We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Save Saved
You added Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I know it's the only hostel in town but it's superexpensive for what it is.. It's the most basic hostel i've ever stayed in!! I would rather pay a little bit extra than stay here.. The rooms look like in the military and the bulgarian guy who's in charge of the hostel is just helpful when you're checking in, other than that he's not happy to help you at all..

There's no common area inside, it's all outside and the kitchen is not very clean. No breakfast what so ever even if it costs 44 dollars minimum to stay here!!! And it costs FIVE dollars to just rent a towel!

I would never stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    29
    25
    44
See reviews for
10
26
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had a great trip in Key West. the service is good, location is good, and the price is the cheapest one in Key West. And i made a lot of friend there. this hostel is definitely a good choice to live.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is very unfortunate that this is the only youth hostel in the key west (June 2012). When I walked in the male dorm I was very disappointed and actually wondered whether I was still in the US. Here are some of the problems:

1) The bunks were old made of wood and some were broken. Two of them were in this nasty old nook, which thankfully I didn't have to sleep on.

2) Expensive (around 40 a night) which in my opinion is not worth it. I've found way better places for around $20 a night.

3) Really dirty bathroom and when it rained it leaked so the entire floor was wet.

4) Beware of the pictures which were taken when the hostel was in its heyday. I don't think it's been renovated in a looong time. However I heard that they "might" renovate.

Sad to say, I could only last a night and since I couldn't get a refund I moved to a motel room ($100+ a night) which was decent, but again not even worth $100.

On the positive the location is nice, they have free parking and the staff was nice. However, in all honestly I would not recommend this place unless you have no other option. It is very unfortunate that this is the only hostel in key west so you kind of have no choice. Good luck if you choose to stay here.....

Room Tip: Hostel rooms aren't the best. Find a buddy and try opt for a motel room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I was forced to stay there, because I've got stuck on Key West. Russian girl on the front desk was quite helpful, but the rest was awful. She offered me a private room for !$65! or dorm for !! $45 !! I took dorm, because private would be nearly the same price as hotels around. So I paid and what I've got? Dirty room, everything looked like from old Soviet union, half-functional toilet and when I asked about towel, she wanted another $5 for it. There are security lockers in the backyard for one buck per 24h but they are smelly inside. Kitchen is a kind of open air space and I saw there a rat, twice. So overall, it was terrible experience, which was little bit more acceptable because of location- it is few blocks from southernmost point and duval street. But still, this is a NO-NO for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ended up paying roughly $35 p/n for a three bed motel room. For the price, the room was very decent. Two double beds, own bathroom and communal kitchen to use. Good location - five minutes walk away from the beach. Only downside was the location to the airport/grey hound bus station. Buses don't really operate in Key West so we had to get a taxi. Staff weren't very helpful either and rarely seemed to be in the office.
Would make sure to keep your door locked and take your valuables with you as the area was debatable - but apart from that, I would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I am a frequent hosteller so I have a tolerance for the differences between hotels and hostel accommodations. That said, my hopes were high for Seashell - amazing location blocks from Duval St. and the Southernmost marker. At check-in, I was surprised when my total for a one-night stay came to $122.83! The posted room rate was $89.00. I didn't protest, after a seven hour drive - my three children and I were too exhausted to put up much fight.

The room smelled like a port-a-potty, the shower was filthy and mildewed, the ac unit leaked inside and was duct taped together. The beds were painful, two of my kids slept on the ceramic floor instead of the bed and said it was more comfortable that way.

I helped the kids find the bright side of things by taking them down to Duval St. for people watching and gallery browsing.

We survived the night, but are holding out hope that a new owner and new management will save this place and spend a few dollars improving and cleaning things up. Shame.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

BRIEF: DO NOT GO HERE - WORST MISTAKE YOU CAN MAKE IN KEY WEST!

I have been across the world in many forms of luxury in hostels and hotels. This is one of the worst places i have seen in a while. The mixed dorm has bunk beds of a type that i assume are found in prisons. They are old and rickety, in one room some shelves are used as make shift beds. Top bunks have no ladders, or barrier, you can and will likely fall off the top if you are unfortunate to have one.

Windows are broken, and the women in our group who had a bed next to a window were very afraid due to the fact anyone can put their hand in from the outside.

The mattresses has been so worn that they have no more support in them, they are covered in a terribly uncomfortable material that the whole sleeping experience is an "experience". To add to this experience will be a cast of bed bugs, that will follow you through your trip as you leave this terrible place.

The lady that seems to run the place is incredibly patronizing and rude.

The WIFI does not work.

We were in a group of 4, and we met another 3 in the place, of which everyone shared the same thoughts as this review.

This place is also over priced, if there are a group of you or a couple, consider a hotel - this place provides none of the perks of a hostel, and none of the comforts of a hotel. You will most likely find a hotel for the same combined costs, and actually enjoy your stay!

BE WARNED - AVOID!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.