We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island City House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island City House Hotel to your Saves list
Island City House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   411 William St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First I hesitate to write this review because we found our new to go place and I didn't want to have this place become unattainable. But with this economy I had to give the owners the accolades they deserve. We only stayed for three nights but it blew away our expectations. Our plane was delayed but with a quick phone call they had everything waiting for us when we arrived...no stress. Breakfast was plentiful with trays allowing you to take food to your balcony to enjoy or eat in the beautiful courtyard. Bikes available onsite with just a quick stop in the office and you are on your way...easy. A great deli up the road (Old Town Bakery) letting you grab something to bring back and enjoy on the porch swing with a glass of wine...perfection. Even the people staying at this B&B were friendly and everyone we met have come back year after year. Downtown is just a couple of blocks away but at night it is quiet. We stayed on the second story overlooking the street and we loved it being able to people watch from the balcony. The parking could be an issue but we fly into Key West and taxi in. All of Key West is a parking nightmare we drove into Key West one year and have never done it again it just added stress we don't need.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arch House on the second floor street side. This allowed privacy from the street l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    99
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
57
235
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

So often the pictures provided on the websites do no represent the actual way a place looks. This was not the case with Island City House! The grounds are just as beautiful in person! My husband and I spent 10 days in late September 2012. We stayed in the Cigar House #12. What a beautiful suite- fully equipped! Was very close to all the action on Duval but far enough away to feel like you we're at your own oasis. We would definitely stay at ICH again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here four nights over Thanksgiving. We drew number 11 on the third floor overlooking the pool. A nicely appointed suite with living room/kitchenette and small private balcony. Very comfortable and very private. The overall property is well kept and pleasing to the eye and spirit. Good value. Can't beat the location if you want to stay in town. The only disappointment was the cart continental breakfast--ok but nothing to look forward to. But then this not a hotel. We'd be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at the Island City House Hotel in Key West In November during the power boat races. The hotel is clean at not very far from Duval Street. Took us about 15 minutes to walk there to watch the races. The grounds are very pretty and the staff is very friendly. The only problem is the parking, we had to find a spot on the street and not leave it during our stay or someone else would take it. I guess that is a common problem in Key West, the parking. We still had a nice visit to this hotel. It also had a full kitchen and sittingroom and a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with an outside balcony. We did not know that the room we had did not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in Mid-November (we usually stay on Duval) with a bunch of friends celebrating a 40th birthday! Great place - very clean with an island feel. Gardens, balconies, pool - all immaculate. This is not a place to come and party. It's a place to relax after the party or just plain relax. It's about 4 short blocks to Duval and a couple blocks from Schooners Wharf. Staff was exceptionally friiendly and accomadating. Nice size suites. Will definetly stay here again next time we are in Key West. Just a note that there is apparently an Island House also in Key West. Make sure you emphasize to your cab driver the Island City House. There is apparently a major difference between the 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in unit #11, top floor of the cigar house overlooking the pool. This is a queen suite with a full kitchen and a private balcony. We both really liked this place, the staff was friendly and professional, the suite was well appointed, had a flatscreen in the BR and one in the living area, had granite counter tops and stainlenn kitchen appliances, full fridge, full stove, coffee maker and dishwasher! Their were ceiling fans and AC and the bed was comfortable. The place had top of the line anderson windows and doors so it was well insulated and quiet. Nice private balcony off the living area which overlooks the pool. The room did not have an iPod dock or safe. The breakfast was down in the common area with coffee, juice, pastries, etc.

Room Tip: The queen suites in the cigar house have a genuine private balcony, most others have a shared "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Wedding planner recommed this B&B as the best on the Island. We go there are were given a third floor room.

No Provision for Handicapped access. No concern that they guest was not able to climb 3 flights of stairs.

All this an NO Handicapped parking. Actually NO PARKING AT ALL

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyKelley, Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate these guests. We were not informed that they required a handicapped accessible room, and the one we have was occupied at the time. As a small historic property, we have done our best to accommodate handicapped guests by adding ramps, widening walkways, etc. We also are very clear on our website and confirmation letters that all parking, handicapped or not, is on the street. Unfortunately, providing a parking lot was not contemplated when the hotel was built in the late 1800's. We realize that this may mean that we are not a perfect fit for all potential guests, and if you have any requirements or questions, we strongly encourage you to call and discuss your needs with the front desk staff before making a reservation. It is our utmost desire that all our guests are happy with their stay with us and their experience in Key West. Our sincerest apologies to Thomas C. and we hope that he was able to find a hotel that suited his needs and that he enjoyed his time in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress House Key West
Cypress House Key West
#13 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#26 of 92 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#11 of 92 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#22 of 92 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island City House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island City House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Key West suite accommodations at The Island City House Hotel are comprised of three buildings, each with its own style and unique character. The Arch House features six suites furnished in a casual Caribbean Style. The two suites on the first floor are two-bedroom suites. These suites have two separate bedrooms each with one queen-sized bed, a living/dining room with a kitchen, one bathroom, and a small porch. The studio-suites on the second floor of the Arch House have one queen-sized bed in an alcove, a sitting area with a kitchenette, and either a street-side balcony with a porch swing or a garden view balcony with a hammock. The Island City House is the main building on our property housing twelve parlor suites, ten one-bedroom suites, and two two-bedroom suites. These suites are furnished in an island Victorian style with lace curtains and many antique pieces. The two bedroom suites have two separate bedrooms, one with a king bed, the other with a queen bed, a living/dining room with a full kitchen, one bathroom and a large porch. The ten parlor suites have one queen-size bed and a separate sitting area with a kitchen. Many of these suites also have a sleeper sofa (for children or a third adult) or a porch overlooking the gardens. The Cigar House, our poolside building, is the home of our six largest one-bedroom suites. All of these suites are decorated in a tropical plantation style. The first and second floor suites have a king-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and a hammock on the poolside porch or balcony. The two suites tucked away on the third floor have a queen-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and an open balcony overlooking the pool and Infrared Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island City House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.