We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, five-star hotel at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice, five-star hotel at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed one night in the Orchid Inn. The room was by the pool, very large, nice and quiet with a luxury feeling. A very friendly staff and a nice breakfast made the stay even more enjoyable, and the location right on Duvall street but still just out of the party zone was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    188
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
112
955
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Between it's location and how clean and friendly the staff is, you cannot go wrong with this hotel. The price is right, the breakfast is fine, and the beer is cold! What else could you want! They do charge an extra $8/day for parking. We did not use the car once in the three days that we were there. No need to. The hotel is within walking distance to almost everything. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although this appears to have been a small motor inn at one time, it is now a luxury hotel with modern rooms and one of the most comfortable beds I have experienced in any of the nicest hotels. Great pool, better breakfast than most, fun little bar, great service at the front desk, and a great location right on Duval. No resort fee and parking right outside your door for a modest fee. I had no idea where to stay when I selected this place and after driving around, I can't imagine choosing any of the other properties. It's not a big resort on the beach, but if you are looking for a great location with luxury touches, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is defenetly the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. You will not feel grossed out by the bathroom or room. To begin, front desk guy not so nice. You will also find out there is a 12% luxury tax and buddy at front desk likes to charge about $150.00 extra for your room "coverage"! So, when you checkout your bill will be lower than what he tried to stick you with. You pay what it is! The place is over priced but it's convinent location and cleanliness is worth it! It's a super cute place. The pool is ok in size. Good ice machine a refrigerator, safe in room, and coffe pot! The bar is way over priced..you can get beer at the Circle-k down the street. The female at the front desk is super friendly and honest. I didn't get a regular room for whatever reason I got a handicap room. Thanks to buddy at front desk. Bathroom is super spacious but the room did not have microwave and cabinet space to place your belongings other than the nightstands..no chairs, no table which the other rooms do have! Big and only complaint is that either the rooms walls are thin or my neighbors were extremely noisy, thank god to the good bed and pillows! Will for sure recommend and stay at again! It's about 10blocks from Mallory square...don't forget your bikes!! Pictures are what you will see! Thank you Orchid Key Inn!!!! July 18th-20th, 2012

Room Tip: Don't stay in the handicap room unless you are, but if staying more than 3 days don't do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I don't know where to start. This place is wonderful. The hotel is situated in a very convenient location. It's close enough to the action of Duval St, yet just far enough away. The rooms are clean and comfortable. All of the staff is very nice and helpful. Kim helped us plan a great snorkel/kayak/sunset boat trip. The bar is quaint but great. Every morning a free continental breakfast is served and every evening is a great happy hour. The pool is quiet and relaxing. My boyfriend and I planned a 3 night Key West/ 2 night South Beach trip. We loved the Orchid Key Inn so much our vacation turned into a 5 night Key West Trip. If and when we return to Key West we will no doubt stay at the Inn every time. Thanks for a great vacation Orchid Key Inn!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very modern redo of older motel. Very friendly and solicitous staff. Cute little air conditioned pool bar. Heated pool and Jacuzzi. Quite and efficient air conditioner units. Well located on south Duval with easy walking to most everything. If you are driving the Orchid Key has its own parking a plus in Key West. When was the last time you had a bathroom scale and robes in your motel room? You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Any room is good, they all face the pool and are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is not that impressive from the outside. But don't let this fool you. The room was very nice and I loved having a fridge and a microwave in the room. The only thing that annoyed me was having to pay to park in the lot. I feel that if we paid to stay in the room, parking should be included and not an extra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 “Best Small Hotels in the United States”— Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.