We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island City House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Island City House Hotel to your Saves list
Island City House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   411 William St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Orinda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked this lodging after reading the favorable reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed.We stayed in a queen suite in the Island City House building for 3 nights in early November. Our room was #16 on the ground floor at the back end of the building, far away from both William and Eaton St. The room was very near where the continental breakfast was served, but that did not bother us.
We had a huge private porch with wicker furniture. The suite itself was beautiful and immaculately clean - high ceilings, crown molding, wood floors. The original charm has been maintained, but with modern conveniences like a flat a screen TV and air conditioning. We didn't cook, but there was a full size refrigerator, range, microwave and coffeemaker. There were some utensils, dishware and pots and pans, but I don't know how easy it would be to cook a very elaborate meal.
We had very quiet upstairs neighbors, but that might not always be the case, because of the wood floors. After all, the house was built in 1880.
There was plenty of street parking on William during our visit. We walked everywhere and did not move our car until our departure.
As others have said, the continental breakfast was fine. There are bicycles for rent and a pool.
The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there are a few resident cats who greet you now and then.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for lodging that is convenient, clean, reasonably priced, beautiful, and that provides a more authentic Key West experience, we would highly recommend Island City House Hotel.

Room Tip: Call when making a reservation and the staff will help you select a room that best fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    85
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
204
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came in from Ft.Myers on the Key West Express with another couple. Island City House was within walking distance of the boat. Great location. Close enough to walk to all the action but far enough away for a peacful nights sleep. One bedroom king suite was amazing. Old world island charm with just the right updates. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We were able to leave our luggage in the lobby to enjoy touring Key West until our boat departed at 6 PM. Will tell friends and family and will rebook on our next visit for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the ground floor two bedroom suite in the Island City House building during august. What a nice surprise this lushly landscaped guest house was. The suite we had (and your experience may vary depending on the building you have) was quiet and had a large veranda looking out onto william st. The Arch house is closer to eaton st and has more traffic noise. Have not stayed in the cigar house building but its close to the pool. Bedrooms in island house very clean and tastefully decorated with rich wood post or sleigh bed. Kitchen modern and clean. Decent if somewhat pedestrian breakfast food on cart in courtyard (yogurt, fruit, bagels, coffee etc). Some creaks and squeaks from the wood floors both from upstairs and our own floor but not too bad. Did hear loud snoring from the room next to us one night, thought the guy had sleep apnea and was gonna stop breathing at one point.

It is not "two blocks off of duval" as a previous reviewer stated. It is however, easy walking distance to everything in Old Town. Bike are available to rent on site. Staff super friendly. You can leave your luggage in the office if you are waiting for the ferry. Parking on street next to buildings might be tough but if you wait it out a spot will eventiually come open.

Highly recommend this hotel. Don't expect room service. Many KW restaurant deliver (Finnegans is right around the corner for example) Also, tThere is a seafood market right at the corner of eaton and william if you want to cook in one night (or at least get the crab/artichoke dip for a snack).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed there with my boyfriend and we loved it! We had a queen bedroom suite that was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped. We felt right at home, we had cable, wi-fi and not to mention the location was awesome. Within walking distance to Duval which was perfect because the parking was the only bad thing about this hotel. You have to find parking alongside the street if you don't want to park 3 blocks away for $10 per day. We were lucky to find a spot across the street from the hotel, so we parked and walked everywhere. We would definitely go back and recommend this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Like many have said before me, the location was superb! It was like a mini-tropical oasis in the middle of the chaotic historical district (Old Town) of Key West. The service was top notch. The pool was refreshing at the end of a long hot day of sightseeing. It was centrally located to everything you would want to do in Key West. The rooms had a vintage style to them while not feeling too antiquated with amenities. Parking was a very big issue if you drive. However, parking in Key West is an issue in itself. I would recommend finding a decent parking space on the street within a couple of block, lock the car and never come back to it until you are ready to checkout. The hotel has on-site bike rental and this is probably the best mode of transportation for Key West. The complimentary continental breakfast is just that. Don’t expect anything fancy, a few muffins, beagles, pastries, fruit and cereal. In all, a good start that will give you enough energy to reach a nearby restaurant if you fancy a feast for breakfast. The worst part of the hotel was having to leave it and return to our normal lives. I would definitely recommend the Island City House Hotel to anyone traveling to Key West.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, MS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

WOW!! We were lucky enough to get the Archer House during a recent stay. The home came with everything you needed minus food. The grounds are very well kept up, the pool is nice and clean and the breakfast was just right. They are located 2 blocks off from Duvall Street. It is also located on the most haunted street in Key West. It is also located within walking distance of the best restaurant in Key West, Conch Republic Seafood. You will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: all room are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent our third weekend at Island City House. As I have said before, this is a great place to stay. They lived up to our expectations yet again. Do yourself a favor and book a room on your next trip to Key West.

Thanks again for allowing us to keep our luggage on the property until we boarded the ferry back to Fort Myers!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island City House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island City House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex encompassing Island City House, a Victorian-era Mansion, Arch House, an 1880s Carriage House & Cigar House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island City House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.