We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised and reviewed; hard to beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Summer Escape
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As advertised and reviewed; hard to beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We took the Key West Express down from Ft. Myers on January 26th for 2 nights and had a terrific stay at the Inn. The staff was very friendly, and Brandon was most helpful, steering us to top notch restaurants, bars and food stores. The room was very quiet and cozy-comfortable, while the location of the Inn made all the key things to do easily accessible by walking. The Inn's amenities were quite nice; my one simple complaint is that they should serve a richer, more flavorful coffee in the morning. We're "foodies" and improving the coffee tied in with Brandon's restaurant knowledge/ recommendations would make the Inn a "must" destination.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    209
    38
    4
    1
See reviews for
126
1,059
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at the Orchid key inn for 5 nights in October 2009. Great hotel, very clean, management team are very friendly and helpful. Great location for Key west and surrounding areas. Breakfast is very good and complimentary wine/beer in the evening is very welcome. Rooms are very well appointed - very modern and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Great place to stay away from the end of Duval street where there is lots of comotion. The staff (Brandon) was extremely helpful and reccomended the best resturants to go to, we were never dissapointed with the sugestions. The pool is nice and drowns out the noise from the street. The morning breakfast was great and it's free. There is also a free happy hour every evening where you can load up before you go out. The location was great we could walk just about anywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

As frequent visitors to Key West, we were trying to find a place to stay that wouldn’t break the bank, but still be quiet, and close enough to our favored haunts. The Orchid Key Inn got great reviews, and the price was right, so we decided to check it out.

We had an extremely nice stay in a deluxe king room, which had a separate sitting area room with a couch, and a chair, and a second flat screen tv (in addition to the one in the bedroom area). I really liked the nouveau-retro décor, although I have to admit I guess I missed some of the more tropical flavor we’d had during previous stays at pricier b&b- type places. There was also a small fridge (which sadly froze all of our beer) and a microwave (which we didn’t use). The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I’ve ever slept on--we slept amazingly during our stay. Some of the previous reviewers commented on how small the rooms were, but I can’t say that was an issue at all with ours. So spring for a deluxe if you go.

The issues we did have were minor, but still worth mentioning. Housekeeping came wayyyy too early (as others have observed) and there didn’t seem to be any “Do Not Disturb” signs. This was kind of annoying, especially after a night of crawling Duval Street, and you knew that knock on the door was coming. We had to ask the front desk for more toilet paper-- housekeeping kept forgetting to refill. Or maybe we just use a lot of toilet paper, I don’t know. Catastrophic? No. Annoying? A little. On the day before we checked out, housekeeping didn’t quite finish making our bed, and left it like that. Again, not a big deal, just kind of odd. The wireless connection was spotty (but the hardwired one in the room worked fine). The room’s marble floors became an ice skating death rink when we happened to enter after being out in the rain. There were no ceiling fans, which just seemed weird in the tropics, and I would think would ultimately save on cooling costs, since we like it cool when we sleep, and cranked the air to compensate. We had to ask the front desk for towels every time we went to the pool. Why not leave them in the room, or make them available by the pool? The very comfy lounge chairs get roasting hot in the sun, so I had to stand around waiting-- again, minor complaints. And speaking of the office staff…

We didn’t see the mythic Brandon until checkout, and he was wonderfully friendly, cheerful, and helpful, just as everyone else had pointed out. The rest of the office staff we’d encountered can best be described as “coldly and politely efficient”-- not so unlike the marble floor in our room. Luckily, we knew where we were going and what we were doing, and didn’t really need them. As for the bar not being open, we knew about it beforehand, and made sure to stock the aforementioned beer slushies in our room fridge.

We had a wonderful vacation, and didn’t really spend all that much time in the room anyway-- but it was super clean, in a good location, and had the best bed ever. I’m not sure, though, if we would return-- my husband and I ultimately prefer a place, if possible, with a small private deck or a patio, to sip coffee and read the paper in the morning, and have drinks in the afternoon. But that’s personal preference, and would not prevent me from recommending the Orchid Key Inn as a very, very good place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful visit to Key West. The hotel location was great towards the quiet end of Duval Street.. Brandon was just a sweetheart, very friendly, certainly tried to make your visit comfortable. Rooms were small, with no dresser space but very modern, clean, safe, small refrigerator, nice flat screen TV - definitely would return. A big plus they had parking spaces. I can see why this hotel was rated #1.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Everyone's reviews were so glowing and positive.. We had a suite.. thank goodness, as our friends had a king room and it was very small. Not even a chair to sit in. Their room was also very warm and despite the efforts of the nice maintinece man was never resolved.
Our suite was spacious and very clean. ( Thanks Linda). We were disappointed in the unfriendliness of the office staff. Brandon was not there for most of our stay and I guess he is the helpful one. Also the bar is not open as to some problem with a license or something. Happy hour was at a place on Truman St.. Do not advertise a bar if in fact it is not open. It was okay but not quite what we expected.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just got back from spending three nights here and it was great! Will totally stay here again when we go back to Key West!

Location: The location is great! The Inn is located about 3 blocks from the bar scene making it peaceful and quiet....very relaxing. You are able to walk to all attractions from the Southern Most Point to the Historic Docks/Mallory Square. There are great restaurants all around....very easy to get around from this location.

Property: The property is beautiful and well kept. Very modern/retro. The pool area is comfortable with plenty of seating and lounge chairs. We enjoyed Happy Hour at their sister hotel across the street which was nice. Breakfast had a very good variety to meet everyone's needs.

Rooms: Wow!!!! The rooms are comfortbale and clean. The bathroom is of good size and feels like you just stepped into a spa. Everything is new and modern. You have everything you need to be comfortable in your room including free Wi-Fi, huge flat screen TV, microwave, fridge and an in room safe.

Staff: The staff was great! Brandon....you rock!!!!! Dinner recommendations? Ask Brandon....he'll even make the reservations for you. Things to do? Ask Brandon. Brandon is in the know! Anything you may need, just ask....the staff will point you in the right direction.

Thanks again for everything! The Fortners'

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.