We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Could not have picked a better place to stay!! So glad we chose Orchid Key Inn!!! This was our first trip to Key West and thanks to the reviews on TripAdvisor, which were spot on, we had a fantastic trip.

First of all, I called about a week before our vacation inquiring about transportation from the airport to the hotel. Trudy told me that there would be taxi's lined up waiting to bring us to our destination. She was super friendly and told me to call her back if I thought of any other questions.

When we arrived at Orchid Key, a little before actual check in time, Cindy said our room was ready. She checked us in and said if we needed any reservations or recommendations they were here to help us out. We told her of an attraction we were interested in and she called to check availability for us.

Now I've read the reviews that say that the rooms were small, that it was a little pricey...but to us it was worth it. One of the first things we noticed is that they were no "spring breakers" running around the hotel and there were no families with children there. It was couples without kids. Not that I have anything against bringing kids on vacation, ours was just left at home. To us it was priceless to not have kids running around the hotel and jumping in the pool.

The small size of the hotel made it perfect to meet some new friends. While we were there a group of ladies from the East Coast, who are frequent guests of Orchid Key, were there and in the evenings during Happy Hour we were able to chat with them and find some great places to see and places to eat. They, along with Cindy and Shawn, were invaluable in helping us avoid some of the not so great restaurants.

In the mornings the staff put out a continental breakfast, which I had read some negative reviews on, but we enjoyed it. Nothing real heavy, pastries, fresh fruit and yogurt, cereal, coffee juices, milk. Just enough to get us on our way to finding a good place for lunch.

I also read that some didn't think it was worth the price because it was an old motel remodeled and given updates. That was what I loved about it!!! Reminded me of vacations I took with my parents when I was a kid. There were no Hyatt's around when I was a kid.

So for purely selfish reasons, because I don't want others to find out about this gem of an Inn and have it be booked when we go back, I don't want to give it 5 stars but I have too. I could not have been more pleased with everything about Orchid Key Inn!!! So everyone out there planning a trip to Key West, if you can stay at Orchid Key Inn. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    184
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
111
929
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks back for a few days towards the end of our trip.

Had a fantastic time, the staff are all so great and helpful and attentive. The breakfast is plentiful, niblles in the afternoon offer a good way to relax and mingle with people, plus the drinks coupons you receive when you check in help out!

The water in our bathroom smelled a little funky sometimes, and the light from the iPod dock was annoying at night time, but otherwise the room was great! As others have said, some rooms (I guess our one included) don't have much storage space so it felt a little like we were living out of our cases, but no big deal.

The pool is perfectly adequate, parking fees are fair and you are in an area which is walking distance from everything. Nothing is too far and you can just leave you car. The staff are very friendly and all of the reception guys are always willing to provide recommendations and be friendly to one and all.

I'd thoroughly recommend this place to everyone and wish other larger hotels we stayed at on our vacation (elsewhere in Florida) were as nice and with such good staff.

Room Tip: Our room surrounded the pool and there wasn't much storage space inside. From pics from rooms he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

