We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and a great location, but seemed a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Summer Escape
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Pleasant and a great location, but seemed a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel has a great location at Truman & Duval, although it's quite a long way to the water, which is at each end of Duval. We didn't find it noisy, although I can imagine it could get busy when there's an event going on. It's actually an old motel and although it's been very nicely upgraded and renovated, it still retains it's motel origins with doors which open to the outside. The rooms are fairly small, although not uncomfortably so. The rooms are nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and a large screen TV. The bathroom was large and ours had a spacious walk in shower which was excellent. Plenty of room for two! The pool is small - big enough to get wet, but not to actually swim. Breakfast is served poolside every morning and if all you want is a light continental breakfast, it's fine.
We have no complaints about the hotel, although I think I expected something a little more luxurious. We paid around $200 per night which seemed a little on the high side, although perhaps that's what the Key West market will bear. I would go back again and would recommend the hotel, but I would certainly look elsewhere before making a reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    209
    38
    4
    1
See reviews for
126
1,059
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Could only give it 5 stars, our only complaint was the smokers who camped at the table outside our room and talked loudly until late, but that wasn't the hotel's fault, just inconsiderate guests.
Hotel was peaceful, laid back Key West style, Kim on the front desk was the perfect host and Miss Jean had our favourite coffees ready in the cup as we walked through the door for breakfast, which itself was a great spread for inclusive continental.
Pool was fine, unless you wanted to do Olympic training, but for getting out of the midday heat, it was just great.
Final plaudits were for the room, immaculate and cleaned to the same standard every day and that bed; the mattress was almost as comfortable as our latex one at home.
All-in-all, we had a great stay, would definitely stay at Orchid Key Inn again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location is excellent, right on Duval so close to everything. However it is on a busy corner of Truman/Duval and the street noise for our room (on the Duval end) was terrible, especially during bike weekend! We checked in at 5pm and was told we were the last ones to check in so we got that room. Even after the bikes left it was still loud with talking, scooters, etc. We changed rooms and got next to the laundry so listened to the cleaning staff and washer when in the room. The staff (breakfast, front desk) is outstanding. Nice continental breakfast. Overall not a bad experience but wasn't anything special. The pool is small and uninteresting. The rooms are clean but unremarkable. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the end rooms, especially on Duval.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's been 5 years since we've been back to Key West and decided to go back for our anniversary. Orchid Key was the perfect place. Very clean, quiet, and the staff, especially Kim were so very helpful. Happy hour started at 6:00 and we were there every evening in the quaint small bar or sitting out by the pool. Kim gave us great recommendations for restaurants since there is not one on site (except small continental breakfast in the bar area each morning). Michaels, Blackfin, and 915 were so good with great service at each one. I do not, however, recommend going to Key West after Labor Day because many of the restaurants we wanted to go to were closed until the end of the month. The upside about going there during this time was no kids or teens running around. Which was nice. We were in walking distance to everything, i.e., Hemingway's House, Mallory Square, drug stores, beach, etc. We will be going back to Orchid Key in December. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The king suite has separate bedroom and living area which is great for those who want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place was quiet, calm, had a great bar by the pool, and very nice, attentive staff. It has a great location and everything is within walking distance. The room was clean and just all round great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel was very clean with a very courteous staff. Great location within walking distance of practically everything. Sunset celebration, food , bars, shops, beach are all within a 15min walk. There's a complimentary drink from the bar upon check in, fresh water by the pool, and one of my favorites was they werent so strict on the pool closing and i was able to take a late night swim after a long day/night

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It has been about a month but my wife and I are still in a daze from what a wonderful time we had on our trip to Key West! The food was amazing of course, but what really made the trip was our accommodations!! This is a perfectly located, amazingly renovated, incredibly priced, and wonderfully staffed hotel! We were greeted with smiles and when it was time to leave, they actually seemed genuinely sorry to see us go. The room was so comfortable to the point where we found ourselves wasting part of the day away just relaxing. I guess it could be considered bad that the bed was so comfortable that we almost slept til noon haha! The bathroom was very modern which my wife loved.

We were both so happy with the instant familiarity with which the folks there treated us. We ended up chatting a few hours away at the bar Saturday night with them (and Friday after dinner for that matter).

I can't say enough about the location. Directly on Duval but not enough to keep anyone up with noise. We didn't use the pool but there were definitely folks enjoying that area the whole weekend!

The best part is that the next time we go to Key West, we won't have to go to through the long process of trying to figure out where to stay!

Thank you guys very much, we could not have had a better first Anniversary!

Room Tip: With the blackout curtains I wouldn't worry about too much sunlight, unless you open them of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.