated on the remains of exposed coral) we are lucky to have a few man made beaches and our property has the advantage of having access to 2 of them. I’m sorry the conditions were not more favorable while you were here and the beach was not what you were expecting. I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your room, our grounds and Tranquility pool. I hope you will write to me and let me know which room you were in so I can have the Director of Engineering check the a/c unit. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope we will have the opportunity to make a future stay exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights over Fourth of July weekend. Our room was spacious, with a nice balcony and a view of the water. The beach was nice and the cafe on the beach was very casual and had good food. Other than a couple of disinterested people at the front desk, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is great. It is one block from Duval Street, but the wilder part of Duval is about a mile from the hotel. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is always wonderful to know that our rooms, grounds and location please our guests. I apologize that the service from our front desk personnel was below our usually high standards and your expectations. Your thoughtful comments are appreciated and will certainly be shared with the appropriate personnel. We strive to make certain every guest has the time of their life and it is always helpful to know where we succeed and where we can improve. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope for a chance to make a future stay with us exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Upon arriving, we received a hand-written note and a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary! Started our trip on the right food for sure. The Cafe was delicious. The bartenders are the Shores Pool Bar were awesome. Michael the Activities Director was super fun and made the atmosphere and the Shores Pool so enjoyable and helped you get to know other guests. Southernmost has tons of European visitors which we found to be a breath of fresh air. Duval St is right around the corner but not "in the mix". This place was perfect in every way for what we were looking for: relaxation, fun & good food!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased to read you had such a nice time during your 5th anniversary (congratulations!). Your kind words for our staff members Michael, our bartenders and our award winning Southernmost Beach Café are most appreciated and I will be sure to share them. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Loved the location at the south end of Duval. Rave reviews. We just had one waiter at the cafe who said he didn't have time to discuss separate checks. Loved Bill and John at the bar! We lived music by the pool. Singing by Jean Lamour Michel and the guy who grew up in St Thomas.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry to read of the poor service you received from one of our team members. We are constantly conducting exceptional customer service training courses and your experience will certainly be used as an example. I am pleased to read that you loved Bill and John at the bars as well as our live musicians, and I will be sure to share your comments with all. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope we will have an opportunity to make a future stay with us exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.