We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Key West
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I travelled to Southernmost on the Beach for a few days after a holiday in Orlando and travelled down to the Keys with my boyfriend. I debated over which hotel to pick for so long as there are so many choices!

However I truly loved Southernmost on the Beach. Wonderful, wonderful hotel. We stayed in a deluxe King with balcony so sadly we didn't have a view of the ocean, however my boyfriend being the practical one said there was no point paying quite a lot more when we will hardly be in the room. He is right of course, but I still would've loved the view!

The room was comfortable, fantastic bed of a decent size and lovely plush pillows. Huge bathroom with large walk in shower, plus safe and full size fridge which was great.

Main pool was gorgeous, very clean and warm, although we did spend a lot of time on the tanning pier as the breeze was lovely and cooling. Beware the breeze though, it's deceptive and I got quite badly sunburnt but that is my own fault!!

Only thing I would say is that SMOB is completely other end of Duval from the main action and its further than you realise. And in the heat, in delicate jewelled flip flops I found it far too far to walk, however it's only $10 in a cab. Do not bother with the pedicabs, waste of money and tourist rip off! I didn't mind being that far away, but it did mean getting a cab. Concierge are excellent and will call you a cab and it arrives in a couple of minutes.

Other comment is that being from the UK and not having children, my boyfriend and I went in early September as nobody who doesn't need to gets a flight to Florida in June - August! So whilst it was still lovely and hot, lots of places are closed in September as its quiet time which was hugely disappointing especially as I really wanted to go to Better than Sex dessert restaurant but it was closed for vacation.

Overall though, we loved SMOB and would absolutely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,703
    401
    85
    36
    13
See reviews for
419
1281
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our vacation spent in Key West was absolutely amazing. We had great fun visiting all the restaurants, bars & sites such as Hemingway's house...but the reason it was our best vacation ever was due to the Southenmost on the Beach. The grounds and rooms were immaculate and the people made us feel like family or at least like very special & honored guests! We will definetly come back to Key West and when we do this is where we will be staying!

Room Tip: Any room on the Atalantic side would be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. We arrived about 4 hours early due to flights and Todd checked us in immediately to an amazing room 521. Perfect room because it was one room from the end of the hotel and a 30 second walk to the pool but it was peaceful and quiet. Our view of the ocean was amazing and there were hammocks right outside our door. The beach was never very crowded and were able to get chairs with no problems. We spent a lot of time at the Shores pool and Megan the bartender really took great care of us. Always remembering our room number and recommending great drinks. We loved being on the quiet end of Duval and walked downtown each day with no problem. No need to rent bikes unless you just want to. We loved checking out the stores while walking back and forth. If we could give this property 10 stars we would. If you think it's a little pricy, it's not and wouldn't you rather pay a tiny bit more to be 100% happy each and every day and be right on the beach? We will without question be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Southern Most Resort was great in every way!!! Beautiful place
Everyone that worked at the resort was so friendly and helpful. Pools were great ,very well maintained. Housekeeping was great. We had a lot of fun at the poolside bars, food and wait staff were great at the Resort cafe.

Fletcher outside at the beach was the perfect guy for the job !! Hey Fletcher...(Clint & Dana)...he really made our stay so great.He treats everyone like family, very laid back all out great guy!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was an expensive few nights but worth the money . We didn't want the party scene but wanted quiet and serene. Beds slept wonderful. Coffee each morning on our private balcony over looking the ocean was lovely. If we wanted interaction the pool and activities was steps away. The hotel had a private pier with plenty of chairs and hammocks. The pool bar makes the best Bloody Mary - it's a meal ! The concierge was very helpful in helping us plan our activities and graciously returned our deposit for a rained out (but not cancelled by the boats captain) excursion.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Flecther, the beach boy on South Beach at the Southermost Resort was tremendous during our resent stay there. He was helpful, friendly, and courteous to all. His energy was impressive and he was one of the many bright spots of our visit to Key West.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I booked a four night stay at Southernmost and we absolutely loved it. It was our first time in Key West and we wanted to be in Old Town, but not too close to the Duval Street bars. A two-day pass on the Old Town Trolley let us explore all we wanted.

Back to the resort. Our room was impeccably clean and comfortable. The resort is top-notch with pristine grounds and excellent staff. We enjoyed the tanning pier where you can get a steady breeze off the ocean and take the steps down to the water to cool off or snorkel. Unfortunately, we were to busy to take advantage of all the resort has to offer so we will have to leave that for another time.

Room Tip: We were in Building A at Southernmost on the beach and it was near the beach and fantastic. The firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.