We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hostel, no frills rooms, great outdoor space!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Save Saved
You added Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's a hostel, no frills rooms, great outdoor space!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

I traveled with 3 friends to the motel March 14-18th for a bachelor party. We are all in our upper 20's and extensive travelers. We found the rooms to be plain but functional, the beds were uncomfortable but that was expected and reported on the forum. The outdoor kitchen and common areas were perfect, what a nice extra. The kitchen was well stocked with basic utensils and all appliances worked well. The location was about a mile from the bar scene end of duval but not a bad walk at all. A public beach is literally 3, blocks away. You get what you pay for but for our money it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    30
    26
    47
See reviews for
10
27
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

would give a zero star if there was!!! the room is shabby; a/c is quite noisy; and got bite by bed bugs! never go there again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and stayed at this motel and were so very disappointed...the bed had springs sticking up and because all the other places on Key West were full we had no choice to stay...we had to put our jackets and their towels on the bed so we could sleep on this bed. The tv cable keep going out and of course durring the best part of the show we watching to try to go to sleep by...not much sleep in this bed!! It was clean but a very plan room...we did like the shower though...do not go by the pics of the rooms on their web site...they are dated back to 2005 and are not acurate to what they look like now!!! I would not recommend you stay here even though the price is low...now we know why...you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here when I had just moved to KW. I think its fantastic that it exists for young travelers on a small budget, in such an expensive paradise. If you are familiar with Hostels, you'll be good...if you've never stayed in a hostel, research what ur getting. Thank you, Sea Shell!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My brother and I stayed here in one of the private rooms. I would definitely not return, and recommend staying elsewhere.

Pros:
- nice courtyard
- so-so location
- not totally filthy
- A/C was adequate (in January at night)
- in-room fridge

Cons:
- Very little social atmosphere - very surprising for a hostel in a vacation town.
- Tiny (twin size), ancient, hard beds.
- Alcohol is not permitted in the lovely courtyard, on pain of immediate eviction without refund (is this legal in FL?). Thus the courtyard is much much less pleasant for socializing than it otherwise would be. This was one of a whole list of petty, fascist "rules" guests are required to sign when checking in.
- Floor was kinda dirty - like it had been swept, but not mopped recently.
- No water cup provided.
- Overpriced ($145 including tax) for what you get.
- Super slow office staff.
- Office closes at 8pm.
- They don't answer their phone for reservation inquiries, nor do they return voicemails.
- Location is close to the boring end of Duval Street - the end w/ most of the entertainment is quite a hike.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

the staff are very good, but there is very cold at night. We only have a thin bed sheet and the air conditioner is broken. So that I have a little fever.
And the location is very far away from the mallory square.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Clean sheets and locked door is about all that is provided, but this is a GREAT way to see Key West if you're on a budget. Sure, it can be loud and the bunk beds are rickety, but you are sure to meet interesting people and have a place to simply crash after a day of experiencing the island. Be sure to bring any and all amenities with you, including hand soap, towels, etc.

I traveled alone and felt safe the whole time- all of the women in the hostel that night were also solo travelers!

Room Tip: I only stayed in the female hostel. All rooms, I think, are attached to the courtyard where other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.