You must stay here when visiting key west!
The room was stylish, and spacious and the bathroom is incredible. There is a free breakfast and a lovely little pool, with a bar next to it. You get 2 complementary drinks tokens per person on check in for wine, beer or soft drinks and they put out complementary nibbles (including cheese and crackers, veggie sticks and mini pulled pork sandwiches!) each evening to encourage guests to mingle. The location is great, right on duval street (don't be concerned about the noise, we stayed in the room right on duval street and had really great nights sleep the whole stay!) the staff were really friendly and helpful also.
We loved this hotel and would really recommend, you need not look any further for a hotel in key west!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I do not use this expression often in reviews, but this hotel is really a hidden gem. We would not have found it without the outstanding reviews on Tripadvisor. We were starting our 3 weeks Florida roundtrip with a visit to the Keys and with two days Key West. We were looking for a small hotel where we could start our trip with a few days of quietness and rest, before going on the move. And we found it, Orchid Key Inn! The place is like an oasis. The beatiful pool with its blue/white pool deck is surrouded by the hotel. This is a great place to relax, read a book and cool down in the pool. There are always sunbeds free and beach towels available. Our one bedroom king suite was just perfect for the four of us. It was clean and cool, the bathroom with walk-in shower was spotless and has two amazing robes. The king bed, ohhhh the king bed was the best bed I have ever slept in, in a hotel room. Also the convertible sofa slept good according to our sons. The rooms are not huge, don't expect that. We heard that this hotel used to be an old motel going back to 1950. The owners turned this place into a paradise, but the structure of the building is still intact, giving it its current charming look. Check in by Shawn was remarkable. He was the first one that knew my name when I came in a hotel for the first time, before I introduced myself. Then you know your business, well done Shawn. After the check in, he asked us to come back later when we were settled, so he could tell us all about Key West. We really appreciated this much personal attention. Parking in front of the hotel was fine and usd.10 per day is acceptable in the centre area. We received 2 vouchers each day for good complimentary wine and at 17:00 each day the bar staff offered a free bite. Breakfast was very good. They offer a good selection of bread, fruit, yoghurt and drinks, which you could take outside. We enjoyed our start of the day with a breakfast by the pool. Do I have any attention points for the staff? Yes, only one, the internet is often very slow. Most people rely on internet, so this must be improved. But I give the 5 star rating anyway! Please keep this outstanding level of service and together with this hotel concept, you are gold!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you are looking for a wonderful experience in Key West, look no further! This is a small hotel, with all the charm and attention of a bed and breakfast, and the ambiance and amenities of a boutique hotel. What makes this a unique hotel is their staff- all warm and welcoming and ready to help arrange anything that will make your stay memorable. Ask for recommendations- everything Cindy,Kim and Shawn suggested was fabulous- they know the restaurants and attractions well.

The hotel is amazing- beautifully decorated and wel kept. We got the best night's sleep while there. The pool is in the middle- very conducive to meeting other guests and exchanging experiences.Loved having breakfast by the pool each morning. Amber took good care of us in the morning!

The location is great- an easy walk down Duval Street - doing my favorite activity- people watching. You are on the quiet end of town- but close to anything you could want to do.I loved that depending on which way you went on Duval, you got a different experience.

This is definitely more of an adults hotel- kids would be bored with the quiet, relaxed feel of this hotel- if you are looking to get away from it all- this is the place!

BTW- the bartenders Alex and Adam are equally good at giving recommendations- El Sibney came from them and they were not wrong!

Can hardly wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room- we were in the back and noticed little street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly- recycling is a way of life there.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a place not to be missed. At the heart of Duval Street near lovely shops and restaurants, but set back from the road nestled in it's own tranquil setting. If you like hotels with hundreds of rooms and tons of people at the pool, this is not the place for you. There are only 24 rooms in this mecca, decorated in a sleek metropolitan style and kept meticulously clean with fridge and microwave for your convenience. We were so pleased that you can't hear the air conditioning running because units are in another building and when you enter the room you are welcomed with spa-like music that is so zen you can't help but to leave your busy life behind you. The garden rooms offer a private outdoor sitting area that is especially inviting and adds to your "space" . The property is excellently maintained with an azure pool and appealing water features in various places around the property and soft music adding to the relaxing atmosphere. The entire staff is incredible...always helpful and responding immediately to any need or question. They truly go out of their way to assure their guests are well taken care of. At check in, more than one complimentary wine/beer coupon is given to each (adult) person in your party and can be redeemed any time during your stay at the Orchid lounge. The complimentary continental breakfast rivals none with an almost boundless selection of beverages, cakes, yogurts, cereals, fresh fruits, and more. With such a breakfast, we didn't need lunch and then set our sights on a special dinner. BTW, you must try La te da, right down the block to the right of the Orchid. Great atmosphere, service and food. In short, the Orchid Key Inn is beautiful and we are so glad that we discovered this gem. We loved our stay, and are already looking forward to our return. It does not disappoint.

Room Tip: The rooms are set in courtyard style with pool in the center. We had room 16 right off the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days last week. The location was perfect! It's right on Duval, so it's close to all that action. I'm so glad we chose this location over Southernmost or The Reach - those were too far out of the way for us. The rooms were clean and updated and the bed was very comfortable. There is not a lot of extra space in the room, but we did not plan on hanging out in it, so we did not care. The pool is small, but nice and clean. They serve a great continental breakfast and happy hour snacks. The staff was wonderful. They are very pleasant and helpful. Most of my interaction was with Kim and she was great! She helped up with a jet ski tour (highly recommended) and even coordinated the outing for us! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.