We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Key West
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a beachfront, balcony room at Southernmost on the Beach and it was soooooo wonderful and worth the extra money. Very well-maintained hotel close to Duval but away from its craziness. The room lacks nothing. The staff was kind, pleasant, helpful, and efficient. I will always choose this hotel on our trips to the Keys.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,702
    400
    85
    36
    13
See reviews for
418
1280
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

From the arrival with Anthony smiling taking our bags to the nice conversation with the bartender named Ronda, the whole experience was great!

The cafe is fabulous! Cathy the hostess is very sweet with a smile and welcoming. Ask for Katie and you are assured great service! The food was wonderful. The atmosphere is comfy since open air cafe overlooking beach area. Cool 50's and 60's music playing.

The musicians at the two pools that allowed children was really good. great to just sit and enjoy while having a beverage:). Bar service was great poolside and to have option of tranquility pool(adults only) was nice and peaceful. The Southernmost Beach Hotel which is connected also has a pier to go and enjoy lying out near the water, cool breeze and sunshine was perfect!

The actual hotel rooms were very clean, amenities were excellent and for the money i would not hesitate to stay here again! Very affordable.

Thank you for making my brief 4day vacation with best friends fabulous!!!

Tobe Singleton, Nashville, TN

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband booked our trip last year as a 20th wedding anniversary gift for me. I'm so glad he selected Southernmost on the Beach. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed each and every one of them. We stayed in Building C on the second floor towards the pool end and had a good ocean view. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Although small, the room was clean and without any lingering odors. If we ever make it back to Key West we will stay here again.

Room Tip: For ocean views stay in Building C
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN PARK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Outstanding property with great staff! From the time we arrived we were treated like VIP's (which we are not). Traveled with a group of 7 people for a 50th birthday celebration and the staff could not have been more helpful. Megan at the Shores bar even posted a drink specikal to honor the birthday girl! Stick around the pool for a bit and enjoy Boomer's activities. The rooms are great, good food and drinks, Highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our second time staying at this property and it certainly won't be our last! You cannot find a better place to stay in all of Key West! Clean rooms, excellent food in the Beach Cafe, Pools to die for along with your own beach and tanning wharf! The staff is the best...bar none!!! We love the location and enjoyed sitting on our balcony at the end of a long pool day and enjoying the fantastic views.

Activities are awesome...wine tasting, beer tasting, daily entertainment at the pool from some of the finest musical talents...and best of all HEATHER! She will take care of you at the pool and make you feel like you are part of the Southernmost family immediately...thanks Heather and we will see you in October!

Also, can't forget to give a big shout out to Joshua....the best waiter at the Beach Cafe and a very good resource for getting advice for what to see in Key West....Thanks Josh for your wonderful service and hospitality last week...we miss you already!

Lastly, to Stuart and Susan, who run a first class operation at Southernmost! We are so lucky to have met you a couple years ago! It's always a pleasure to visit with you and thank you so much for everything!

Bill and I will be back for FantasyFest in October...see you then! xoxo
Kathi and Bill V.
Massachusetts

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law celebrated their wedding at this property in March. It was everything we had hoped for and more.
The wedding planners were great to work with. My only suggestion would be to listen to them and follow their advice. They do this every weekend and know the vendors.
We all felt welcome at this hotel. There was plenty of room around the pool for our large group to gather during the day and enjoy the entertainment.
We have been visiting Key West for over 30 years and this is the best kept secret on Duval!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the lawn facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We met our college daughter at this hotel for spring break. We stayed in a double queen room with a partial ocean view. The room was very nice & large enough for all 3 of us to be comfortable. The shower is awesome and the bathroom is huge. The one negative is the way the balconies are configured. You have to be careful about keeping drapes pulled because your neighbors can see right into your room & there isn't much of an ocean view. The first few nights were very relaxing and quiet, but then a bunch of families with young children checked in & they were up early in the morning making a lot of noise. Then one morning they started doing some type of maintenance in the hall outside of our room at 9a.m. I thought the banging would be over quickly, but we finally got up because we didn't want to listen anymore. We enjoyed the sun at the little beach by the ocean. This area is quiet & there are plenty of lounges where 3 can sit together. We were very disappointed when we had to leave this area one afternoon because they set up for a wedding.The pool area is nice but its very crowded & there are a lot of young kids. We participated in the wine tasting, which was fun. The workout room is adequate & was not busy while we were there. The employees are probably the best asset this property has. All of them were very friendly & remembered us from day to day. The bartenders make great drinks, the pool attendants are generous with the towels, and they are always picking up the area.

Room Tip: We were in building B on the second floor. Next time I would try the 3rd floor so I wouldn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so happy to hear you think our employees are “the best asset” our property has! Our commitment to exceptional customer service is something we take to heart and it is so gratifying to know we are succeeding. I am sorry your tranquility was interrupted by noise in the morning. I will be sure to pass this along to our department managers. Our 3 pools and 2 beaches can be quite busy during “season” but I’m glad to hear you were able to utilize them and enjoy some of our famous Florida Sunshine. I will be sure to share with Boomer and Mark that you enjoyed wine school and on your next visit back be sure to try our beer school too. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our property and we look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.