We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Limestone, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Booked this through Expedia and everything was excellent from check-in to check-out. Service was great there and there were plenty of activities to do. The staff was friendly, the grounds were nice and clean. We would stay here again. It's about a 30 minute walk to Mallory Square from here so at night it was quiet which we enjoyed. Only ate once at the beach cafe, for breakfast, the food was good atmosphere was really nice. Also enjoyed the beer school they do. My wife got a massage from the spa she really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    438
    93
    39
    15
See reviews for
445
1,380
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We came with a group of friends for a long weekend and had a great time. The entire staff does a great job. Everything was clean and well maintained. Views are great and close to plenty of food and entertainment. Not the cheapest but still a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Enjoyed our experience at the Southernmost Hotel on the Beach...only downside is the loud banging of doors when hotel guests keep their patio doors open for breezes. Beautiful views of the ocean, beach, sunset, and sailing ships. Food is rather spendy and average as far as choices and flavor. Staff was most accommodating as far as service. Wish they had room service! Enjoyed all of the polite servers at both the beach restaurant and poolside bars with 24-hr coffee service available.

Room Tip: Building B seems to have less noise and choosing upper floors is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were there last week. Resort-like feel in excellent location. One of the only private beaches on the island. Service impeccable. We rented scooters across the street and explored the island using a map they provided at the front desk. We stayed in ocean-front and you can actually see the sunrise in the morning and sunset right from the tanning pier (very cool). Front-desk and all the staff were so nice. At breakfast 2-3 days at the beach cafe -- excellent. Dinner one night was okay (Mahi Mahi was a bit bland) - lots of better choices on the island for dinner. Entertainment twice a day was another nice touch. They will get you for drinks ($8.00 for small 12 oz ice filled drinks at the pool bar -- yikes!) -- may want to bring your own. Overall great and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the resort three times now in the past year and a half. We count down the days until our return. Friends associated with the resort continually encouraged us to come to Key West and stay at Southernmost. Finally, we decided to come , and boy are we glad! We have had the privilage to travel to many places...Southernmost On The Beach and Key West is by far one of our favorite destinations. The resort is wonderful. The buildings are well cared for and the grounds are immaculate. From our experience, the rooms seem newly updated and are of a good size. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are great. After a long day enjoying Key West, you won't have any trouble sleeping well. The resort's staff all are friendly and go out of their way to help. From the front desk to the grounds crew, you will always be met with a smiling face. The pools are clean and fun to enjoy. Two of the three pools are flanked by bars so food and drinks are always available. If you want some piece and quiet, then hammocks on the west lawn or a wonderful pier are great places to enjoy the sun. They also have a beach with free lounge chairs if that's your thing. The resort always has activities planned from snorkel school, water aerobics, beer school and my wife's favorite...wine school. Boomer, Allie and Kathy all put on some great activities. At the end of your day, they have a fantastic beachside cafe. Their menu ranges from light affair to formal dinners. There is also a nice bar associated with the beachside cafe If you just want some drinks and enjoy the scenery. Jake (I think that's his name), the bar tender at the cafe was there working most of the evenings we visited the cafe. Jake was great and treated us like old friends. After dinner, you must try the Key Lime Pie of theirs, it's one of our favorite deserts. The bottom line is this, you won't find any place better in Key West for the price. This is a first class resort, and that necessarily doesn't come cheep. If the resort is a little too expensive, then their Southernmost Hotel may provide some more cost friendly options, but still offer some great accommodations. Even if you stay at the "hotel", the entire resort's amenities are still available for you to enjoy. Southernmost On The Beach is a fantastic place and we can't wait for our return. We hope this review is helpful....fun travels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

An atmosphere that felt less like a corporate owned hotel and more like a valued guest. The staff new us by name and definitely engaged with us on a day to day basis. We tried the wine school which was fun, the ukelele class- Mike was GREAT, we loved him and yoga on the beach! Another bonus, wake up and walk down to the dock to watch the sunset and then later watch the sunset from the west lawn! For me that was a big wow factor.
When (not if) we return to Key West, Southermost is where we will stay again and again.

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra money stay in a room with a water view, the west lawn upstairs faced the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved this hotel, we only stayed for one night on a flying visit but loved it, the hotel staff are very friendly, the place is spotless and there are a few pools, private beach areas to choose from. Our room was spacious, the toiletries are lovely and the shower is so big you can party inside. You are 1 minute walk from the start of Duval st, the main street in Key West for bars, restaurants, tour buses etc but you are at the peacefull end. Make use of the double hammocks around the hotel. Be sure to make the sunset at mallorey sq. Duval st is good for a bit of a bar crawl, we liked Sloppy Joes and Irish Kevins.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.