We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing place to stay to get away from the Duval craziness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A relaxing place to stay to get away from the Duval craziness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We chose the Southernmost because we wanted to be on/or near Duval without being disturbed by all of it's craziness. This was a great choice. The rooms were nice. The restaurant on the beach had fantastic food and service. The pools were relaxing and quiet. ......the view....the views were terrific. We got some great photos of sunset while listening to the musician play at happy hour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,044
    526
    117
    50
    21
See reviews for
535
1,569
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at a few resorts in Key West, but none of them were up to the standards that the Southern Most on the Beach held. If you are looking for a place to recharge and relax this is the place for you. The staff was awesome! We walked to most of our favorite spots on Duval Street and found some new places as well thanks to the staff at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Units on the Ocean side have the best veiw and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently returned from our long weekend in Key West. We come down every year for the half marathon. This is the 4th year in a row that we've stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach. We return each year because it is simply the best place to stay....from the top-notch accommodations to the friendly & helpful staff. Hands down the best on the island!!

We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I just came back from our third visit to Southernmost on the Beach and again...they nailed it! The rooms are really clean (super important to me) and the property is well maintained. The parking is excellent - no extra fee to park, spaces right outside of the room, and never waiting to find a spot. The location...is perfect. Access to the semi-public beach in just a few steps from the room as well as a private quiet sandy spot with hammocks (and bartenders) on the property itself. The pool was a nice warm temperature and easy to find a chair in the mornings if you didn't sleep in until noon. Food is good at the Beach Cafe, and the drinks are with a heavy poor (beware of the rum runners). The beer/wine schools with Boomer are always fun and there are activities for kids and adults around the pool. I will not ever stay anywhere else when visiting Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We actually had booked a room at Southernmost Hotel but they were doing upgrades so they moves us to Southernmost on the Beach. It was fabulous from the beautiful room to the amenities. The pool and pool bar are wonderful and there is an onsite restaurant that is fantastic.
The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. . I would pick this hotel over any in in key west. It is absolutely to die for!

Room Tip: Try to get a room so you can see the ocean. You ca see Cruise ships coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

First time to Key West. The rooms were updated - with a sitting area out in front of the room (Ocean View). Had a great sunset view - with live music each night. The resort was right off the 'quiet end' of Duvall Street. We easily walked to restraunts and shopping.

The beds and sheets were great!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view was definitely worth it! Great view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

First time at the Southernmost on the Beach and what a great place. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were small but clean and had everything we needed. Beds were comfy. We loved that you could chill and read or join an activity poolside, or both! We fell in love with this place. Great sunsets, live music, fantastic staff, and the cocktails were just right.
Say Hi to Boomer in Activities, he is a lot of fun!

Room Tip: We loved our West Lawn Partial View-King. Walked right out of our ground floor room with fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#32 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#4 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.