We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Key West
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from the Florida Keys and stayed at the Orchid Key Inn. Will definitely return and hopefully soon!!! Great location at Duval and Truman. Exceptionally clean updated rooms...bathrooms were beautiful, grounds and rooms very very clean, breakfast and afternoon drinks were more than substantial! Even though it rained during most of our stay, it did not dampen our spirits or our trip. Kim at the front desk was the most accommodatiing host you could ask for! She made reservations and we took all of her suggestions! They were all right on! She made sure we got discounts thoughout the town and we felt like coming home to family at the end of each day. We did get to sit by the pool on our last day and that was the perfect ending! Our friends from San Francisco joined us and they agree that we need to return to Key West and the Orchid again, even yearly!!! We all felt like we were in the caribbean and/or europe and didn't have to worry about customs or passports! Fantastic trip. We will most definitely return to this hotel.....Thank you Kim and your staff for making our first trip to the Keys a great one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    977
    170
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
96
847
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Perfect location, close to everything and still quiet at night. I would say the resort is luxurious without being pretentious. The staff was great, we would stay there again. We researched quite a bit before booking here, I wanted to have the Key West experience without staying at a bed and breakfast and this accomplished that. The pool and hot tub are perfect and private.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed to be in a good location, we were towards the end which seemed more private
See more room tips
Green Features: they did have a spot for recycling and used real dishes for the breakfast
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I went to Key West for a long weekend over Memorial Day. Had a wonderful stay at Orchid Key Inn - the reviews were spot-on and I'm so glad we did our research here before booking. Great location right on Duval. Clean room, very modern and comfortable. Enjoyed our time at the bar and our breakfasts by the pool. Highly recommend Orchid Key Inn - we will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 101, which is right on Duval. It wasn't too noisy and we could sit at the pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had an AMAZING weekend!! We loved staying here, it's the perfect location, the crew was super friendly and very helpful! This is what I would call a getaway withing a getaway! On the fun and exciting Duval street , yet the moment you step foot in here, your in a piece of heaven! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If all the rooms are like the one we stayed in, then they will all be GREAT! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just got back from 7 days in the keys. We looked at around 30 hotels in Key West. Read hundreds of reviews on this site for a variety of places. The reviews for this place really stood out to us. We didn't expect it to live up to the hype but when we checked in we immediately saw why it was rated so highly. Brandon at the front desk made sure our check-in went smoothly after a very long drive and had excellent suggestions for what to do (and NOT to do) on our first day out and about. We also appreciated Kim's help in making the trip fun on the following days.

When we got in our room it was refreshingly cool and spotlessly clean. One of the tidiest places we have ever stayed anywhere much less the keys were rooms in previous hotels down there left much to be desired. It's not a big room but we found it to be perfect for two people just looking for a private pool with no kids and a comfy place to sleep. Sipping on cucumber water by that pool while catching some rays was just amazingly refreshing after a long day of walking. Also privacy and quiet is a priority at this place as it is far from the 20 year old bar party scene. We really appreciated that because you could jump into the party down the road easily then when it was time to crash no one was going to bother you.

Oh and last but not least! Betty is an excellent bartender and we were glad to be there on her last shift before she retired. What a great person to meet on our last few days in the keys! :) Anyway the staff and rooms are absolutely top notch for the price. We regretted wasting our money on previous years when we stayed elsewhere for MORE $$$ :( We can't wait to get back and we will most certainly be staying here next time no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Grab room 119 it's right in front of the hot tub so short trip for a quick late night dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Orchid Key Inn this past December and for a trip to Key West and were very happy with the room and location! The service from the hotel staff and specifically the bartender was very welcoming. A full breakfast provided every morning and a manager's reception every night made our stay worthwhile. We would be happy to recommend this hotel to others in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. The pool was our favorite place to hang out after a few long nights on the town. We would defiantly stay here again without hesitation. This place is a great location that's close to it all and don't rent a car if not familiar with the area, rent a scooter instead.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.