We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cool place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just got back from Key West. This hotel was Awesome. The place was clean and decorated for Christmas wonderfully. Sitting by the pool at night was awesome. Our room was right outside the hot tub. The room was beautifully done and the bed was very comfortable. The staff, Kim, Brandon, Trudy and Michael were very friendly and fun to talk to. Kim recommeded great places to see, like Wine and Wind, Hemmingway House, Truman House, Buddha Beauty Bar, and eat, like Black Fin, Nine One Five, The Conch Republic, and she always had a smile on her face. The location of this hotel for us was perfect. It was far from all the touristy restaurants like Fat Tuesdays and Margaritaville but we were more than fine with that. Happy Hour and Breakfast was great here. The young lady working the breakfast bar was so friendly too. This was a perfect hotel to bring in a birthday and I'm glad we stayed here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,029
    181
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
108
885
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ransom, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I just got back from four nights in Key West. I have to say that we cannot be happier that we trusted the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and selected The Orchid Key Inn. Kim, Brandon, and the rest of the staff at the Orchid Key Inn were great. The place is wonderful – well kept, and the location is very convenient. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Please note: we stayed at this hotel in January of 2012. The room was fine, albeit a bit small. The bed pretty much filled up the room. I was a bit surprised to be charged for parking. I guess my only real complaint is that this room was in no way worth $300.00/night. Better places can be had in Key West for less money.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lovely, drive-in motel well situated on the quiet end of Duval, poolside rooms are fantastic as is the free breakfast...Shaun and Brandon were fantastic....helpful beyond the pail, a credit to themselves!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

stayed four nights and loved the place. the location was perfect for me and my wife, bar hopping, restaurants, shopping, beach, rental car even CVS. the room was on the small size but being next to the pool and hot tub and the hotel bar we didn't spend that much time in the room.The bathroom had a nice size shower, the king bed was comfortable, large flat screen and refigerator this was a great place. we will stay here upon our return and reccommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: i notice about three rooms close to duval street and one on truman i would stay away from them, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Checked in for one night for a concert in Key West and was surprised how nice this was. We were greeted by the desk clerk who gave us great recommendations for lunch, dinner, desert, breakfast ( a lot of food on this trip) along with coupons. Our room wasn't ready but we were early. The grounds are beautiful and it is far enough from Duval that you don't get the street noise (plus it is on the south end of Duval which is quiet anyways). The room is small but wonderfully done. Comfortable and quiet at night (except for a group of women who thought that 3:00 AM is great time to have a loud conversation by the pool. They left when I asked them to quiet down). They give you two free glasses of wine from the wine bar and a complementary continental breakfast. I will stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the back side of the hotel if you like it real quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent the first two nights of our trip here and it was a great way to start the week out. Very convenient location on Duval, near some great dining locations. As noted on here by others, very unique and almost retro feel to this place. The room was a King deluxe (not huge but good size for Key West) with nice bathroom and large shower area. The staff is terrific, especially Brandon who gave us some great tips on where to go (especially the Green Parrot where he told us to check out the archway inside for some added entertainment). The continental breakfast was fine, pleasant and helpful ladies working there. However, one of the nest things here is the bar where you get to meet some interesting fellow travelers and locals. Special thanks also to Tina at the bar for some great tips.

Room Tip: Check out the bar where you will get great tips from the staff and fellow travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.