We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst hostel i've ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Save Saved
You added Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Probably the worst hostel i've ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

BRIEF: DO NOT GO HERE - WORST MISTAKE YOU CAN MAKE IN KEY WEST!

I have been across the world in many forms of luxury in hostels and hotels. This is one of the worst places i have seen in a while. The mixed dorm has bunk beds of a type that i assume are found in prisons. They are old and rickety, in one room some shelves are used as make shift beds. Top bunks have no ladders, or barrier, you can and will likely fall off the top if you are unfortunate to have one.

Windows are broken, and the women in our group who had a bed next to a window were very afraid due to the fact anyone can put their hand in from the outside.

The mattresses has been so worn that they have no more support in them, they are covered in a terribly uncomfortable material that the whole sleeping experience is an "experience". To add to this experience will be a cast of bed bugs, that will follow you through your trip as you leave this terrible place.

The lady that seems to run the place is incredibly patronizing and rude.

The WIFI does not work.

We were in a group of 4, and we met another 3 in the place, of which everyone shared the same thoughts as this review.

This place is also over priced, if there are a group of you or a couple, consider a hotel - this place provides none of the perks of a hostel, and none of the comforts of a hotel. You will most likely find a hotel for the same combined costs, and actually enjoy your stay!

BE WARNED - AVOID!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    30
    26
    48
See reviews for
10
27
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice hostel. It has clean rooms with enough space, a beautiful patio with an open kitchen with barbecue and tables, chairs, parasols. It's right at the beach, there is free parking space. Just a little dust from the airco...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent one night in this hostel in Nov 2011 with my girlfriend. In a nutshell, rooms are very basic but quite clean, bathrooms as well. Prices are quite cheap too. Staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Don't expect much luxury, this is simply a honest little motel. I have not encountered any bed bugs, and the host was quite eager to make his guests enjoy the stay. And for the rather expensive key west, the pricing was alright.

Room Tip: Book this as a motel, not as a hostel. The price is the same but you don't have to make the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Friend and I stayed one Friday night and got a private room.
Parking was good.
I brought my bike and my friend rented a bike from the hostel.
All in all, the place is a nice place to stay if there are no other options.
The a/c in our room never really cooled.
The mattresses were worn and bowed in the center.
Large water bugs in the bathroom.
Shower didn't drain properly.. Stood in standing water.
Kitchen didn't have any coffee available for it's guests.
Couldn't make coffee because there was none.
I don't believe I've ever stayed in a hostel that didn't have coffee available for it's guests.

I would stay here again if I didn't have any other options.

Room Tip: Make this your last option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stay here if you want to wake up and realise that your pillow is covered with disgusting BED BUGS that were biting you during the night! And there was a LOT of bed bugs! We were bited in our legs and arms, blood was on the sheets and we got our bags and clothes infested even after we leave the motel!! Was the worse nightmare to get rid of them!

The owners of this horrible motel, infested, with noisy/old AC and terrible/old beds and furniture should get sued for turning people's vacations in nightmares!

Stay away from this motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

I traveled with 3 friends to the motel March 14-18th for a bachelor party. We are all in our upper 20's and extensive travelers. We found the rooms to be plain but functional, the beds were uncomfortable but that was expected and reported on the forum. The outdoor kitchen and common areas were perfect, what a nice extra. The kitchen was well stocked with basic utensils and all appliances worked well. The location was about a mile from the bar scene end of duval but not a bad walk at all. A public beach is literally 3, blocks away. You get what you pay for but for our money it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.