We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in a Caribbean resort..in Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like being in a Caribbean resort..in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. It gave a feel of a resort more so than a hotel. We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach propert.
Check in: Easy as can be, the staff was great and showed us exactly where our room would be on the map.
The Room: We got a partial ocean view room (not to be mistaken with the ocean view room..which I've seen some people complaining about on here. If it says partial, it's partial people, not a full view lol). We got a room on the second floor next to a full ocean view room so our view was great. Sat on the deck and overlooked the ocean from an angle. Was fine with us. The room as beautiful. Clean, a lot of room and good light. The bathroom was nice and big and the shower was fantastic. The balcony was clean and had a great view. I did see people complaining about the A/C and how it wouldn't turn on at times so they got hot..if they paid attention there was light switch when you enter the room where you stick your key card into. This gives you the full control of the A/C as this is an energy efficient property. I will agree that perhaps there should be a bigger sign of the front desk should mention this is how you work the A/C. But we figured it out and it was fine.
The Grounds: Exceptional. Clean, well kept. They have Hammocks hanging around the private beach area which was nice. Great seating areas to lay out and over look the ocean. The tanning pier was great as well. Just walk down the steps and your in the ocean. Be on the look out tho, the fish like to swim around there so you may have some company. We even saw two Manatee's swim up to the pier! Although the private beach isn't really a "beach", they have an actual beach next to the property that is open to the public as well next to the beach cafe. The pool's and pool bars were awesome as well. The grounds were so beautiful that I decided to propose to my now fiance on the private beach overlooking the ocean :)
Concierge: Bryan is awesome. He was very helpful and knowledgeable on the the area and the activities. He helped us with every need we had. Jules was fantastic as well and hooked us up on a sunset cruise.
Food: The food was great, I really had no complaints. Only bummer is there is no room service but the beach cafe is a short walk away.

Overall if you're to stay in Key West, this is the place to stay. Do your research on the rooms as not all of them are going to have a clear view of the ocean. Look at the user photos here on trip advisor. Of course, you'll pay more for the ocean view or partial view but I'm telling you, it's worth it. The reviews here on trip advisor is what really made our decision in staying here and we're glad we did. We did get wind that they are selling the properties which is a bummer. We hope that they sell to the right buyer or corporation that won't change the way Southernmost does business.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms (aside from the Ocean View) are probably the best. Quiet, great light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so happy to read that you had such a nice time with us. As our General Manager likes to say, “Sunny Key West Florida, America’s Caribbean Island” and I’m glad you felt that way too. Thank you for mentioning the air conditioning unit in your room. We take pride in our status as a recognized “Green” property and we do what we can to help protect and sustain our beautiful, sensitive ecosystem. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Key West, America’s Caribbean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    437
    93
    39
    15
See reviews for
445
1,379
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I just spent 8 days at the Southernmost Hotel on the Beach. Upon arrival we were greeted with the friendlist staff. The room was spotless, the bed and bedding was excellent and the decor of the room was great. We loved the Shores Bar, poolside and the Cafe was very good. The location of the hotel was at the end of Duval Street and was quiet. We were very satisfied!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I’m so glad to read that your stay with us was excellent. Our staff members’ commitment to exceptional customer service means that every effort is made to ensure that every guest has the time of their life. It’s wonderful that you were so satisfied with your vacation; there are many lovely lodging choices in Key West and we are honored you chose to stay with us. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want to relax while in Key West, this is the place to do so. The pool is beautiful; especially when it is lit up in the evening. The pier is a fantastic place to lay out, catch a breeze, and have beautiful scenery to look at.

The employees at the hotel; especially Larry and the bell boy on duty were beyond friendly and helpful. They catered to our every need along the way.

The cafe is a great place to eat breakfast and lunch. We did not do dinner , so I can't say anything about that.

The only reason, I did not give it an "Excellent" rating is due to the fact that it is a little pricey for the rooms you get. Our room was very nice, but somewhat small. We were on the first floor and either the people above us or the cleaning staff was somewhat noisy in the morning.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the second floor so you do not have noise form those above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m happy to read that you had such a relaxing time while with us and would recommend us to others. Our location at the quieter end of Duval Street affords our guests a peaceful and serene oasis after exploring the exciting activities Key West has to offer. Our award winning Southernmost Beach Café offers breakfast, lunch and dinner and some of the best Key Lime pie around. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you the next time you visit Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful place to stay in Key West and right around the corner from Duval street. It's a little pricey, in my opinion, but you are in KW and that's standard. Good thing about the hotel is you have several choices of places to hang out. Beach bars or pool bars...take your pick!

