We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“November in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Key West in November has perfect weather. Pleasant temps and no humidity nor rain enables a very relaxing stay. The Southernmost is one of the better places to stay. The property is modern and clean. The hotel staff is first rate. The location is quiet but a fair distance from all the hotspots on Duval St. Cab fare runs about $7 plus tip. Hearty souls would enjoy the 2 mile walk. There are many eclectic stores and shops along the way.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    419
    88
    36
    15
See reviews for
432
1,332
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has it all: great location, beautiful views of the ocean, contemporary and clean rooms, and friendly staff. This is the second time we have stayed here and it will continue to be the only place we will stay on future trips to key west. Every staff member is friendly and they go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. You can walk to the Southernmost Point and to Duvall Street where all of the stores, restaurants, and bars are. The Southernmost Beach Cafe has excellent breakfast and great happy hour specials with an ocean view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ate at the Southernmost Beach Cafe when we were visiting Key West last year and decided that this year we would treat ourselves to staying in the hotel as it looked so pretty and the staff at the cafe were great. We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean (deluxe king) and it really was a gorgeous room. We had hoped that this would be a peaceful romantic place to stay as it is at the quiet end of Duval. Although we avoided Fantasy Fest, we coincided with a wedding which resulted in drunken groups on their balconies at 4am. Our neighbours smoked cigars (very Key West thing to do!) on their balcony and the balconies are so close together it came straight into our room. There was live music at the next resort or somewhere just along the beach from 11am - 11pm. One night the fire alarm went off at 4am, it was deafening (which it should be), we opened the door and I literally got blinded as the alarm was right beside the door, a foot away from my eyes - it took 30 mins to see properly. I wouldn't have minded but nobody else came out, there was no explanation, no apology for another disrupted night and obviously no fire! We had practically the top priced room available at New York/London prices and for that I expect a decent night's sleep. A great room doesn't make a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize for the noise and disruption you experienced during your peaceful and romantic getaway. Our alarm system triggering at 4a.m. was certainly unfortunate but the good news is that our system works and keeps all of our guests safe. The bad news is that it went off at 4a.m. Key West is a very popular destination with many weddings, events and festivals occurring, especially during Fantasy Fest, and can draw quite a rowdy crowd. I can understand your frustration at the noisy neighbors and I hope you called our 24 hour night watch to hush the party. As all of our rooms and balconies are non-smoking it is disappointing to read that inconsiderate guests ignored our posted policy. I would encourage any guests disturbed by another guests smoking on our balconies to contact the front desk so the issue can be addressed and corrected. At the Southernmost Hotel Collection it is our goal to provide every guest with exceptional customer service and I hope if your travels ever bring you back to Key West you will give us an opportunity to impress you with our ability to improve and excel. Kind regards and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I decided that Key West would be a good choice for Halloween - first time that either of us had been there. Travel agent told us the Southernmost is a good place to stay. She was certainly right - the staff, from the front desk, concierge, maids, and maintenance crew were all friendly and helpful. Our trip was jam-packed with outings and adventures. The pool and pool bar were great, and we could cross the street to the Southernmost on the Beach for more excellent food, drinks and fun there. Could not have been happier with this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We were just there for a destination wedding. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff around the pool ( especially Greg) were very attentive, upbeat, fun-loving and truly loved their job! There was live music at the pool and on the west lawn to watch the sunset! The beachside cafe was fabulous. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was so much fun! Edwin was a great waiter. I would stay there every time I travelled to the Keys!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had an ocean pier view top floor and was great! Beautiful sun set! Only thing that I was not impressed with was concierge and restaurant. First night we was there we ate at the beach restaurant mixed drinks were great food food was for sure a cook not a chef and way overpriced in my opinion! Second day we had concierge set us up with activitys great job only she forgot about the boat races the next morning so we got up early to get to our appointments just to be told the harbor was closed, a plus got to watch races for half a day and Fury just rebooked us! Had to return next day to complete activitys! Great messages recommend Rachel and Amy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

WOW! I could not resist to post my first review here regarding this hotel! My husband and I spent our 1st year anniversary here and it was nothing short of AMAZING! We had an oceanview room on the west lawn and waking up every morning to the breathtaking view was priceless! Hands down we would not stay anywhere else even if it was paid for! Duval Street is wild and fun and there are a few other nice hotels at the other end of the street, but they cannot compare to the experience at the Southernmost on the Beach! Counting down the days until we return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.