We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Drinks in a Cool Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cool Drinks in a Cool Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Key West is a warm resort, so finding a cool spot to veg is always a treat. For locals, the bar at the Orchid is such a respite. Check out great mixology while enjoying a splashy pool, literally steps from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    193
    37
    4
    1
See reviews for
116
976
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just spent 5 days at the Orchid Key in during Parrot Head Week. I have never had such a great experience in any hotel and I have been to quite a few! Brandon, Michael and Amy-just the friendliest most accomodating team you have EVER met. The room was very clean and modern-no detail was overlooked! We stayed in the King Size Suite and admitted it was hard to leave it every day to enjoy Key West! I will be back and will not stay anywhere else!!! Does this ownership have any other hotels in the U.S.? Their management style is definitely something to look for when vacationing!

Room Tip: The king suite is gorgeous and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I don't think I could even begin to do this place justice ... You have to stay here and see it for yourself. PHENOMENAL staff !!! Brandon, Amy, the housekeeping staff and breakfast crew (And the rest of the office staff) are so AWESOME !!! If you want any advice, go to Brandon ... He will give you the best ideas on restaurants, shopping and sightseeing ... Amy, at the bar, went out of her way to make us feel welcome (even though we arrived very late our first night) ... She is so sweet ! The housekeeping staff keep this place absolutely spotless ... Everyone really goes out of their way for every guest. The breakfast is very good ... It was so nice to sit by the pool and have coffee every morning. Such a nice atmosphere !! They also have a good Happy Hour with wine and cocktails and light appetizers. You can either sit at the Orchid Bar or relax by the pool and listen to music ... The location is IDEAL. Right on Duval ... Walking distance to Mallory Square, yet it's tucked away and very peaceful and quiet. From now on, this is the ONLY place we will stay when we come to Key West. We have already recommended it to our friends and they plan on staying here, as well !! Thank you SO MUCH, Orchid Key !!! You made our vacation PERFECT !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After seeing a general description of Key West hotels as tiny old rooms in badly renovated old houses, I was concerned about any hotel in KW. However the Orchid Key Inn is completely different. The hotel is at the 'quiet' end of Duval Street at the intersection of Truman Street. We had a room along the back and enjoyed the quiet during the day as well as at night. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in suggesting activities plus there is a small bar on the property that produced a wonderful breakfast (included) and has a good happy hour and full bar with anything you need. We like the room - modern and sleek - that includes a Keurig coffee maker and a spa shower. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would return next time we are in Key West.

Room Tip: I think a room along the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Love this hotel and its staff..... Kim Qualey made my stay extra special by helping me find my way around KW and Duval St. , schedule activities such as sailing, and overall taking care of the little things during my 6 day stay there.
She exemplifies the type of staff that work at the Orchid, always friendly and willing to lend a hand. I would recommend this hotel to you and your friends/family.....it is the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the best little boutique hotel on the island! We were impressed by many things...the exceptionally clean room and all facilities, the amazingly helpful staff and the perfect location off of Duval. Kimmy (our BFF!), Brandon, Magic Mike, Amy and the whole crew made our Fantasy Fest week super fun and comfortable. There is no question that Orchid Key will be our place to stay year after year. It is truly a home away from home, right down to the most cozy bed ever! Thank you Orchid Key!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ione, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Orchid Key will be our preferred stay when we return to Key West. The motel looked to be recently renovated and although not as spacious as other hotels we're stayed at, our room was comfortable and very clean and the price was reasonable. We were very happy with the location being within walking distance to all the shops and sites. Hemmingway's home was just a block away. And as the other reviews stated, it's very quiet as it's kind of tucked back away from the street. The continental breakfast was more than I expected; fruit, hard boiled eggs, toast/bagels, cereal, and coffee. And they also offered happy hour; one free drink (beer or soda) per person each day. Other drinks offered at a discount price. Excellent stay, highly recommend the Orchid Key.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool. Parking spaces are tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.