We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 15%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved this hotel.. Service was great and the room was spacious. We had a king ocean front with balcony room. Free Internet and the sand bar was great. Very quiet. One block from Duvall street and right on the water. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    440
    93
    39
    15
See reviews for
447
1,385
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Despite being located just at the bottom of the very busy Duval St, with it's bars and restaurants, this hotel is really peaceful and homely. The accommodation is well appointed and spacious. The tanning deck, pool and beach access gives a choice of options to be lazy in, whilst the food served by the Pool is excellent, as is the standard of service across the hotel. We used the gym, played table tennis behind the bar, and hired bicycles one afternoon, which they even gave to us at a discounted rate because we'd enjoyed a lie-in and they said, "half the day's gone." The staff couldn't do enough for us. All in all this is a relaxing place in a superb location, making it really easy to explore Key West on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach for our anniversary in Feb. 2013. The manager left chocolate truffles and a nice anniversary card to welcome us to the hotel. The staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on tours. The room we had was 3rd floor with a distance ocean view, but it was a spectacular ocean view! We had a great time relaxing at the pools, especially the non-children pool. Having a private beach was wonderful as well. Being able to walk to the Southernmost Café for breakfast and happy hour and charge it to the room was great. We rented bikes from the hotel to cruise Duval St. The absolute best way to get around town. The hotel was quiet and far enough away from the Duval St. madness, yet close enough to bike into town, walk or cab it. We would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 326 was in a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel was very clean. Great staff. The pool was great.. a little crowded for the Easter weekend as expected but in the future they should have enough lounge chairs for full occupancy. Tip: get to the pool early to reserve your spot. Great location, close to Duval street and the beaches. Everything is within walking distance. I highly recommend a balcony room that has an ocean view. The breeze off the ocean and the view is AWESOME! I would definitely stay here again. I have been to Key West several times and I think I finally found my hotel to revisit. Other hotels do not compare.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a balcony room that has an ocean view. The breeze off the ocean and the view is A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a oceanfront room. We were blown away before we saw the view and the wrap around deck. The room was large and beautifully decorated. We walked out and saw the deck wrapped around to the west side of the building. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating.

The room was also equipped with a large screen HD TV.

close walk to town
Just perfect!

Room Tip: We were in the 3rd floor A building west side which gave us plenty of sun 'til sunset The lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I am a Marriott Platinum member with 100+ nights a year in different properties across the USA and here is my review of the property:
Pros: The JW Marriott can learn a lot about the room design and layout. The space is well organized with lots of drawers and closest space for clothes. Deluxe room accommodated three very well.
Beach access was great and having stairs off the pier into the ocean was a great amenity. The grounds are nicely kept with family games. The pool temperature was nice and having a private beach was terrific.
Cons: Staff is not friendly and this hotel management company does not understand the resort business. Everyone is marching to their own beat, no consistent service delivery and not a world-class experience despite the super high prices. The Concierge is more of a sales referral mechanism that the person is clearly focused on commission, not delivering better comfort to the guests. Saw lots of "pool and beach crashers" during stay and people fishing next to property which is against the law.
The Internet is super slow and was very poor throughout the property.

Room Tip: Everything within and around the hotel is a trap for tourists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very sorry you did not have the time of your life while here with us. Our motto of Exceptional Customer Service is what our staff members strive for every day for every guest and I am sorry you didn’t feel you experienced this. Your thoughtful critique reminds us that there is always room for improvement and without our guests input it is certainly more difficult to achieve. Our property provides 3 private pools for our guests and a private tanning beach and sunning pier. Our resort is adjacent to the public South Beach where our guests have complimentary use of the chairs that are rented to the public. Duval Street is conveniently located half a block from our resort and we are fortunate to be located on its “quiet end”. Our guests can stroll to the more active parts of town and return here to relax and take in the beautiful views. I would like to thank you once again for your review and I hope in the future you will give us another opportunity to impress you with our exceptional customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a beachfront, balcony room at Southernmost on the Beach and it was soooooo wonderful and worth the extra money. Very well-maintained hotel close to Duval but away from its craziness. The room lacks nothing. The staff was kind, pleasant, helpful, and efficient. I will always choose this hotel on our trips to the Keys.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.