We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Harbor Inn
Save
You added Key West Harbor Inn to your Saves list
219 Elizabeth Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas,Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was my wife and I third trip to Key West and our first stay at KWHI. We chose the location because of reviews just like this. The "bight" or harbor is one of the most popular locations for visitors to Key West and can be seen from the upper decks of the inn. All of the favorite restaurants and bars that you read about are there, A&B, Schooners Wharf, Half Shell Oyster Bar, Turtle Krawls and more. All within a short enjoyable walk. All of the reviews that I had read were correct. From the owner to every member of the staff, everyone was very helpful. We stayed in the Tobago which is on the second floor overlooking the pool. Very nice room. The bed is a bit large for the room so you have to watch your toes, but, the plus is that the bed is a very comfortable king size. The rooms are cleaned meticulously every day and the cleaning staff watch you to make sure that they do not disturb you. I really liked the large open tiled shower because the shower head comes from above instead of the conventional wall location.
The A/C unit is great and super quiet and keeps the room very comfortable. The grounds and pool area are always neat and clean. Being as close to all of the action as you are you will not be bothered by noises from the harbor. The only thing that caught my attention was a daily "conch blowing" contest which was entertaining.
Nice continental breakfast and the extremely generous happy hour at 4:30 pm everyday topped off our stay. Thanks again to all at KWHI. Hope to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: The Tobago was very comfortable. If you desire more room I would suggest the Cuba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    49
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
473
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wittlich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I just showed up at Key West Harbor Inn, hoping to find a room. We had looked at some of the nearby B&Bs, but this was the perfect spot, was beautifully decorated for the holiday season, and had the most wonderful foliage welcoming us the moment we stepped foot through the gated entrance. We were greeted by the friendliest staff and made to feel at home by the owner. We enjoyed conversation with other guests by the pool as we sipped on tasty, tropical beverages overflowing with fresh fruit. Needless to say, we will definitely return to this little paradise the next time we are lucky enough to sneak away from reality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary with a trip to Key West in September. We booked the Harbor Inn because of the location and the price (stayed in the CURACAO room). We don't usually spend much time at the hotel wherever we travel but were surprised when we found ourselves chatting with Tracy, enjoying the free drinks and swimming in the pool every day. The room was small (we live in NYC so no biggie) but was very comfortable, private and clean. The grounds and staff were amazing and l love how it felt like an oasis but was so close to everything. This place is the whole package that I would suggest to anyone visiting KW!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I agree completely with Linda A who wrote that this is the best place to stay in Key West. My wife and I go down for the lighted boat parade every Christmas, and would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is extremely friendly, and the location is the best. There is limited free parking on the street out front which you can get if you're patient, or there is a parking garage nearby. Park your car somewhere, and forget about it until it's time to leave. It's a short walk from the Key West Express ferry, or a taxi ride from the airport. We've become friends with everyone and other guests over the years, and would never consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This charming Inn has everything going for it - First a wonderful location just the right distance from everything. The property is tucked away behind a locked gate with wonderful gardens. Second, an amazing staff who do an incredible job at making guests happy and maintaining the property. Traci far exceeds the quality of an hotel manager I have ever met. Her advice of what to do on our first visit made the trip an incredible one. Third, are the little perks - the wonderful breakfast (I miss the delicious fresh cut fruit!), fun happy hour, and refrigerator in the room. (Pool however did not feel warm enough to swim in) It is really a special place and one that you can tell is loved and well cared for by the owner. And the Christmas Decorations were so much fun!

Room Tip: Loved our room - Antigua - in the separate building and had no issue with noise (perhaps however it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browntown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just returned from our visit to the KWHI. We have stayed here at least 10 times and would not stay anywhere else in KW. This time the ground were decorated for Christmas and it was so beautiful. The location in convienent to the best spots in KW. The only downside to parking that is a challenge anywhere on the Island, but truthfully you don't really need to have a car since everything is either walking distance or a quick bicycle ride away.

Great breakfast every morning and Happy hour by the pool every afternoon. We love mingling with the other guest. We have gotten good ideas of things to do and places to eat in the area from these gathering.

The staff in awesome. Everyone is so friendly from the housekeeping staff to the awesome manager Tracy. I don't know what motivated Pam M to make a personal attack of her, but we have never seen her show anything but respect for her staff and guest. They truely made your visit that much more enjoyable and makes us want to come back every year.

BTW - Nice finally meeting you Loenardo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. We have stayed in all the pool house rooms. Our favorite room is Cuba. ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just read the reviews ... this property and staff are outstanding! We stayed at the KWHI with 2 other couples this visit and everyone agreed that this was the perfect place to stay in Key West ! 100% satifisfied again ... thanks to Tracy and staff !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Harbor Inn

Address: 219 Elizabeth Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Key West Harbor Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.