We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel to your Saves list
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
marseille
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GO !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stayed in that hotel for a week not a long ago, and one thing i can say it's that the people from the place are pure jewels ! I lost my credit card somewhere in the Keys, and as a french guy, hadn't a lot of insurance... I can't tell how nice was the owners, with me. They helped me A LOT, and was always there if i needed to (phone, advices, etc.). So, just for that, 5 stars for the place ! It's also pretty close to everything in the city, and always nice young people are around (thanks to the public space). For the rest, it's a hostel, not better, not worst. And a pretty good one if you are thinking about the other prices inside/outside the town ! So. GO !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    40
    34
    66
See reviews for
14
39
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed there for two nights in a private room. The room was OK for a hostel, it had a working A/C and a hot shower - even though I had to share it with some roaches, but they went away as soon as I turned on the light.

The hostel itself is worth the stay - they say they don't allow alcohol in the yard, but tolerate it if you drink it from cups. I met some really cool people there and had a lot of fun in Key West.

Be prepared to meet some crazy folks there - when I was there Crazy Carl (I don't know why people call me that) was one of the crazier, scarier people - he drank Coffee from Beer Steins and talked a lot of nonsense - but it was entertaining.

I think it's the only Hostel on Key West, so you don't have much of a choice - but for that it's really OK, I would go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The place can be rather loud at night with people drinking in the courtyard. This is especially bothersome after 2 am when I like to sleep. I am happy with the friendly staff and the accommodations are decent considering it's a hostel. The private rooms are much more comfortable and the ones outside the courtyard are much quieter. Don't expect your food to remain in the refrigerator as people take what they want whether it is theirs or not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godawgs32189
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

we stayed for 4 nights in the apartment (#12) and loved it!!!
no living ares but the bedroom was spacious enough for the 2 full beds that were there, an extra full size air mattress, and the twin mattress that they provide.
the courtyard was a great place to hang out, the other guests were all very nice. and there were places to plug in laptops under the little pavilion. the outdoor kitchen in the courtyard seemed useful, although we didn't have to use it because of the kitchen in the apartment. They aren't as strict on alcohol as they claim to be, there were people drinking beer in the courtyard.
this place was well worth the cost (which was not much). the location is great, but there are cheaper places to rent bikes than from the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

A buddy and I stayed here for 3 nights and will be coming back again. I read all the reviews and they are mostly exaggerated by mad people. I have been around the world and this place is towards the top of my "cheap" places to stay. The rooms are very clean, and we stayed in room #5 which was in the inside part of the motel where the pop machines and the shared kitchen is. Met lots of nice people and shared stories with all. The staff is sometimes not persent, but they have alot to do by themselves. One of the desk clerks named Michael was very nice and helpful. So over all if you are a prissy yuppy and what everything covered in gold then this place is not for you. But if you want a nice place to stay and not spend alot doing it this is right up your alley. SlowRiders R/C..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

looking for a cheap place for a short overnight on a quick trip to shoot photographers of the keys. I would have been better off staying at the Days Inn at the entrance of town, $99 or the 40 or 45 I paid for this awful bunk room that is not supervised. GUests hog the beds, snore, the bathroom is dirty with cock roaches. Im pretty easy and seep in a van when i need to, would not go back, left at 4am.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

This place isn't fancy, but it is clean and fit my purposes just fine. I was traveling alone for just one night and needed nothing more than a place to sleep and keep my stuff. Location is good and the price is lowest I could find on the island. It has a nice little courtyard area with an outdoor kitchen and is in a quiet neighborhood. I was the only person staying in the dorm room and it was a Friday night. Maybe it is just the off-season? FYI- they aren't kidding when they say bring your own toiletries. The bathroom didn't even have hand soap or paper towels. The guy working that day was really nice and helpful (and cute...).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.