We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFTER 25 YRS of TRIPS to KEY WEST, THIS is my TOP SPOT!! PERFECT LOCATION, BEST of EVERYTHING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #5 of 41 hotels in Key West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AFTER 25 YRS of TRIPS to KEY WEST, THIS is my TOP SPOT!! PERFECT LOCATION, BEST of EVERYTHING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

WE'VE returned and returned to this Hotel, the Southernmost On the Beach. Love the ocean view from the top floors of the 'new' addition. With this hotel, you get to have a BEACH vacation in Key West, where there are very few beaches. It is perfect. Sunning on the beach all day or at the pool and then you can walk 25 feet over to the tiki bar and get great food and drinks. Then head back to your lux room and get ready for a night out on Duval, get exercise walking in your 4" wedges down to the main area of Duval, stop for a frozen drink along your journey and head to the sunset celebration, then yummy seafood dinner.
OH WHY CAN't I BE THERE NOW!?!??!?!?!??!

Room Tip: When it asks - When did I travel? well, 2010, 2011, 2012.... Top floor newer wing with ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I am thrilled you had such a wonderful time at our resort. As a long time visitor to Key West you know how many lodging options there are and to know we were able to provide the “best of everything” for you is incredibly gratifying. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Key West and again, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,679
    396
    79
    36
    12
See reviews for
394
1258
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nth. carrollton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just stayed 5 days at Southernmost on the Beach, couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Excellant staff, food, and cleanliness. I had the partial ocean view, double queen room. The view was breath taking, I loved to open the balcony door each morning and see the ocean..just gorgeous. Everything is kept up VERY WELL....and the pool is fantastic....couldn't stay anywhere else now. LOVE YOU GUYS !!!!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view on 2nd floor was just perfect !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olumbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved this hotel.. Service was great and the room was spacious. We had a king ocean front with balcony room. Free Internet and the sand bar was great. Very quiet. One block from Duvall street and right on the water. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Despite being located just at the bottom of the very busy Duval St, with it's bars and restaurants, this hotel is really peaceful and homely. The accommodation is well appointed and spacious. The tanning deck, pool and beach access gives a choice of options to be lazy in, whilst the food served by the Pool is excellent, as is the standard of service across the hotel. We used the gym, played table tennis behind the bar, and hired bicycles one afternoon, which they even gave to us at a discounted rate because we'd enjoyed a lie-in and they said, "half the day's gone." The staff couldn't do enough for us. All in all this is a relaxing place in a superb location, making it really easy to explore Key West on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach for our anniversary in Feb. 2013. The manager left chocolate truffles and a nice anniversary card to welcome us to the hotel. The staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on tours. The room we had was 3rd floor with a distance ocean view, but it was a spectacular ocean view! We had a great time relaxing at the pools, especially the non-children pool. Having a private beach was wonderful as well. Being able to walk to the Southernmost Café for breakfast and happy hour and charge it to the room was great. We rented bikes from the hotel to cruise Duval St. The absolute best way to get around town. The hotel was quiet and far enough away from the Duval St. madness, yet close enough to bike into town, walk or cab it. We would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 326 was in a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel was very clean. Great staff. The pool was great.. a little crowded for the Easter weekend as expected but in the future they should have enough lounge chairs for full occupancy. Tip: get to the pool early to reserve your spot. Great location, close to Duval street and the beaches. Everything is within walking distance. I highly recommend a balcony room that has an ocean view. The breeze off the ocean and the view is AWESOME! I would definitely stay here again. I have been to Key West several times and I think I finally found my hotel to revisit. Other hotels do not compare.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a balcony room that has an ocean view. The breeze off the ocean and the view is A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a oceanfront room. We were blown away before we saw the view and the wrap around deck. The room was large and beautifully decorated. We walked out and saw the deck wrapped around to the west side of the building. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating.

The room was also equipped with a large screen HD TV.

close walk to town
Just perfect!

Room Tip: We were in the 3rd floor A building west side which gave us plenty of sun 'til sunset The lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.