We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Harbor Inn
219 Elizabeth Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A real gem in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We didn't start thinking of booking a stay for early April in Key West until quite late, about a month before our trip. By then it seemed that all the choice places were long sold out, leaving only the larger pricier resorts and a handful of overpriced B&Bs. The Harbor Inn didn't appear in any guidebooks or booking sites, it was purely a TA find and was one the few properties where just about all the reviews were positive. We were lucky to discover that it still had availability, provided we move rooms during our stay, which was no problem at all. This inn deserves all the great reviews it gets. It's in a superb location, within walking distance to everywhere, yet secluded and quiet once you step through the front gate. The small pool area is so pleasant surrounded by an abundance of trees and greenery you could just hang out all day and do nothing (and quite a few of the guests seemed to do just that). That's also where you have the morning continental breakfast – consisting of a good selection of fresh fruits (papaya, pineapple, melons etc), cereals, a large assortment of bakery items such as bagels, muffins and pound cakes, as well as the afternoon happy hour with a variety of drinks and snacks. There is also a water machine dispensing cold as well as hot water all day (a very convenient thing to have).

We stayed in two different rooms, both had wood floors, wet bar and safe, ceiling fans, exquisitely decorated with updated bathrooms (shower only). Curacao was in the back with only one side attached to the main house, probably the most private of all the rooms. It might also be the smallest (no furniture other than the bed, a night stand and a plant stand – not much room for luggage), but the bathroom in comparison was quite large with bright tiles. Aircon was a bit loud, otherwise a very cute room. Antigua was one of the two first floor rooms in the Pool House. A bit larger with more furniture, but the bathroom's smaller and lighting not as bright. One corner of the bottom bed frame came very close at an angle against the bathroom door – must be careful not to bump into it. Not as private as Curacao since it faces the pool area, however the building has enough of a setback and also a few steps above ground level, shielded by the trees and plants you can't really see the people in the pool area. In any case, although some of the regular guests might have specific room preferences, as far as I can see, it really doesn't matter which room you get – would be great to try them all!

About wifi – there was a problem with Comcast the first day or so, due to a storm – however, the signal seemed to be better at the Pool House.

Parking is public on the street in front. Elizabeth street's one of the few where parking is free – best to leave the car once you've secured a space as most parked cars tend not to move very often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review you have left us, You have covered everything that we offer here which is what our future guests love to hear, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us and we will be here when you come back to key West for your future vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    45
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
408
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our fourth trip to the KWHI. Love it. Have just booked again for July. On the first morning "home", we met four other couples we'd met in previous years. Standards just as good or better. Well done Tracy and the girls (and lone boy).

Room Tip: They are all different (size, beds, cost, etc.). Have a good look at the web site or phone Tracy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Well I am happy to hear your 4th trip staying with us and you have booked again for July so I will be able to meet you for your fifth trip, I love to hear all the great things our guests sy about our Inn and staff. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a great review and for coming back to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Relaxing!! The perfect word to describe our stay at the Key West Harbor Inn. We loved it! Tracey, Linda & the rest of the staff are so friendly & accommodating. We stayed in the Jamaica Room & it was perfect. Very large room with a king size bed, a nice size bath & walk in shower. Also has a wet bar & small refrigerator as well. The private porch was nice to sit & drink coffee on or read. There are steps to get to this room, so if carrying your luggage up them is a problem, you might want to stay on the ground floor. The morning breakfasts & afternoon happy hours are a very nice touch. It made it nice to just walk down every morning & help yourself to a very wide assortment of fruit, bagels, yogurt, cereals,etc. Also having the coffee makers in the rooms was an added plus. The happy hours were also nice. They have a drink of the day or really anything else you could want, as well as appetizers. It was also fun chatting with some of the other guests. The pool & grounds at the inn are just amazing. It truly feels like you're walking into paradise when you enter the gate. All of the beautiful plants & flowers are so lovely to look at. The pool area is very nice with several lounge chairs & tables to suit everyone's needs. Some are located in the sun while others are shaded & offer more privacy depending on your preference. The location of the inn couldn't be better. You walk out of the gate & are literally steps from the harbor & dock area where there are several wonderful restaurants & shops to enjoy. Duval Street is just a couple of blocks away. Walking distance to anything you need. We will definitely stay again the next time we come to Key West, which is hopefully soon!! Thanks again for a wonderful time. One of our best vacations ever!

