We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 TripAdvisor Discount
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and we had a great time at the Orchid Key Inn. Great location, close enough to walk to just about everything. As other people have commented, the staff is truly fantastic. Brandon at the front desk was so friendly and Betty and Michael at the bar made guests feel right at home. The cleaning staff was also great.

The free breakfast was the perfect way to start each day, nothing fancy, but just enough. Happy hour was also a nice touch, a free drink and snacks of some sort each day.

Brandon recommended a couple of excursions for us which we enjoyed, a Sunset cruise and a Jet ski tour.

I didn't have issue with the bedding as other people have mentioned, was what I expected for a hotel. The towels were quite nice and were always clean.

The only bad thing I can say is that our room had a weird odor to it that I still smelled when I unpacked at home. I don't know if it is stale smoke from years ago, as the rooms are no smoking, or if it is mold/mildew. It didn't bother me enough to not still strongly recommend this place. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed around the pool..quite peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    204
    38
    4
    1
See reviews for
122
1,015
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Orchid Key Inn on Duval for 3 nights. It is a great location at the corner of Truman and Duval (but not in the noisy part of Duval). It looks like a former 1950's motel that has been updated. The rooms are small but well appointed. Each room has a refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast and happy hour appetizers are included in the room rate, along with free drink coupons. The staff is very friendly and helpful. On the down side, they need to update the bed linens and pillows (not great quality), and it would be nice to have a full length mirror and a small sofa or chair in the room (they do have a bar stool, but that isn't very comfortable to sit on for long periods).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We drove down to the Keys from Fort Lauderdale and were very tired. This was the first place we stopped and they had a room for us without a reservation. Great location off of Duval Street. Parking spaces were smaller and they charge $8.00 day to park for guests. They provide happy hour drink specials and a free glass of wine or beer daily. They have a nice continental breakfast too.
The pool is small but intimate. The rooms are FANTASTIC! Large king beds, small kitchens, and super large showers. They even had bathrobes in the wardrobe. It was quiet and lovely. The staff was great and willing to help you. We intended to stay one night but opted to stay there for two nights. It is not cheap but it is well worth the cost. I suggest reservations as rooms are limited. There is a hot tub.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a reservation, they will try to fit you in. They will check for best rates and disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have been to Key West 3 times and have been lucky enough to stay here 2 of the 3 times. Last time we came down to Key West out plane was really late and landed in Miami after Midnight. We drove down to Key West getting there around 4:30 am. We called the Inn and told Brandon what has happening with out nightmare plane trip and he told us to be careful and gave us a number to call so when we got to the Inn we could call him and he'd come check us in. Always had a nice room and love the service from everyone in the staff. The always make us feel welcome and at home. The Inn is in such a great spot. So close to everything. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel has a wonderful staff at the front desk and at the Orchid Bar. Everyone was friendly and acted like they cared about making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The bathroom finishes were very nice. We stayed in the king suite. It was spacious and comfortable. The bar is charming and the continental breakfast exceeded expectations. We liked the location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had the good fortune of getting the completely updated honeymoon suite, with jacuzzi tub, for our recent late January 2011 stay (we had a "regular" room for our last night). Overall, we really enjoyed the "W" style of Orchid Key Inn in an updated Motel format and loved the staff who helped to make our vacation special with their local knowledge. Be sure to ask for the AAA rate if you are a member.

The Positives: My wife and I really liked the superior, personalized service from Kim, Brandon (both at the front desk) and Betty (who presides over one of the coolest bars in Key West). Kim, Brandon and Betty were great at helping us find non-touristy, local lunch and dinner spots (loved Garbo's Grill, Seven Fishes, Ambrosia, 915, Cafe). Also, they helped arrange bikes (much better than walking the island), Hemingway House, Butterfly Conservatory and a Jet Ski tour (only for the brave). The rooms were updated, "W" hip, clean and very nice, particularly the honeymoon suite. the regular rooms are updated, a bit on the small side but clean. They have a great interior designer who has created a "Key West" cool vibe including special attention to beautiful animal photos on the walls, updated bathrooms with great tile and shower heads. The bar, where Betty rules the roost, has a great updated feel and is our favorite watering hole in Key West (free beer/wine and 50% well drinks for Happy Hour). Don't miss her drink specials. Even some nice locals drink here.

Areas for Improvement (Management is aware of these problems and is in the process of addressing many of these issues): Pillows are lumpy and the sheets are rough (pilled). The pillows were being ordered and the sheets need to be replaced. The bed cover is very heavy and has to be removed but without it, you are cold by the morning (we used our bathrobes as blankets). The AC is either too cold ot too warm (ask Kim for an AC lesson). The TV reception is very spotty (not a big deal). Breakfast was OK (cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt) but they need stronger coffee (we had to walk to Starbucks which is 10 blocks north or Cuban Coffee which is 7 blocks away) and perhaps offer an added omelette/scrambled egg service for a small up charge. All these issues are easily fixed and are a minor inconvenience and should not steer you away from this great hotel.

Room Tip: Kim and Brandon will get you the best room for your needs, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place has everything you could want in Key West or anywhere else. Beautiful rooms surrounding a small exquisite pool area, real quality furnishings in a beautifully kept property . Nice touch with free wifi and free happy hour drink. Nice continental breakfast and great welcome and restaurant advice from Kim. Being on Duval it is just a short walk straight down to Mallory square and the harbour with its many restaurants. See my review of Alonzo's restaurant - a recommendation from Kim. I should have stayed longer it was fabulous.

Room Tip: The rooms round the pool are great, don't know if they cost more but I would definitely specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.