We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little boutique motel in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orchid Key Inn to your Saves list
Orchid Key Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Summer Escape
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The best little boutique motel in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Consistently the No.1 Hotel on Trip Advisor. Having stayed there for 6 nights we can see why this privately owned motel has earned .
The rooms are immaculately renovated, quality Egyptian cotton sheets, high end fixtures and fittings. Bathrooms are stunning.
Breakfasts are simple, freshly prepared and very tasty.
Staff are helpful, courteous and meticulous in keeping the place spotlessly clean. (Thanks Brandon, Kim et al).
We will stay there again. The only downside is that this is now the benchmark against which we will judge all other hotels we stay at.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    208
    39
    4
    1
See reviews for
128
1,069
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I'm a frequent visitor to Key West, but selected the Orchid Key because of the great reviews. The location is great, just to the "beginning" of the quiet side of Key West (altho make sure your room is not on the street side.) The place is an old 60's motel that was completely done over, but maintained the retro feel. Beautiful pool, jacuzzi, the rooms are well appointed, great bathroom/shower. The happy hour is thrown in as an extra, but only entitles you beer and wine. Mostly, the wine was barely drinkable, and I am not fussy. But, who says they need to give anything away? Other drinks are not happy hour discounted and they are pricey. ..some of the drinks are very unique..had one that was wonderful at the end of our stay. They really should have one of their "specials" discounted for happy hour. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. BYW this is a GREAT value for Old Key West..beachfronts like Southernmost are fabulous but cost hundreds more per night.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The service from the staff was amazing! They were extremely friendly and helped us book dinner/activity reservations. The room was perfect for our stay - not huge, but beautifully modern and the bathroom was gorgeous! My boyfriend and I loved the large shower (that fit two.) Loved the pool and hot tub area. Because this is a smaller hotel is was never crowded at the pool or by the bar. The bartenders was GREAT - we had some tasty (and strong) custom cocktails. The hotel was right on Duval and we could walk EVERYWHERE from here. Overall - super clean and well worth the price. Great deal!

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed at the Orchid Key with 8 other people in November 2010 and was impressed with the service, cleanliness, and atmosphere at this very cute inn. When I go back to Key West, I will stay there again. No bed bugs. Only surprise: we did not know about the wild chickens that roam all over Key West and I am afraid everyone in this town is awakened by the roosters around 6am. There was one "singing" just outside my room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

A small newly renovated motel in a wonderfully convenient location on Duval Street. Walk to everything. Clean rooms open onto the pool/hot tub/patio area where you can eat the included continental breakfast. The rooms are small but adequate. Included: Microwave, refrigerator, safe, ironing board, hair dryer, wonderful linens. The only thing lacking is a chair or two in the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Returned to the Orchid Key Inn once again, had to work with my dates as they are extremely booked during this time of the year. Couldn't have been any better. While we were there they were updating their landscaping but did it with the least disturbance to the guest. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Love the hotel. We were next to the pool area behind the office & away from street noise. Extemely quiet, be sure to stay next to pool area. Nice complimentary breakfast served poolside at your leisure each morning. Very courteous staff, I could talk to them like friends. Large plasma TV mounted on wall. Comfortable bed. If you have never stayed in KW before, don't expect a huge room, this was cozy with a nice bathroom with walk in shower, No tub, but did have a jacuzzi in pool area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.