Room Tip: I would call & talk to Tracey or Linda to ask questions about all of the rooms. They will be ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and you will be coming back to stay in our Harbor View Suite, Our breakfast and Happy hour is a great way to chat with all the guests, this is the best time of our day as we also have an opportunity to chat with the guests and get to know everyone a little better each day. Thank you so much for staying with us and we will see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this cozy inn for a weekend to celebrate a friends 40th bday. This is our first time staying at Inn, and even though I am a world picky traveler whom usually stays at 5 star hotels, our friends chose this hotel and we obliged. We stayed at the Trinidad room. The room was spacious with a wet bar and fridge. Bed was pretty comfortable. This place was okay for 3 days maximum. It is near most of the attractions, no car needed. They do include a light breakfast buffet which is served outdoor poolside, we just had coffee and a muffin. If you are a heavy breakfast eater you will have to eat elsewhere. They also provide happy hour bites and light drinks in the afternoon. All in all the only complaint I have is the amount of dust in the room was so bad the AC even stopped working due to the dust inside the unit, I could not stop sneezing all weekend, room needs to deep cleaned. Other than that the staff is extremely helpful and the Inn is cozy.

Room Tip: The Aruba room is larger and nicer than the Trinidad room, but the Trinidad room has a little more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I have to agree our location is the best close to the harbor and a short walk to Duval, I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory for you, The Trinidad room is on our second floor right next to the harbor there is an empty lot right next to us and they cut the grass every week, We ask all our guests to keep the windows and doors closed as our split A/C units work great but have to work twice as hard if the doors and windows are open, With the breeze from the harbor and grass being cut this does cause lots of dust which was what seemed to be the problem in your room as the A/C will suck all the dust in if windows are open. We do ask our guests not to smoke inside the room we ask you smoke outside on the balcony outside, We had our maintenance person clean your A/C unit for you during your stay and was noted there had been smoking in the room. We usually do charge for this as we are not able to rent the room for 24 hrs after a check out as was the case here, We had to move the guests coming into your room to another room after your check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our first stay at the Key West Harbor Inn....and it was great!! The location can't be beat - a short walk to Duval Street and just a 5 minute walk to two of our favorite places, Schooner Wharf and Pepe's! We stayed in the Barbados room - a very large room, really comfortable bed and large bathroom. The pool area was really nice too - tropical landscaping all around & the daily free happy hour was an added bonus. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. The property is adults only, which was really nice for those wanting a quiet, relaxing trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
This was your first visit and after your great review I know you will return to stay with us again. Thank you so much for informing our future guests our great location and the enjoyable stay that you had with us. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our third trip to the Inn. After visiting last year, we really had no intention of vacationing this year, but the pull of Key West was too difficult to resist.
Once we decided to take the plunge and fly south there was no doubt in our minds that we would return to the Inn.
For the third time we stayed in the Puerto Rico room who's private balcony is the room's true high point. Who needs Duval Street when you can sit outside with a pint of Hagen Daaz and listen to the music waft over from the Conch Republic Seafood and Schooners Warf
One truly distinctive feature of the Inn is how clean it is - not just the rooms, but the grounds as a whole. Clearly Tracy & Linda's crew take pride in their work and it shows.
The attention to detail is also noticeable at breakfast, not only is presented in a manner that's appetizing, but the whoever selects the fruit must have a magic touch - the pineapple and melon are the best I've tasted anywhere. Yum!
For us the question isn't if we will return, it's merely how soon will we be able to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We do love to hear from our return guests and this is your third time staying with us, Thank you
The Puerto Rico Room does have a great view and is so quiet that yes you can sit up there and enjoy the harbor and what Key West offers without leaving your room, I agree. Tracy goes to the store every morning and buys the fruit fresh, along with all the other items we serve at our breakfast. We are lucky that in Key West we do have a great variety of fresh fruit available to us
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and hopefully we will see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall...we will be back again on our next visit. Tracy and her staff make you feel at home as family. Morning breakfast and afternoon happy hour is great. Great conversations with the other guests Rooms were excellent and quiet. The location is close to everything you will need in Old Town. I was surprised how quiet the location is compared to having the boat marina in your back yard. We spent a couple of afternoons at poolside and very peaceful. I made a couple of trips to the neighbor Key Lime Pie Shop for the frozen chocolate dipped key lime pie. Excellent. Kevin O

Room Tip: The room we stayed in on first floor behind the pool area was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Kevin for leaving us a great review, This was your first time staying with us and I am happy to hear it is not your last, Our goal is to make sure our guests can relax and enjoy staying with us and I am happy to hear we reached that goal for you. We will be here waiting for you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Key West Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Harbor Inn

Also Known As:
Key West Harbor Hotel
Key West Harbor Hotel Key West
Address: 219 Elizabeth Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Key West Harbor Inn to your Saves list