We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exciting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel to your Saves list
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent one night in this hostel in Nov 2011 with my girlfriend. In a nutshell, rooms are very basic but quite clean, bathrooms as well. Prices are quite cheap too. Staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    31
    27
    52
See reviews for
10
30
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Don't expect much luxury, this is simply a honest little motel. I have not encountered any bed bugs, and the host was quite eager to make his guests enjoy the stay. And for the rather expensive key west, the pricing was alright.

Room Tip: Book this as a motel, not as a hostel. The price is the same but you don't have to make the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Friend and I stayed one Friday night and got a private room.
Parking was good.
I brought my bike and my friend rented a bike from the hostel.
All in all, the place is a nice place to stay if there are no other options.
The a/c in our room never really cooled.
The mattresses were worn and bowed in the center.
Large water bugs in the bathroom.
Shower didn't drain properly.. Stood in standing water.
Kitchen didn't have any coffee available for it's guests.
Couldn't make coffee because there was none.
I don't believe I've ever stayed in a hostel that didn't have coffee available for it's guests.

I would stay here again if I didn't have any other options.

Room Tip: Make this your last option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stay here if you want to wake up and realise that your pillow is covered with disgusting BED BUGS that were biting you during the night! And there was a LOT of bed bugs! We were bited in our legs and arms, blood was on the sheets and we got our bags and clothes infested even after we leave the motel!! Was the worse nightmare to get rid of them!

The owners of this horrible motel, infested, with noisy/old AC and terrible/old beds and furniture should get sued for turning people's vacations in nightmares!

Stay away from this motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

I traveled with 3 friends to the motel March 14-18th for a bachelor party. We are all in our upper 20's and extensive travelers. We found the rooms to be plain but functional, the beds were uncomfortable but that was expected and reported on the forum. The outdoor kitchen and common areas were perfect, what a nice extra. The kitchen was well stocked with basic utensils and all appliances worked well. The location was about a mile from the bar scene end of duval but not a bad walk at all. A public beach is literally 3, blocks away. You get what you pay for but for our money it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

would give a zero star if there was!!! the room is shabby; a/c is quite noisy; and got bite by bed bugs! never go there again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and stayed at this motel and were so very disappointed...the bed had springs sticking up and because all the other places on Key West were full we had no choice to stay...we had to put our jackets and their towels on the bed so we could sleep on this bed. The tv cable keep going out and of course durring the best part of the show we watching to try to go to sleep by...not much sleep in this bed!! It was clean but a very plan room...we did like the shower though...do not go by the pics of the rooms on their web site...they are dated back to 2005 and are not acurate to what they look like now!!! I would not recommend you stay here even though the price is low...now we know why...you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;