We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time's a charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Third Time's a charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just got back from our third visit to the Southernmost on the Beach in the last 14 months. Once again we had a wonderful vacation. Our room was terrific over looking the ocean and the service could not be better. I called the week before leaving and spoke to Suzanne the concierge about renting a guitar, in 15 minutes she found me a guitar to rent and was delivered by Island Guitar 2 hours after I arrived at the hotel. The staff is overall is terrific, friendly, helpful going the extra mile to serve their guests. I highly recommend the Shore Bar, the bar tender Meg is really wonderful and kept us in a great state of mind. I have recommend this hotel to everyone I speak to about staying in Key West.

Room Tip: Room 737 & 736 have great views for sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    515
    112
    50
    20
See reviews for
523
1,547
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This property and their staff were impressive from check in to departure. We stayed here from 4/18 till 4/22. The staff was excellent in every regard. The room was very nice.
I can usually say at least one thing that was less than excellent about a stay but not here...you will not be disappointed.
One nice surprise was the availability of DirecTV digital in the room....all the channels including Speed, NBCSports, etc....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a glorious week at the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel. First of all, we opted for an oceanront room in Building B. During a previous trip we had stayed in a room on the West lawn but decided this time we wanted to experience an ocean view room. Man, am I glad we decided to stay beachfront! The ocean views from the room were simply awesome. Besides providing a panoramic view of the ocean from your bed, the room included a wraparound balcony. We spent a great deal of time on the balcony sipping coffee, enjoying mimosas and soaking up the ocean views and breezes. The shower in the room even included a window with an ocean view. How often can you experience the ocean from your shower?

The grounds on the property are immaculate. We spent a portion of every day in the lounge chairs by the ocean adjacent to our room which provides easy access to swim in the ocean, order a drink or sandwich from the Sand Bar or access the remainder of the property. We also participated in both the wine school and the beer school which were both enjoyable and informative.

Julie the concierge was awesome in securing flowers for my wife's birthday and arranging a sunset cruise. Thanks again Julie!

We enjoyed several meals at the Southernmost Beach cafe. The food and drink at the cafe are delicious and the bartenders, waiters, waitresses and other staff were all very friendly. I strongly recommend the truffle lobster mac and cheese.

The hotel is located at the quiet end of Duval street which we prefer. We walked to the more active end of Duval several times and took a pedi-cab once.

In my opinion, Southernmost on the Beach Hotel is the only hotel to stay at in Key West. I look forward to planning another trip to Key West soon which will definitely include a stay in an oceanfront room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort. I cannot tell you how pleased I am to read that your holiday with us was everything you hoped it would be. Vacations are so important in these busy times and to know you had a “glorious week" with us assures me that our commitment to exceptional customer service is successful. Happy guests are our goal! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West and the Southernmost Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great Hotel. The staff was unbelievable as were the rooms, restaurant, pool, bar & beach. The staff sent us to local restaurants for dinner and they were all amazing. Can't wait to go back next year. Great place to go:)

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd Floor and never heard any noise at all. Very quiet and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton Township, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here in April 2012 with husband and good friends. I cannot say anything bad about this resort! Everything was top notch......loved the rooms, the beds, the pools, the onsite restaurant, the location! It was perfect, worth every penny, and I would return in a heart beat! Lovely hotel and grounds!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been staying yearly @ The Southernmost Hotel Collection for several years. It is always fun to see so many of the same employees each year. The staff is so pleasant and always happy to greet you. This hotel collection is beautifully maintained and is a great walking expeience to many shops, restaurants, bars, caberets. Don't care to walk? There is always a troley, cab, or pedi-cycle available for transpotation. The hote rooms as well as the 3 pool areas are immaculte and beautifully appointed.
A stay at any one of the Sourtenmost Hotel Collections sites is truly a peace of paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms in the A or B building @ Southernmost Beach Resort are beautiful partial ocean views. A littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very professionally run hotel system and great rooms. Small beach area not really conducive to swimming when the waves are roiling in. Many activities you can join in on and some game areas. They make sure you learn about all the activities first thing on your arrival, but you may want to check them out in advance on-line. Quieter at this end of Duval street if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle but still enjoy the weather and the opportunities the town offers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is nice to read that you took advantage of and enjoyed the complimentary activities we offer. For a full listing of the daily activities you can visit our website which is constantly updated. Key West is a fun town and I’m glad you were able to explore and still find quite time at the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Key West and the Southernmost Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.