We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Key West
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This fabulously updated 50s motel was the absolute best spot in the universe for our 6 day vacation in Key West. It's right in the heart of the island, close to absolutely everything but not in the "Spring Break" part of town. A perfect compromise between the "party end" and the resorty end. Close to so many lovely restaurants, the 7-11, CVS and other handy amenities.

We swam in the lovely pool pretty much every afternoon. The vibe was very chill - mostly couples in their 30s (like us) 40s and 50s.

Comparing the cost of the resorts on the South end of the island - we just couldn't have been happier. We rented bikes the whole time we were there and everything was only a couple of minute bike away.

Rooms were very well appointed, luxurious, newly done with great touches and amenities. We had a king suite that was quite near the road, but you couldn't hear a thing. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Probably the best and easiest/low maintenance vacation we've ever had.

Room Tip: We had a king suite as we booked last minute and that was pretty much all that was left. But we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    917
    163
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
799
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Having visited Key West many times over the years( 4 time in the last 9 months) had walked by the Orchid Key Inn many times and thought it looked so charming. Since it was priced in the same as our old standby, The Westin, thought we'd give it a try. So glad we did, as this place is so much more superior than the generic Westin!

When we arrived at 1, we were greeted by Kim at the front desk. She is the best! Our room was ready it exceed our expectation. Very spacious for the two of us and extremely comfortable. The bath is very spacious and beautifully appointed. My favorite thing about our pool side room was the efficient and Very quite AC! Another bonus, being right on Duvall Street I expected lots if noise. The room was extremely quite. Great sleep.

The pool area is just charming. Loved the casual morning breakfast, included, and the evening cocktail, one free per night. Free wifi was the best speed I've ever gotten outside of home.

Now, back to Kim. She provided the best service. Her suggestions were spot on, and made our stay even more enjoyable.

As I write this I'm storing by the pool dreading my departure in a few hours.

This will now be our primary place to stay in Key West!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Orchid Key is a lovely hotel right smack in the middle of everything you can want in Key West. Nice rooms, sweet breakfast out by the pool and you can rent bikes across the street which I recommend doing as Key West is small but actually on foot alone is not the best way to maximise time. We stayed two nights and the room and bathroom were lovely, comfortable bed, good (and quiet) air con. Now about the staff.....what can I say....Brandon is a top man. He will give you a recommendation for anything you want to do and only sends you to the best places. Not only will he book you a table in a restaurant he'll ring them up to make sure you get a great table. Great guy and huge asset to the great facilities at Orchid Key. The next time I'm in the Keys no hesitation around where I am staying!



Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When looking for a place to stay in Key West for four nights in December we had two potentially conflicting requirements: a central location and quiet, comfortable accommodation. The Orchid Inn ticked both boxes. Perhaps we were lucky in getting a room across the pool from reception and therefore further away from Duval, where all the action is, but there's no doubt that the hotel's location was perfect for us. On arrival we parked the car for a very reasonable $8 per day and forgot about it while we visited everything worth seeing in Key West by foot. It's just steps away from the lighthouse and Hemmingway's house; being on the quieter end of Duval, a short walk in one direction brings you into the younger and livelier end of town; go the other direction and you find yourself at the southernmost point.
Rooms are on the small side but ours had been recently refurbished and was clean and comfortable. Brandon, at the front desk, was exceptionally helpful in suggesting places to see and restaurants to visit. Kathy, who looked after the small breakfast bar, was also very welcoming and friendly.
The hotel has limited facilities so if you're looking to spend your vacation relaxing around the pool without venturing far, this is not the place for you ... but then again, you probably shouldn't be in Key West either.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Orchid Key over New Years and it was fantastic - very central location - we just parked the car when we arrived left it there, everything was in walking distance.
Room was not huge but very clean and really was not in there all that much. A great touch was they left a bottle of champagne, beads, noisemakers and 2013 hat on the bed New Years eve day when the room was made up.
All the staff was very friendly and helpful - the bar served great drinks and the breakfast was more then enough to get us recharged in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful find. Superb location, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, especially on reception. The only down side was the cramped breakfast bar, whilst selecting breakfast there is no room to put your tray down, you need another pair of hands. None the less I would recommend this hotel. It's very central, everything within walking distance. The trolley buses also stop close by.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, which was a good size, with a small lounge area with tea/coffee making facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Driving route one in the morning meant we hit key west at around 1.30 on thurs afternoon I had e-mailed them to ask about the possibility of an early check in as hotel policy is 3.00 pm they had replied they would do their best when we arrived , well the woman in reception didn't do her best she basically said come back at three there's nothing she could do , now judging by the fact there's one parking space for every room there's no more than twenty rooms there were three cleaners at least and check out was at 11.00 am and the odds of all twenty rooms checking out on a thurs morning debatable so at over $350 plus tax plus parking for my room I'd expect the staff to at least try and help me out !The pool area is central small but tastefully furnished and comfortable , the breakfast (included) is self serve in the small bar area with no room for trays whilst serving with plastic bowls plates and cutlery it consists of coffee , juice , cereal, hard boiled eggs and cakes fruit and toast and quality is again really poor for price of place , this is basically a posh motel which sells itself and charges like a top hotel in a great location with nicely furnished clean comfortable rooms you expect the rooms to be on the smaller side as your paying for location but the prices charged are comparable with some of the top hotels in the us also in great locations , the value for money simply isn't there .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.