We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old style hotel with a new modern look!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Save Saved
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great old style hotel with a new modern look!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Orchid Key Inn has the look of an old motel but has been completely remodeled. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated with beach feel. Comfortable beds and very quiet for great sleep. The bathroom is all new with a large double head shower that you can remove from the wall. Separate toilet with a door so makes it easy to share. The front room has a comfortable sitting area with a pull out couch, nice bar and fridge to have your own food and drinks.

The bar is modern, yet small and welcoming. Everyday they have a great happy hour where you can get $3 house wine (which is very good) and snacks. The bartenders are friendly and the atmosphere is great. Breakfast with a full spread for breakfast (continental style) and you can enjoy it poolside.

The location is walking distance from most of the night life on Duval Street, not too long a walk but nice to be on the quiet end of town when you want to sleep. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    987
    171
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
99
853
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is our third time to Key West and our third time staying at Orchid Key. We are spoiled to the superb service from everyone and feel like we have a group of old friends who really want us to have a memorable vacation. Most nights we were happiest just having Betty's delicious drinks at the pool bar and being entertained with her many stories. The staff, the hotel, the location, and the hospitality(nice breakfast) make it our number one destination in Key West.
Bill and Denise

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here and we LOVED IT! Great location, modern, super clean, great pool, great happy hour, quiet even though its right on Duval! The beds were very comfortable! Very friendly staff! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Orchid Key Inn this past weekend and I must say........it was FABULOUS! The staff was incredible, the hotel was immaculate, the location was perfect, and the overall experience was FIRST rate!! Brandon is exceptional, friendly, funny, and super helpful with recommendations to great restaurants! Betty was also a super friendly and really helped us choose the perfect restaurant for the lobster thermadore I was craving!! We could not have been happier with our choice and we're CERTAIN that we will be back. The attention to detail in the rooms and yummy breakfast in the morning was over the top. The fact that there were makeup removal wipes in the rooms was an indication of the thought they put in to keeping their guests happy! LOVE LOVE LOVE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights after staying in another "Historic Inn" the previous 2 nights, and man what a difference! The level of service and immaculate kept grounds and rooms are an oasis in the tropical heat. With out a doubt we will be back, and not soon enough. The Rooms are neat, modern and very clean. The pool area was small but there are not very many rooms so it was never crowded. If you are looking to for a small quiet hotel in the heart of the happenings of Key West, you wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, close to activity, but also private if desired. Kim, at the front desk, is exceptional, so friendly and a great smile! Betty, in the bar area, a great conversationalist. Jean was a wonderful server during the breakfast .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Terrific little hotel right in the middle of everything! I would have rated the service higher if I could have! Betty at the bar, was friendly and outgoing and very helpful at advising great things to do and see in Key West. Plus, she has a very heavy pour! Kim and Sean at the front desk were amazing with their restaurant recommendations and other sightseeing adventures. They never steered us wrong! We can't wait to return to KW and back to the hotel to visit with the new friends we made at the Orchid Key!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
City Center, Qu...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 41 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 41 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.