We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is Our View” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Galleon Resort And Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galleon Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Galleon Resort And Marina
617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“This Is Our View”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This Is Not Acceptable!! OuR Balcony View Consisted Of The Back Of A Green Supply Shed! There Was A Beach On The Other Side But we Never Saw It! All WeCould Hear Were The Pool Pumps In The Shed, Not the Ocean Sounds We Wanted! The customer Service Was HorribLe. We Were Lied To While They Smiled And Told UsThere Was NothingThey Could Do! How About Not Renting Out This Unacceptable Room!! Don't Waste Your Vacation Here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    99
    33
    23
    32
See reviews for
76
127
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

While getting a drink at the pool bar the bar tender was terribly rude, we ignored it then came back the next day to her being extremely rude negative and very very disrespectful. After telling management about it the women manager / owner (very rude) told us not to drink there if we did not like her and that she does her job very well. She ignored our concerns and went straight to defenses remarks. Later while having a drink at the marina bar she walked up grabbed my drink and said that's the last drink ill be having at this resort. There was no reason for it other than she was upset I complained about her employee which I assume by the extremely low level of respect is her family member.
Even though the rooms and location were nice the service we received after spending 2,000 was terrible and disrespectful. I would never stay here again and I would never recommend anyone stay here. I would strongly recommend finding another hotel who respects there customers and concerns we may have.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Galleon Resort's location could not be better. Without a car, it was so nice to walk to bars, restaurants, and shops on Duval Street. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath room on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and water. The unit was clean and updated with granite and stainless steel in the kitchen. The kitchen was fully stocked. The linens plentiful. The wall paneling surprised us and looked a tad dated. However, we later found out that it was not paneling but Dade County white pine wood. The pool was on the smaller side and the beach area tiny but that is to be expected knowing the prime location. The rooftop on the one building provided a beautiful view of the sunsets if not interested in the short walk to Mallory Square. It was a great vacation and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The four floor would provide the best view. The second and some third floor views on the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very pleased with my stay at The Galleon - a studio room in building G - the room was very comfortable with an oversized shower. The location of this hotel is outstanding - on the water with easy access to downtown Key West - we were there for the Hemingway Festival. The staff really made this stay exceptional - the place was full and parking was difficult, so I really appreciated it when one of the staff directed me to a spot where after he moved a few things around, I could easily park my truck. Thank-you. My only negative comment is that checkin was way too long - long line almost out the building. Only two people handling multiple checkins seems crazy to me. Also, there should be an express line for those simply picking up a key when the room was ready. My room was supposed to be ready by 4pm and it was not. That s****. I want to thank the male front desk person working that day - he was exceptional. He was pleasant and accommodating as he efficiently assisted each person in this long line of semi hostile guests at the front desk. I was very impressed with his professionalism and thankful for his assistance with the checkin process - he also made it easy for me to retrieve my room key without having to get back in line. The hotel is lucky to have this guy. We also asked for a late checkout as our room was about an hour late in being ready at check in - the hotel granted this request so we could sleep in.

Room Tip: I liked building G - 2nd floor - walk down the steps and you are right in the heart of the action on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been owners at The Galleon for many years now but this is the first time I have written about our home away from home. The staff is absolutely wonderful from Greg and Faith, the property managers, to Ken at the front desk to Vern in security and JulieAnne and Elsie in sales. We think of these folks as family and friends now.

In addition to the great folks, the facility is wonderful. The pool area is right next to the small beach and Tiki Bar. The Tiki Bar has wonderful lunches on Monday and Wednesday with the best deal on burgers in town on those days. The standard rooms are great with views of the water and/or harbor. Our penthouse view of the pool and water is beautiful and relaxing.

The lockout rooms or "hotel" rooms do not have kitchens and are a studio. RCI traders should understand this upfront so as not be disappointed. It is really hard to get disappointed in Key West though!

Room Tip: Ask if you are getting a hotel or lockout room because there is no kitchen and it is basically a stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

There seems to be a big discrepancy in quality between rooms here. We used RCI to trade and ended up with a studio room. This room was in Building E and couldn't have been updated since 1980. It was smaller than a standard hotel room, Queen size bed, mini fridge. The bamboo furniture was shabby. You could see a large line of daylight with the door closed. The neighbors doors slam loudly when shut and jolted me awake a few times. The only window faced the walkway and you can't keep the shutters open because people looked right in. When we arrived and checked in, the room they gave us, in Bldg F had an A/C that wasn't very cold and a ceiling fan that only had one speed, slow, and the window faced an exterior wall, so the room was very dark. Although they said they were sold out, they did find a room with a good A/C & 3-speed fan in Bldg E.
The location is good, but honestly that's the best part of this place. I would never, never stay here again. In general the employees are helpful and friendly, except Louis at the front desk. This guy seems to be put out by any guest request, very negative attitude, shouldn't be in the industry.
I called RCI the 2nd day we were there to request any other room available on Key West. They waived our reservation fee, but didn't have any other rooms. We tried to make the best of it by getting out of the room as much as possible, but ended up leaving a day early because we were miserable.
Also, they charge $2 per load to wash & dry your laundry, bring your own detergent . . .

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the larger 1 or 2 bedrooms unit that have been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We traded into this timeshare using RCI points and took a studio room with a microwave and mini fridge. We were in Building E and the room number ended in B, as in "beware." We are not too picky about our rooms, but after a year and a half on the waiting list and the number of points we spent, we were expecting a window to the exterior. The only window looked out on the garbage can in the corridor, so there was no natural light and we had to keep the drapes pulled to have privacy from people passing in the hall. The noisy recycling bins were beside our door. The room was clean but not up to date, although to their credit they did replace the tiny, ancient TV set that had a VHS tape slot with a small flat screen model on the last night of our stay. There were big haul-away dumpsters in front of the entrance and boxed appliances in the very tight parking garage, so some updating is taking place and some of the suites may indeed be gold level, but ours was definitely well below the par of the Courtyard by Marriott in Key Largo where we stayed on the way down, to say nothing of the vacation properties where we have previously used our points. The pool was fine; the tiny beach and crowded exercise facilities were nothing to write home about. The location was extremely convenient. Many attractions were a few minutes' walk away and nothing we wanted to visit (aside from the supermarket) was more than 1.25 miles away.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a window to the exterior of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleon Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.