We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. Everyone was very friendly and helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat and were spot on in their recommendations.

The breakfast was delicious and Michael makes the best cocktails - I would recommend the mojitos!

The location was great too, on Duval street, but at the quieter end. We would love to return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,029
    180
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
108
884
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Key West for the last 4 years now. I stumbled across this Great hotel. From my understanding it wasn't open to long because they newly renovated this property. Great location on the quiter side of Duval Street. Brandon and the entire staff could not be more accomodating and helpful. Rooms were very clean and property very well kept. Able to just park and walk to where ever we wanted. Nice breakfast and happy hour. After a long day of craziness which we enjoyed it was nice to come back just to relax by the pool and hot tub to unwind. This is our only chioce for a hotel destination in Key West. See you next November and many Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just got back from a 4 night getaway with my MOm to Key West. We booked a package through Travelocity for air and hotel. The Orchid Key Inn is a cute little hotel which is more like a bungalow than hotel. They have a small, clean poo and hot tub. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and complementary Happy Hour appetizers. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Brenden. Unfortunately the hotel was pretty booked so we had to share a Queen-size bed but since we booked last minute that was okay for a few days. The rooms have a/c but don't have any fans which I generally prefer but other than that they were small but functional rooms. The friendly staff and atmosphere are what really made our stay so pleasant. The location was ideal...just off Duval street and close to everything

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hope, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West, therefore our first trip to Orchid Key Inn. We added a drive down to Key West for a few after a seven day cruise out of Fort Lauderdale. By the second day, we asked if we could stay another day, so we turned our three night stay into a four night stay. We were sad to leave. We were very happy with everything they offer there. The retro feel property with high end fit and finish is beautiful. It's a tiny quaint little property marked by beautiful vintage neon signage. Everything is supremely clean. They take good care of the rooms, pool, grounds and foliage on a daily basis. Relaxing by the pool in sun or shade was easy and carefree. The staff were all excellent and wanting to extend themselves as gracious hosts. We enjoyed Betty in the Orchid Bar daily for cocktail hour. She was fun to chat with. The little bar is great to chat with the locals who come in for Betty's tipples and the other guests from around the world (yes you, Maryland and England). We also enjoyed the lovely breakfast ladies who set up shop in the morning in the bar area. It is a continental breakfast of store bought goodies, but there is lots of it of every type. We fell in love with the toaster french toast and never walked away wanting more. OKI is located right on Duval, but away from the party zone. There is lots to do, see and eat all within walking distance. We are already planning to get back to Key West and OKI in May 2013. We can hardly wait.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Orchid Key Inn definitely lives up to it's rating. My husband and I spent a few days in Key West and were so happy that we chose to stay there. It is far enough away from the craziness of Duval but an easy walk if you choose to join in the fun. The staff was very friendly, the rooms and grounds were immaculate. We wanted for nothing. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had in a long time. We were sorry that we had to leave. It is definately on our come back list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarwood, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Amid the diversions of Duval Street in Key West is this perfect inn. It's immaculate with an attentive staff, pretty pool and beautiful overall design. If you want liveliness, just walk out onto Duval, if you want peace, sit by the pool. Kim and staff truly know the meaning of hospitality - without being intrusive. Do I want to go back? Definitely. It was my first time there and I got to chatting with a couple - it was their 3rd visit to Orchid Key Inn. That's the kind of place it is!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Orchid Key Inn has the look of an old motel but has been completely remodeled. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated with beach feel. Comfortable beds and very quiet for great sleep. The bathroom is all new with a large double head shower that you can remove from the wall. Separate toilet with a door so makes it easy to share. The front room has a comfortable sitting area with a pull out couch, nice bar and fridge to have your own food and drinks.

The bar is modern, yet small and welcoming. Everyday they have a great happy hour where you can get $3 house wine (which is very good) and snacks. The bartenders are friendly and the atmosphere is great. Breakfast with a full spread for breakfast (continental style) and you can enjoy it poolside.

The location is walking distance from most of the night life on Duval Street, not too long a walk but nice to be on the quiet end of town when you want to sleep. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;