We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleon Resort And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Galleon Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Galleon Resort And Marina
617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Proctor, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for three nights on our first Key West vacation, booked through private party owner. The location was amazing if you’re planning on walking Old Town and Duval. So close to restaurants and shopping and bars. Also, the property is on the water, so you can watch the boats and views while relaxing on their boardwalk.

Our room was a little dated, but they’re in the process of updating the rooms. Our shower was updated and very nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable! My wife & I slept incredibly well! We had a kitchenette with microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, small sink, dishes, etc. Bring your own coffee and plastic/Styrofoam cups if you plan on drinking outside of the room. We also had a patio, but it was a view of the parking lot, so we didn’t spend any time out there.

Parking is cramped, especially with work trucks and a big dumpster taking up spots. We had a small car and it was tricky to maneuver in and out of spots.

The front desk closes at 11pm, but we were able to find a security guard who was able to help us after hours. The ice machine is something else! For the whole resort, there’s only one, and it’s out in the parking lot. You need quarters to get ice, and you need to have the security guard show you “the Fonzie move” as he called it, in order to get ice. Yes, you have to pound it in a certain spot before it will give up the ice!

The hotel hallways were open to the outside, so it’s not a secure building, but we saw the security guard quite often, which helped put us at ease.

Everyone that worked there was very nice and accommodating. When their computer in the lobby wouldn’t pull up Delta, the manager let me use his office to print our boarding passes.

Our room was clean and we’re clean people, so we never needed to use housekeeping. If you do use housekeeping, it costs like $16-17 extra per day. Housekeeping just threw the garbage out of the rooms into the hallways, which was a bit of a surprise to us, as we've had never seen housekeeping done like that before. Then, the garbage sat there for quite a while. Also, we saw one housekeeper transport her own vacuum and cleaning supplies from her car. Again, never seen before.

The Galleon has free wireless, but it was very, very spotty. Luckily, the owner of our unit had his own internet that we were able to use.

One thing that was a bit of an inconvenience is how loud the doors slam down the hall. The way the doors and locks are, there’s really no way to shut your door quietly even if you try. Very frustrating early morning when you have someone in a room a few doors down, going in and out!

The Tiki Bar closed at 10pm, so didn’t spend any time there. The pool was kind of packed one day we were there, and the beach is pretty small, so we didn’t use either.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here, and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    96
    27
    22
    31
See reviews for
71
115
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Galleon, and while we didn't spend much time in the room, we were very happy with the hotel. We stayed in a penthouse, and the view of the marina was amazing. We went with another couple, but the setup of the penthouse made sure that we all had our own space when we needed it. It was great to have a full service kitchen so we could make our own breakfast before leaving for the day. The only real downside we had was that you could hear anyone who happened to be passing by the room, which made it difficult for my husband to sleep. He's a fairly light sleeper, and it was pretty noisy out there. We loved that it was so close to everything and we could walk anywhere we wanted to go. The only other negative for us was that if you wanted maid service, it was $25 a day extra. I guess because it's really a timeshare. We just used the washer and dryer in our unit to was the towels ourselves rather than pay extra for someone else to do it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Key West and our 1st stay at the Galleon!! Have to say, the location can't be beat! It really is wonderful to have everything just a short walk away! We booked through vacation rentals by owner and stayed in a timeshare. The room itself was a little bit dated in decor and we had some issues w/ the cable. Also, as others have stated, WIFI was terrible! I had to turn on my hotspot on my phone to get enough juice to skype w/ our kids. Other than that though, the resort is beautiful! Between the marina, to the small beach, to the pool, to the tiki bar, everything was awesome! Definitely an older crowd though, but we didn't mind... kept the pool nice and quiet! It was a little pricey, so not sure if we'll be able to splurge on this again, but it made for an unforgettable Key West vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you love being close to the water, this is the place for you. There's a large deck with lounge chairs by the Tiki bar and the sunsets can be viewed from there. Another huge bonus is the Galleon is on the boardwalk that goes all around the marina and has tons of restaurants to walk to. A few shops too. Then only a few blocks away is party city on Duval street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I love the Galleon...the best location and Tiki bar on the island!!! We have a timeshare here...best investment my family has made :) This little oasis has an adorable little private beach, workout room, and is the best place to watch the amazing Key West sunset!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wading river NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from the Galleon and enjoyed the gr8 location to be able to explore all the sites in KW. The Galleon is easy to walk/bike thru fun and exciting "Old Town" and able to take a rest at the small lovely beach/pool at the newly renovated Galleon Resort with a friendly staff. The music and sunsets are awesome at the Galleon's Tiki Bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great place, excellent location, clean, good amenities. Comfy beds, nice pull out couch. We had 6 people in a suite and were pretty happy. Beautiful view and awesome location right on the marina. Pool area and bar were super fun. The roof observation deck was cool too. Oh yeah, the showers and bathrooms were super nice with jacuzzi tub and rain shower.

Only two complaints: most of the internal doors were hard to close and the locks on the bathroom doors didn't work. and they were inflexible about a 10am checkout time. That's not cool in a party town like Key West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleon Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.