We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located in the historic centre of Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island City House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Island City House Hotel to your Saves list
Island City House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   411 William St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Perfectly located in the historic centre of Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just what we needed considering we have a two year old boy - we stayed at the Cigar house room 11 which has a super comfortable bed (I think Queen size), as well as fully equipped kitchen and living room which allowed us to do our own meals and cycle most of the day to discover Key West marina area, Duval Street, Butterfly conservatory, aquarium, Hemingway's house, Fort Zachary Taylor historic state park and so forth... Further more the grounds of the hotel are delightful with tropical gardens and the front desk staff is super friendly and helpful - thanks for all the tips Lynn!!
Excellent places to have breakfast as the old town bakery and upscale restaurants such as Azur only two blocks away. There is no private parking on the hotel grounds if you arrive by car but very easy to find non resident parking places around the hotel...The ICH is an excellent choice to discover Key West as it is superbly well located in the historic centre and you can either walk or cycle all over the place and then either go out at night, eat in or simply enjoy a superb night sleep in your quiet accommodation - at least this was the case for our room 11!

Room Tip: Cigar house rooms facing the pool seem to be quieter as they are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    92
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
51
222
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was not our first time staying there. It is still has well maintained gardensand old houses redone to make suites. They no longer serve continental breakfast in the garden. They leave a few snacks in the room instead. Kitchenette is well equipped so you can make your own breakfast or walk a few blocks to cafés and bakeries. Room was large with seperate sitting room and 2 flat screen tvs. We enjoyed the grounds and the location so we'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor of the cigar house. It faced the pool and porch had chairs and a ham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went back to The Island City House for a second visit and loved it just as much as the first time. My fiancé and I booked a queen studio and were surprised to learn we were upgraded to a king suite in the cigar house. The suite was amazing with a full kitchen, living room and balcony looking over the pool, it even had a comfy hammock. The hotel has an old key west feel but all the property is perfectly restored and has a modern kitchen and features in the room. My last visit I stayed in a two bedroom suite with another couple in the island city house and it lived up to the same standards. Absolutely love the grounds of this hotel. It's like walking in a private paradise yet you're so close to Duval Street where all the action is. Every staff member I've encountered at the hotel is exceptionally helpful and even the cats living on the property are friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Key West as I think many could enjoy this hotel including couples, families, groups, etc. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor to come to the conclusion to book this property. We stayed December 18-20. We drove five hours from Marco Island. I had originally booked a studio in the Arch House. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Gaines in the office. He had our reservation right in front of him. He advised us we could upgrade at no additional cost to a one bedroom with a full kitchen. At check in we were given a voucher for the Old Town Bakery for a complimentary coffee and croissant for the two of us. We completed check in and were escorted to our room located in the Cigar House. We were on the top floor with a private balcony (Room 12). Such a romantic room. Could not have asked for a better location. The room has a complete view of the pool. There were snacks waiting for us in the kitchen. We put away our groceries we purchased on the way down.
After settling in we walked a short distance to Duval. We spent the evening walking up to Mallory Square for the sunset and stopped at a few of the famous joints on the way back.
Housekeeping was fantastic. We spent the next day exploring Key West. We went to the Southernmost Point and spent the day in the sun at the Fort Zachary Taylor State Park. Paid a small entry fee. Brought our lunch and enjoyed our afternoon there.
We left the next morning after stopping at the Old Town Bakery for the best coffee and croissant I have ever had.
We fell in love with the Island City House Hotel. So much so we would not think of going anywhere else.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Island City House is located is a quiet neighborhood about 3 blocks from Duval. The property itself has a very tropical feeling with flora and fauna and cute pathways to the multiple lodging options. We stayed the week of New Years in a King one bedroom suite in the cigar house overlooking the pool. The entire stay was wonderful, friendly staff, immaculately clean and very relaxing. Many great restaurants within walking distance. Absolutely would return again and again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Island City House in November 2013, renting 2 rooms with our whole family including 3 small children. The property is a little slice of paradise and the stay could not have been any better! As soon as you get there you feel like you are staying in a true iconic Key West home, which has been beautifully updated and kept to the highest standard.