Room Tip: Better prices if you can visit during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m glad that you found our resort a beautiful place to stay. In an effort to keep our prices reasonable our resort does not charge any additional resort fees. Every guest has the use of 3 pools, free lounge chairs, free beach towels, complimentary wi-fi, free parking, a complimentary fitness center, free business center, complimentary activities, bottled water and access to 2 beaches. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope we will see you again if your travels ever bring you back to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a wonderful visit for our 10th anniversary!
Our room was on the West Lawn and it was perfect! Some reviews of these rooms stated that they are smaller, but I thought it was perfect for the 2 of us. The West Lawn rooms face the ocean/beach area plus have a beautifu lawn with chairs and hammocks. These rooms are between the tanning pier and the entrance to the pool and close to the beach entrance.

Every single staff member we came in contact with was very friendly. Our room was cleaned and well kept throughout our visit. One day we forgot to remove the do not disturb sign on our door while we were gone and returned to a note hanging on our door stating that if we needed anything to simply call the front desk and they would bring fresh towels or come take care of anything we needed in our room.

The pool bar and beach restaurant were excellent. Wonderful drinks and food from both. Not to mention a GREAT staff!!

There are plenty of beach towels and chairs to use at the pool or beach. It was very busy on the public beach. If you think you may want an umbrella, get there early to reserve one for an extra $10. Well worth it!!

We loved the extra touch of cups for ice & water as well as coffee by the pool (as well as a couple bottles of water and coffee in our room).

We truly can't say enough good things about this wonderful resort! Great staff, clean property, attention to detail! Loved every minute there (so much so, that it was hard to want to leave the resort to enjoy Key West)!

Room Tip: We loved the rooms on the West Lawn. View of the ocean and the beach. Close to the tanning pier and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so happy to read that you had a wonderful experience with us for your 10th anniversary. Our West Lawn rooms are situated on a beautiful part of our property and our guests really enjoy the lovely lawn and view of the ocean. Our staff members strive for exceptional customer service and they truly make the difference between a great vacation and an unforgettable one. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Room was excellent on arrival, clean and well decorated. Air conditioning unfortunately was the noisiest of the five hotels stayed at on this trip meaning that you couldn't sleep with it on and room got too hot. Main problem was the lack of service of the room, on the first day there my daughter returned early from the beach and we told her to send the maid away as the room was tidy and the towels still fresh, so she signed to say we didn't require the room cleaning. For the rest of our four day stay we had only one visit from the maid who only partially cleaned the room (beds not made, bins not emptied, floor dirty, coffee not restocked). When we complained we were told it was our fault for signing to say we didn't want the room cleaning, just glad we weren't staying for two weeks. It was the attitude to this legitimate complaint that really let the hotel down and ruined our stay. Other than that the food and most of the staff were excellent, such a shame really.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth I, Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your sentiments about your recent stay at the Southernmost Hotel Collection. I personally spoke to a member of your party in the lobby regarding the situation. She did express her concern and disappointment over the matter. At that time I did apologize and offered her the option of some complimentary breakfast coupons for your group as a gesture of good will. I also thanked her for the information and have since been in contact with the director of housekeeping in an effort to better handle similar situations.
I read in your review that the "Room was excellent on arrival, clean and well decorated.” You also use the words "tidy" and "fresh" in regards to aspects of your room. Upon reading this, I see that you did recognize and appreciated our high standards. Therefore, I am confident that the lack of subsequent housekeeping was due to a miscommunication about your desire for our staff to continue service to your room. I apologize that my efforts to resolve your dissatisfaction were unsuccessful. Please know that my efforts were sincere. I hope that this will not overshadow the joy you did experience here at the resort. I hope that you will also give us another opportunity in the future to better serve you.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Isaacs
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wouldn't stay here again. The reservation person misrepresented the hotel and room accommodations. Partial Ocean View room was a room on the first floor facing the parking lot with an extremely loud air conditioner. Hotel was not very helpful when we asked to move. For the same price and better rooms, management, etc. stay at The Reach (Waldorf-Astoria Management) next door.

Room Tip: If you want to absolutely want to stay here. Get a Floor Plan of the hotel and and interrogate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not like the location of your room and I will be certain to alert our Maintenance Department and have them check the a/c unit. Our Island Wing offers our guests a partial ocean view right from the room. Also the location is very convenient to our Shores Pool and Bar as well as out award winning Southernmost Beach Cafe and just across the street from our newly renovated, adults only Tranquility Pool at our Southernmost Hotel in the USA property. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.