We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chill out in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you want to 'chill' in Key West here's the place to stay.

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days recently and the level of service, rooms and particularly the complimentary breakfast was awesome! The rooms are a little small, but this adds to the character and wasn't an issue for us.

The pool area was the perfect place to relax and overall this is a winning destination. Location is good, just off Duval; far enough away from the bars for a quiet stay. You are charged $8 for daily parking, which is reasonable if you compare to Miami ($25-$35 / day).

Overall, highly recommended for couples looking for a claasy break.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool will enhance your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    988
    171
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
99
854
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this is the first time i have stayed overnight in key west, we stayed there for 3 nights and it was 1st class all the way. Kim at the front desk is an amazing help and will guide you in all the right directions to experience key west as you should. the staff and bartender were extremely friendly and helpful. i would recommend this place to anyone i know, it has a great location and rooms were a great size and extremely clean. thank you again to Kim and everyone at the Orchid Key Inn!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I just stayed there for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. We are Floridians so the Tropical Climate and ocean views is something we are accustomed to. The accommodations were cozy.
As others mentioned the Rooms are not over sized and storage s[ace is somewhat limited though there is a closet for hanging things and three drawers in the area besides the small fridge. This resort was remodeled sometime and they did a great job with the space they had to work with. The location on Duval St is premium and the staff, especially wonderful Kim, was exceptional. Definitely a good choice to consider when visiting beautiful Key West.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We loved the Orchid Key Inn! It's an amazing motor inn built in the 50s that has been remodeled into a very cool boutique hotel. Very friendly staff who will set you up with whatever you want to do while in Key West. We love Kim!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From it's 1950's/Art Deco look, this is a lovely little place to stay in Key West. You are just 2 blocks from Hemmingway's house, but removed from all the craziness & noise that is on the other end of Duval. You have a nice pool area & spa, with the rooms surrounding it. The room was spacious, with king bed, coffee bar area & large bathroom & shower. A great little bar area & happy hour is not to be missed. The staff is so friendly and helpful with tips and suggestions

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked this hotel as an escape with my fiancee and intentionally did not want to be right in the middle of the partying on Duval Street; but was pleased to see that while it was much quieter at the Orchid Key, it was still very close to the party district for when we wanted to go there - but we could also relax poolside with quiet music and cocktails if we chose to do that. The service from the front desk to the maid services to the bartender at the small quaint bar at the hotel was outstanding. The rooms are charming, clean and comfortable. The hotel is small enough that it has the feel a B&B in that you can easily make friends with other customers or just as easily keep to yourself. I would absolutely stay here every time I visit Key West in the future. It is hands down my favorite hotel in the area.

Room Tip: there are rooms that surround the pool and rooms that open to the parking lot; i'd select one by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Can't say enough positive things about this hotel. The website photos are true likenesses. What you see is actually what you get. Kim and Brandon at the front desk were a wealth of information regarding what to do and where to go as well as providing us with discount coupons. Rooms were clean, clean, clean, and nicely decorated. The A/C was so quiet I wasn't sure it was running. The pool was a great respite from the heat of mid day which lead into an awesome happy hour. Such a great time at happy hour, we missed dinner two nights in a row! Absolutely a great location as well. The free breakfast was amazing and much appreciated. I can't imagine any negative comments regarding the Orchid Key Inn. If you run into any, just disregard them. You won't be disappointed at the Orchid Key Inn! I definitely will go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask advice at the front desk. They will steer you in the right direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.