Gaines at the front desk helped get us situated and acclimated to all the great restaurants around us. The paint was fresh, the plants were lush and tropical, the pool was so refreshing, and the rooms were luxurious. We had 2 rooms on the 3rd floor of the main house, very comfortable with all the amenities of home including a full kitchen, sleeper sofa, detached bedroom, TVs, internet. At sunset we went up to the rooftop deck and had a great time.

The best part is you are within walking distance of everything worth seeing. Duval and all of the best restaurants were never more than a 10-15 min walk. You never need to use your car til you're ready to leave again! All in all a fantastic time in a gem of a property, a place we look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Fabulous small hotel with great character and very friendly and welcoming staff.

We spent 9 days in the main building prior to Christmas 2013 and loved every minute of it. We had a spacious suite and massive porch with comfy sofas. Our bed was only queen - you need to be in the cigar house to get a king, I believe. This was because our bedroom was not overly large but it wasn't really a problem. We had cooling ceiling fans in the bedroom, kitchen and lounge as well as decent AC.

Rico/Rigo(?) - the delightful maintenance man - takes great pride in all that he does and is clearly a treasure. There must be a huge amount of work involved in keeping such an old property looking so smart. He loves the buildings and treats them with care.

It is a shame that they are no longer allowed to serve breakfast (new regulations about industrial kitchens) but we fell into an easy routine of making our own coffee in our kitchen and nipping out on the bike to nearby Fausto's supermarket (we pre-ordered) to get fresh bagels each morning. We then sat and breakfasted on our lovely porch. They do provide snacky breakfast supplies but these didn't really appeal to us.

We rented bikes from the hotel and rode everywhere - so lovely to ditch the car!

The hotel is extremely well located - quiet enough but very easy access to everywhere you could want to go. On our last night, a rather noisy group arrived and were drinking and chatting on the porch below which could have proved a problem if this had gone on throughout our holiday. Luckily it was just one night and they went to bed by 11.

The pool was very quiet and lovely - we swam and lazed around on a couple of days.

The wifi was rather feeble and we had to sit close to the office to get a signal - maybe this will be improved in the future as it was a little inconvenient.

Favourite restaurants:
Blue Heaven
Cafe Sole
Salute
Only Wood (AMAZING pizzas)
Paseo (for their corn)

We have been to KW several times and love it. We flew on BA via Miami and found the price for the onward flight from Miami to Key West (booked with BA but airline was American Eagle) made a price difference of just £1! Well worth looking at this route if you are travelling from the UK.

We will be back next year and will stay at ICH, despite trying various other hotels in the past.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the options in the three different buildings and choose according to your needs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island City House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island City House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Key West suite accommodations at The Island City House Hotel are comprised of three buildings, each with its own style and unique character. The Arch House features six suites furnished in a casual Caribbean Style. The two suites on the first floor are two-bedroom suites. These suites have two separate bedrooms each with one queen-sized bed, a living/dining room with a kitchen, one bathroom, and a small porch. The studio-suites on the second floor of the Arch House have one queen-sized bed in an alcove, a sitting area with a kitchenette, and either a street-side balcony with a porch swing or a garden view balcony with a hammock. The Island City House is the main building on our property housing twelve parlor suites, ten one-bedroom suites, and two two-bedroom suites. These suites are furnished in an island Victorian style with lace curtains and many antique pieces. The two bedroom suites have two separate bedrooms, one with a king bed, the other with a queen bed, a living/dining room with a full kitchen, one bathroom and a large porch. The ten parlor suites have one queen-size bed and a separate sitting area with a kitchen. Many of these suites also have a sleeper sofa (for children or a third adult) or a porch overlooking the gardens. The Cigar House, our poolside building, is the home of our six largest one-bedroom suites. All of these suites are decorated in a tropical plantation style. The first and second floor suites have a king-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and a hammock on the poolside porch or balcony. The two suites tucked away on the third floor have a queen-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and an open balcony overlooking the pool and Infrared Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island City House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.