We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com amextravel.com
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #4 of 40 hotels in Key West
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, on the quiet end of Duval. We rented bikes and rode into the noisy section often, but it was nice to get away from that at the end of the day. The views were beautiful. We were here in January and could view the sunset over the water from the west lawn. Enjoyed the live music on property throughout the week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,605
    364
    74
    33
    11
See reviews for
372
1203
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I recently returned form a 1 week vacation here. We stayed during Christmas week. This is a beautiful property and everyone that works here provides excellent customer service. We had a partial ocean view room in building A. The room was very nice and very clean. The view was great, we only had to look to the left to see the ocean. The beach right in front of our building is where we spent most of our time (not the one by the restaurant). This one feels very private and I loved how we had drink and food service from this location. The only negative about this property is the room privacy. We could see right into the rooms in the building across from us and actually saw some people walking around naked. We had to close all of our curtains every time we wanted privacy. You can even see into your neighbors room if you are on the balcony. Even though this was a negative, it would not prevent us from staying here again. We will save up for an ocean view room next time. It is so nice that they don't charge for extras like parking. There is even a small laundry room if you need to wash anything.

Room Tip: Be careful with the partial ocean view rooms, not a lot of privacy. If you do choose these, keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our second trip to Southernmost on the Beach. We went for a few days in December to celebrate my husbands birthday, as usual it was a great choice. The staff treats you like royalty, the rooms are clean, food is great and location is ideal. We have stayed at the other end of Duval, Pier House, Ocean Key and Hyatt over the years (since 1986). As long as we have stayed in Key West we have seen so many changes and with that the differences in Hotels and resorts. This place is consistent. We will be back again, only this time with more of our family. They are as excited as we are to enjoy the wonders of Key West. Only thing I would ask, is to get rid of the Nespresso, in the morning I want a cup of real, honest to goodness coffee. A Keurig would have served them better.

Room Tip: Those facing the pool or ocean are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked a room on the west lawn, and got a ground floor room 520, with an amazing view!
First I would like to thank the staff, especially the red hair lady at the southernmost hotel reception (I think it was Linda) for giving us great rooms in both hotels (we had 2 nights in each).
The room on the west lawn was quite small, especially compared to the beautiful, big room we had at the Southernmost Hotel across the road, but the view made us forget we had a small room.
The fact we could get out of the room and sink into a hamac or listen to the beautiful live music from our room was awesome. For those who worry about the music, please don't! it's not loud at all, it's beautiful acoustic music and last about an hour or two only, just to celebrate sunset time.
MINUS NOTES:
I didn't quite like that the basin/vanity was part of the room, and not the bathroom, it was a weird layout. But again, you're only in your room a few hours during the day, too much to do outside!
Also, we found 2 cockroaches in the room, which freaked me out, being pregnant, but as much as I hate them, it wouldn't prevent me from going back to this paradise.

This place is magical, and I wouldn't choose another hotel group, the Southernmost hotels have the best position in Key West, you can view the sunrise and sunset from here; we loved waking up early to view the sunrise from the pier, picking up our free coffee from the pool beforehand, it was a ritual every morning.
The pool was a great place to relax too.

We can't wait to go back, Key West is a beautiful place and 4 nights were definitely not enough to check it out!
One tip, hire bikes from across the road and wander around the streets of Key West, there is more to Key West than Duvall St and Mallory Square!!!
(see my other reviews)

Room Tip: Room 520 had the best unobstructed view on the ground floor at West Lawn Wing, worth the extra dolla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights the week before christmas..staff was very friendly,.. we had a partial ocean view, the room was very nice, very clean..breakfast was quite good at the cafe near the beach...would stay again..

Room Tip: ocean view suites/room should have 2+ guest option..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 5 nights over the new year at the resort and could not have been more satisfied with the resort and its staff. From Dexter at the front desk, that changed our room to one with magnificent ocean view, after I accidently booked the wrong type of room, to every staff member that made us feel special. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the resort spotlessly clean. Enjoyed being on the quiter side of Duval street but close enough to walk everywhere. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love this property. It's on the quiet end of Duval Street. So - if you are going for action and fun - stay at the Westin or Hyatt. If you are going for rest and relaxation - this is a great choice. Lovely, well appointed rooms with Old Florida elegance. Simply amazing sleep experience. Nice pool areas but keep in mind that this is the Keys. You will not find an expansive beach here. What you will find are beautiful views, tranquil waters, and amazing food. It's a lovely place but rates in the winter were in the $400's. So be prepared to pay up!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing out to one of the pools or to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach
Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.