We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Key West
Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful find. Superb location, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, especially on reception. The only down side was the cramped breakfast bar, whilst selecting breakfast there is no room to put your tray down, you need another pair of hands. None the less I would recommend this hotel. It's very central, everything within walking distance. The trolley buses also stop close by.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, which was a good size, with a small lounge area with tea/coffee making facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    914
    163
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
798
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Driving route one in the morning meant we hit key west at around 1.30 on thurs afternoon I had e-mailed them to ask about the possibility of an early check in as hotel policy is 3.00 pm they had replied they would do their best when we arrived , well the woman in reception didn't do her best she basically said come back at three there's nothing she could do , now judging by the fact there's one parking space for every room there's no more than twenty rooms there were three cleaners at least and check out was at 11.00 am and the odds of all twenty rooms checking out on a thurs morning debatable so at over $350 plus tax plus parking for my room I'd expect the staff to at least try and help me out !The pool area is central small but tastefully furnished and comfortable , the breakfast (included) is self serve in the small bar area with no room for trays whilst serving with plastic bowls plates and cutlery it consists of coffee , juice , cereal, hard boiled eggs and cakes fruit and toast and quality is again really poor for price of place , this is basically a posh motel which sells itself and charges like a top hotel in a great location with nicely furnished clean comfortable rooms you expect the rooms to be on the smaller side as your paying for location but the prices charged are comparable with some of the top hotels in the us also in great locations , the value for money simply isn't there .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We can not say enough about the Orchid Key Inn!!! It was by far the most fantastic part of our honeymoon. From the moment we checked in, the wonderful hotel staff took care of our every need and question. Brandon was Fantastic!!! He made recommendations for dinner and recreational opportunities. He was so helpful---even calling several local attractions to make reservations for us. He never hesitated to make us feel welcome and taken care of. The Orchid Key is lucky to have him! Also had some help from Kim in the office---such a sweet lady! The room itself was perfect---it felt like an island getaway on Duvall street. The location is perfect---on Duvall---but not right in the middle of all the loud bars. You're only a few steps from the action, but when you want to get away, you can. The pool area and Orchid bar are beautiful. We would recommend this gem to anyone/everyone we know. We will never stay anywhere else in Key West!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The place is beutiful, conveniently located close to everything in town. Very cute pool area. All rooms are arrange atound the pool area and there are no views out of windows. The room are compaq, nice but small. The staff are extremely friendly and service minded. Kim, in reception, was so nice and helpful when we wanted to go out and about and she reccomended a lovely beach in the National Park . Nice pool area with jacuzzi. Rooms clean and modern rooms with coffee maker, water and buscuits. Really comfortable beds. Breakfast was served by the pool area by a lovely lady who contiually prepared fresh fruit; yogurts; muffins pastries and cakes! We can highly recommend this little gem of a hotel and will with pleasure return here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff are outstanding. The hotel is not as good as the sister hotel the Almond Tree. We had room 101. The airvent in the bathroom banged for 3 nights. The room was very small, nice but small. The biggest issue was noise. It was like we were sleeping in the middle of Duval Street - Our room backed on to it. Almond Tree have free drinks everyday from 5 to 7pm - Orchid Key give you one per stay. Almond Tree has a great selection of food for breakfast and at 5 to 7pm - Orchid Key selction is not very good.

Truth is they are both very nice, but save $100 a day and stay in the Almond Tree!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place is nice, conveniently located close to everything in town. Very cute yard with pool. Note, that everything is arranged like a motel - so no views out of windows. They are just not transparent. On the negative side should mention a very strange unpleasant smell of some kind of cleaning chemicals in the room, some mold in the shower. The breakfast is OK, but not really great. Also, I've met the least friendly bartender there I've ever met before. I thought, it's a part of their job description to be friendly... To summarize, I would never stay at this place, at least, at this price level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We just loved this little nice hotel! Perfectly situated very centrally although in the quiet part of Duval street.
Extremely friendly and serviceminded staff. Kim, in reception, was so nice and helpful with boat tour reservation, restaurant for Christmas eve and even tips for our coming stay in Sanibel Island.
Nice pool area with jacuzzi. Clean and modern rooms with coffee maker, water and buscuits. Really comfortable beds. Breakfast was served by the pool area by a lovely elderly lady!
We can highly recommend this little pearl and will with pleasure return here again!
Anna from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel
Orchid Key Hotel Key West
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.