We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room was very comfortable and right next to the pool. The owners and staff are all very helpful and knowledgable. Kim helped us to arrange our stay admirably. Following her suggestions increased our enjoyment of Key West.
There is a small bar at the side of the pool where a very good breakfast is served. Also nibbles in the evening to enjoy with your drinks.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    183
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
109
905
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is among the nicest places we've ever been - and we travel a lot! This little hotel is such a gem! It has the feel of a throwback to the 50's or 60's but very updated. There is a nice little hotel bar by the pool with a very nice selection and wine and cheese in the afternoon as well as a lovely continental breakfast are served there. There are so many little touches here that make this a special place.

One of the key ingredients here is the staff. Everyone was so very nice and accommodating. I had made a trip to urgent care the day before and was not really feeling my best the day we were there. We stayed one night and checked out late in the morning, planning to have a look around town before leaving that evening. I was so tired and ended up asking if it would be alright for me to take a nap by the pool in the afternoon. They said to make myself at home - and we have checked out already! Very sweet! I can't say enough about this place. It has a very cool vibe, is neater than a pin, spotless and has fantastic people to make sure your stay is the best! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and very much enjoyed it! We had a junior suite which was situated off the main drag of Duval Street. The location was great since there were several restaurants located nearby. The staff was very helpful especially when my husband had to fax an important document. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We happened upon this incredible "motel". Completely refurbished 4 years ago, it harks back to my days as a very young kid traveling with my parents and stopping at motels. The Orchid Key Inn does that memory great justice. The outside is immaculate and beautiful. The room was nothing short of stunning. Located right on Duval St, its a quiet and calm oasis in the midst of crazy old Key West.
The "small" bar by the pool was very well stocked with wonderful wines.
The staff was very warm, friendly, and helpful.
This is a must-see stop. Highly recommend it. We will return to this fantastic "motel".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. Everyone was very friendly and helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat and were spot on in their recommendations.

The breakfast was delicious and Michael makes the best cocktails - I would recommend the mojitos!

The location was great too, on Duval street, but at the quieter end. We would love to return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Key West for the last 4 years now. I stumbled across this Great hotel. From my understanding it wasn't open to long because they newly renovated this property. Great location on the quiter side of Duval Street. Brandon and the entire staff could not be more accomodating and helpful. Rooms were very clean and property very well kept. Able to just park and walk to where ever we wanted. Nice breakfast and happy hour. After a long day of craziness which we enjoyed it was nice to come back just to relax by the pool and hot tub to unwind. This is our only chioce for a hotel destination in Key West. See you next November and many Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just got back from a 4 night getaway with my MOm to Key West. We booked a package through Travelocity for air and hotel. The Orchid Key Inn is a cute little hotel which is more like a bungalow than hotel. They have a small, clean poo and hot tub. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and complementary Happy Hour appetizers. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Brenden. Unfortunately the hotel was pretty booked so we had to share a Queen-size bed but since we booked last minute that was okay for a few days. The rooms have a/c but don't have any fans which I generally prefer but other than that they were small but functional rooms. The friendly staff and atmosphere are what really made our stay so pleasant. The location was ideal...just off Duval street and close to everything

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.