We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island City House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Island City House Hotel to your Saves list
Island City House Hotel
411 William St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 96 Key West B&B and Inns
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at the Island City House Hotel in Key West In November during the power boat races. The hotel is clean at not very far from Duval Street. Took us about 15 minutes to walk there to watch the races. The grounds are very pretty and the staff is very friendly. The only problem is the parking, we had to find a spot on the street and not leave it during our stay or someone else would take it. I guess that is a common problem in Key West, the parking. We still had a nice visit to this hotel. It also had a full kitchen and sittingroom and a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with an outside balcony. We did not know that the room we had did not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    84
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
201
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in Mid-November (we usually stay on Duval) with a bunch of friends celebrating a 40th birthday! Great place - very clean with an island feel. Gardens, balconies, pool - all immaculate. This is not a place to come and party. It's a place to relax after the party or just plain relax. It's about 4 short blocks to Duval and a couple blocks from Schooners Wharf. Staff was exceptionally friiendly and accomadating. Nice size suites. Will definetly stay here again next time we are in Key West. Just a note that there is apparently an Island House also in Key West. Make sure you emphasize to your cab driver the Island City House. There is apparently a major difference between the 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in unit #11, top floor of the cigar house overlooking the pool. This is a queen suite with a full kitchen and a private balcony. We both really liked this place, the staff was friendly and professional, the suite was well appointed, had a flatscreen in the BR and one in the living area, had granite counter tops and stainlenn kitchen appliances, full fridge, full stove, coffee maker and dishwasher! Their were ceiling fans and AC and the bed was comfortable. The place had top of the line anderson windows and doors so it was well insulated and quiet. Nice private balcony off the living area which overlooks the pool. The room did not have an iPod dock or safe. The breakfast was down in the common area with coffee, juice, pastries, etc.

Room Tip: The queen suites in the cigar house have a genuine private balcony, most others have a shared "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Wedding planner recommed this B&B as the best on the Island. We go there are were given a third floor room.

No Provision for Handicapped access. No concern that they guest was not able to climb 3 flights of stairs.

All this an NO Handicapped parking. Actually NO PARKING AT ALL

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyKelley, Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate these guests. We were not informed that they required a handicapped accessible room, and the one we have was occupied at the time. As a small historic property, we have done our best to accommodate handicapped guests by adding ramps, widening walkways, etc. We also are very clear on our website and confirmation letters that all parking, handicapped or not, is on the street. Unfortunately, providing a parking lot was not contemplated when the hotel was built in the late 1800's. We realize that this may mean that we are not a perfect fit for all potential guests, and if you have any requirements or questions, we strongly encourage you to call and discuss your needs with the front desk staff before making a reservation. It is our utmost desire that all our guests are happy with their stay with us and their experience in Key West. Our sincerest apologies to Thomas C. and we hope that he was able to find a hotel that suited his needs and that he enjoyed his time in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked this lodging after reading the favorable reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed.We stayed in a queen suite in the Island City House building for 3 nights in early November. Our room was #16 on the ground floor at the back end of the building, far away from both William and Eaton St. The room was very near where the continental breakfast was served, but that did not bother us.
We had a huge private porch with wicker furniture. The suite itself was beautiful and immaculately clean - high ceilings, crown molding, wood floors. The original charm has been maintained, but with modern conveniences like a flat a screen TV and air conditioning. We didn't cook, but there was a full size refrigerator, range, microwave and coffeemaker. There were some utensils, dishware and pots and pans, but I don't know how easy it would be to cook a very elaborate meal.
We had very quiet upstairs neighbors, but that might not always be the case, because of the wood floors. After all, the house was built in 1880.
There was plenty of street parking on William during our visit. We walked everywhere and did not move our car until our departure.
As others have said, the continental breakfast was fine. There are bicycles for rent and a pool.
The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there are a few resident cats who greet you now and then.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for lodging that is convenient, clean, reasonably priced, beautiful, and that provides a more authentic Key West experience, we would highly recommend Island City House Hotel.

Room Tip: Call when making a reservation and the staff will help you select a room that best fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came in from Ft.Myers on the Key West Express with another couple. Island City House was within walking distance of the boat. Great location. Close enough to walk to all the action but far enough away for a peacful nights sleep. One bedroom king suite was amazing. Old world island charm with just the right updates. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We were able to leave our luggage in the lobby to enjoy touring Key West until our boat departed at 6 PM. Will tell friends and family and will rebook on our next visit for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the ground floor two bedroom suite in the Island City House building during august. What a nice surprise this lushly landscaped guest house was. The suite we had (and your experience may vary depending on the building you have) was quiet and had a large veranda looking out onto william st. The Arch house is closer to eaton st and has more traffic noise. Have not stayed in the cigar house building but its close to the pool. Bedrooms in island house very clean and tastefully decorated with rich wood post or sleigh bed. Kitchen modern and clean. Decent if somewhat pedestrian breakfast food on cart in courtyard (yogurt, fruit, bagels, coffee etc). Some creaks and squeaks from the wood floors both from upstairs and our own floor but not too bad. Did hear loud snoring from the room next to us one night, thought the guy had sleep apnea and was gonna stop breathing at one point.

It is not "two blocks off of duval" as a previous reviewer stated. It is however, easy walking distance to everything in Old Town. Bike are available to rent on site. Staff super friendly. You can leave your luggage in the office if you are waiting for the ferry. Parking on street next to buildings might be tough but if you wait it out a spot will eventiually come open.

Highly recommend this hotel. Don't expect room service. Many KW restaurant deliver (Finnegans is right around the corner for example) Also, tThere is a seafood market right at the corner of eaton and william if you want to cook in one night (or at least get the crab/artichoke dip for a snack).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island City House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex encompassing Island City House, a Victorian-era Mansion, Arch House, an 1880s Carriage House & Cigar House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island City House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.