We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Key West
red oak, ia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was probably the highlight of our visit to Key West!!! The rooms were amazing. Our room on the second floor opened onto a balcony. We could watch Duval Street or the Ocean. We ate breakfast by the infinity pool and the ocean.. So relaxing!!! The inn keeper was fabulous!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    419
    87
    36
    15
See reviews for
431
1,329
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just returned home from our second trip to Southernmost on the Beach and it was exceptional (so was the first visit) The accommodations are extraordinary - spotless room, perfect pool, beach, lounge, bar areas - we couldn't ask for anything more for a vacation. We can't wait to return!! It feels like a "home away from home" for us - only VERY relaxing - we'd never stay anywhere else

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

So glad we rented a room at the beach. From our balcony, we could see the ocean and watch people at the outdoor restaurant and even see a yoga class. The restaurant served delicious food and drinks and was reasonable. Fans were on so wasn't hot in the restaurant. The SMARTEST thing we did was to rent a golf to get around. It is too far to walk to Mallory Square and back. We rode all over the island and loved having this mode of transportation . You do not want to have to fool with parking a car in town.
We enjoyed all the normal sightseeing adventures such as the cat, acts in Mallory Square. Watching the sunset but PARASAILING over the water made me feel like Peter Pan or should I Tinker Bell."We used Fury and they were organized. On time and emkoyed gheir jobs, with this old ninny!
Another worthwhile adventure is to take the seaplane to Dry Tortugas to snorkel . Fabulous !! Bring a picnic if u want to eat- they provide soft drinks. If you decide to take the Seaplane- call ahead - they fill fast !! Another "romantic" and free activity is to go to the "Crowne Plaza LaConcha" and see The Sunset at the Top" delicious drinks and the view is spectacular . No children .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Splashed out a little as it was our honeymoon, room and hotel grounds were immaculate and very well looked after. Location was fantastic, so many nice restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Was a little surprised / disappointed that our ocean front room didn't have a balcony as such, but instead had a seating area outside our front door on the communal walk way. Didn't have any private outside space. However this wasn't a huge problem.

Hotel staff were great, and there were lots of free activities for guests, such as 'beer school' with free beer tasting! We paid extra for the sea of love package, which included champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the room on arrival, a sunset cruise, and an adventure boat trip which included jet skiing, snorkling, parasailing.. All were amazing!

On the whole, we were really happy with our choice. Thanks Southernmost on the beach, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second trip to Southernmost on the Beach and it was every bit as perfect as the first. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are luxuriously comfortable. The grounds are kept impeccably clean. I especially like that free ice water is offered at several locations on the property meaning not buying and throwing away bottle after bottle. The staff gives well over 100%.

Boomer, the Activities Director, is the best! You can see that he (and all the others) truly love their jobs! Boomer offers many "classes" throughout the week where you can learn about beer, wine, hula-hooping or try your hand at the Newlywed Game or Key West Trivia and win great prizes!!

The Shores Bar staff was incredible. The smiling gal in the pink sunglasses (I'm so sorry I never got her name) was the best! She always made sure our drinks were filled! The Pool Manager catered to everyone's needs. The entertainment is great! Be sure to check out the spa for a long-lasting pedicure or other pampering! Julie, the ever-smiling concierge, can book any island activities for you and/or direct you to great places to site-see or eat.

The view is excellent! You can just laze about and watch the sailboats or sometimes a cruise ship right from your balcony. I can't imagine staying anywhere else but Southernmost for our Key West get-away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here just one night and that is too bad because this is a fantastic hotel. We stayed in the oceanfront room. What a treat. View was amazing. The room itself is just superb. bed was very comfy, nice size bathroom. It was walking distance to Southermost Point, a little further to "downtown" Key West but it is a nice walk. Lots of bars, stores etc on the way.There is a nice size pool with a bar. I'd say this THE hotel to stay in Key West. It is expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've never paid this much for a hotel but we wanted water front so you are gonna pay. The hotel has beautiful grounds, the small beach, the path between the buildings etc.. all very clean and well kept. Our room was 632, 2 queen beds and surprisingly large bathroom. Several pools to choose from, we were at the party pool with the live music and games. The staff were all very nice and accommodating. Do bring good walking shoes, Southernmost is at the very end of the of Duval St and it is about a mile to Mallory Square, the other end of Duval. There is plenty to keep you busy and entertained in between but you will walk (helps sober you up on the way home ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.