We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost on the Beach to your Saves list
Southernmost on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After reading the TA reviews, we had high expectations. All of the staff was very pleasant. What was not pleasant was that they were doing repairs in the rooms on both sides of us...removing slate flooring with a jackhammer all day one day. It was unbearable. We could not hear each other talk standing 2 feet away in the room. Had we know this in advance, we would have stayed elsewhere. We complained and they said the noise was almost over for the day. We left and returned a little before 5:00 and the noise continued. We complained again. They did comp us for one night. They did not have a comparable room to offer us. Housekeeping missed us one day and we had to call. The beach, to us, was not really a beach. We didn't even step in the water once the week we were there and most of our vacations are to a beach to enjoy the beach and the water. The Shores bar was great as was the bartender, Ronnie. Southermost Beach Cafe was also very good. We dined there a couple of times plus went to happy hour a couple of times for drinks and appies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost on the Beach, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response. I would like to apologize for the noise you experienced during our off season renovations. It can be difficult to balance the peace and serenity our guests seek and the reality of maintaining and improving our property and that it disrupted your stay with us is very disheartening. I am pleased the staff tried to remedy the situation by offering you another room; I wish we had had something comparable to offer you. I am also glad they took responsibility of the situation and removed the charges of one of your night’s stay. While it is true that Key West is not known for its beaches I hope you found some comfortable lounge time around one of our 3 pools and our private tanning pier. Happy Hour at the Southernmost Beach Café is certainly a great value within a beautiful setting and I’m glad you enjoyed yourself there as well as at the Shores Bar. I do hope in the future should your travels bring you back to Key West you will give us another opportunity to WOW you with our exceptional customer service within our improved Southernmost Hotel Collection. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    438
    93
    39
    15
See reviews for
447
1,383
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Southernmost Hotel on the Beach was the most fantastic property I ever encountered. My new husband and I wanted to stay on the beach in Key West and couldn't have picked a better location. Not only that, from the moment we arrived, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to be friendly, accomodating and professional.

From the housekeeping staff to the landscapers to the front desk help to the pool and bar people, everyone spoke to us and smiled each time we encountered them. You can tell they love their jobs and do them well.

Stop and see Greg by the pool and he will tell you the places to visit in town. Ronnie at the bar will fix you up with the best drinks around and entertain you to boot! The southernmost beach cafe has fantastic food and a lot of it and it is excellent. Also, the prices at the cafe are very reasonable especially compared to other restaurants in town whose food is not near as good!
Edwin at the cafe was especially accomodating!

I cried when I left to come back to kansas city because the grounds and staff were beautiful and made our stay relaxing and safe.

Thank you, thank you, thank you! We will see you on our one year anniversary!
Pam LaGrece, Independence, Missouri

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I cannot say enough nice things about Southernmost on the Beach. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the very friendly and accommodating staff, everything was Top Notch. The 3 pools are very clean & refreshing. Greg at the Pineapple Bar took real good care of us by bringing us cold towels, water & popcorn! The hotel is located in an excellent location with short walks to the downtown area, beachfront & pier areas. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone as they will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is truly beautiful! I went to Key West for my birthday weekend, and was not disappointed one bit. The hotel is right on the ocean, so I woke up each morning and had my coffee while sitting on the balcony and listening to the waves. The staff here is very friendly and willing to help out with anything you may need. This was my first time, so they provided me with lots of information on stuff to do. Did we leave the hotel to do those things -- no, because there was no need to.

Had a pedisage (am probably spelling it wrong), and it was the perfect thing to take care of my tired feet (I spend about 6 hours a day on my feet at work).

If you go, you should most definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and they were more than friendly and accommodating! They upgraded our room for free and had champagne waiting for us. The food at the restaurants was amazing and had great vegetarian options. It's a little bit of a walk to the port where most tours take off from but it's an easy walk! I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Travelled here with our 4 month baby and this hotel couldn't have been more perfect. Great location in the heart of Key West, superb room, brilliant pool area with superb bar and aweome cocktails. Room was fantastic with views across the ocean to Cuba!
Staf extremely helpful with some great tips and advice on where to eat locally.

STAY HERE!!! You won't be dissapointed. We have already booked for next year!

Free parking and free wifi and the majority of rooms I believe have all been refurbished. Very good standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Great value. Rooms better than most. Love the amenities from the infinity pool to the daily Happy Hour to the waterside hammocks! This property is very well maintained. Whenever in Key West again, we will stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost on the Beach

Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost on the Beach stretches out on a secluded section of the island, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. Complimenting our collection of dynamic hotels in historic Key West, Southernmost on the Beach’s private pier offers a front row seat to the Atlantic Ocean’s spectacular sunrises and winter sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.