We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
north shields
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lovely, drive-in motel well situated on the quiet end of Duval, poolside rooms are fantastic as is the free breakfast...Shaun and Brandon were fantastic....helpful beyond the pail, a credit to themselves!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    990
    172
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
857
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

stayed four nights and loved the place. the location was perfect for me and my wife, bar hopping, restaurants, shopping, beach, rental car even CVS. the room was on the small size but being next to the pool and hot tub and the hotel bar we didn't spend that much time in the room.The bathroom had a nice size shower, the king bed was comfortable, large flat screen and refigerator this was a great place. we will stay here upon our return and reccommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: i notice about three rooms close to duval street and one on truman i would stay away from them, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Checked in for one night for a concert in Key West and was surprised how nice this was. We were greeted by the desk clerk who gave us great recommendations for lunch, dinner, desert, breakfast ( a lot of food on this trip) along with coupons. Our room wasn't ready but we were early. The grounds are beautiful and it is far enough from Duval that you don't get the street noise (plus it is on the south end of Duval which is quiet anyways). The room is small but wonderfully done. Comfortable and quiet at night (except for a group of women who thought that 3:00 AM is great time to have a loud conversation by the pool. They left when I asked them to quiet down). They give you two free glasses of wine from the wine bar and a complementary continental breakfast. I will stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the back side of the hotel if you like it real quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent the first two nights of our trip here and it was a great way to start the week out. Very convenient location on Duval, near some great dining locations. As noted on here by others, very unique and almost retro feel to this place. The room was a King deluxe (not huge but good size for Key West) with nice bathroom and large shower area. The staff is terrific, especially Brandon who gave us some great tips on where to go (especially the Green Parrot where he told us to check out the archway inside for some added entertainment). The continental breakfast was fine, pleasant and helpful ladies working there. However, one of the nest things here is the bar where you get to meet some interesting fellow travelers and locals. Special thanks also to Tina at the bar for some great tips.

Room Tip: Check out the bar where you will get great tips from the staff and fellow travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying one night at this hotel. I hated to leave!! The entire experience was positive. Kim was lovely to meet, as well as talk to over the phone, when I had a question prior to arriving. The room was extremely clean and well appointed. The shower was quite large. The room had everything we needed. Our room was across from the pool which was nice in the morning when we had our coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices, from pastries to fresh fruit.
The location was fantastic because we could walk wherever we needed to. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby.
After leaving the hotel I realized I had left my shoes in the room. Although, by then I was already back home they mailed them to me.
I would definitely return to this hotel except I would stay longer so I could enjoy the pool and surroundings more!!

Room Tip: I stayed next to the pool which was nice. Very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room was very comfortable and right next to the pool. The owners and staff are all very helpful and knowledgable. Kim helped us to arrange our stay admirably. Following her suggestions increased our enjoyment of Key West.
There is a small bar at the side of the pool where a very good breakfast is served. Also nibbles in the evening to enjoy with your drinks.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is among the nicest places we've ever been - and we travel a lot! This little hotel is such a gem! It has the feel of a throwback to the 50's or 60's but very updated. There is a nice little hotel bar by the pool with a very nice selection and wine and cheese in the afternoon as well as a lovely continental breakfast are served there. There are so many little touches here that make this a special place.

One of the key ingredients here is the staff. Everyone was so very nice and accommodating. I had made a trip to urgent care the day before and was not really feeling my best the day we were there. We stayed one night and checked out late in the morning, planning to have a look around town before leaving that evening. I was so tired and ended up asking if it would be alright for me to take a nap by the pool in the afternoon. They said to make myself at home - and we have checked out already! Very sweet! I can't say enough about this place. It has a very cool vibe, is neater than a pin, spotless and has fantastic people to make sure your stay is the best! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Amex, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.