We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galleon is super nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleon Resort And Marina

Save Saved
You added Galleon Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galleon Resort And Marina
617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Galleon is super nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Galleon is located on the Key West Bight,, has its own docks, and literally across the street from everything in Key West. If you are coming by boat, it can't be beaten for access. If the marina is full, try A&B Marina. They are extremely helpful at A&B. The Galleon is great even if you aren't coming by boat. We had a Penthouse, which is a 2 bedroom plus a loft that has a queen. It was comfortable with a beautiful view of the Bight.

Room Tip: You can't get a bad room, but maybe ask for a higher floor just for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    88
    25
    21
    30
See reviews for
69
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I will start by saying I expect we will return to the Galleon for a future trip to Key West. Why? It is close to so much at the marina whether you are looking for restaurants, water sports, or browsing at some of the small shops. Other restaurants and shopping along Front or Duval Streets are a short walk as well. Our unit was recently updated which made it far and away the best 2 bedroom/2 bath one I have rented in Florida 25+ years. We had an excellent view of the Marina as well. The Tiki Bar was a great place to watch the sunset.

What do you need to be aware of? As many others have written, the wireless Internet access is beyond terrible. To the Galleon management, if you read these reviews, please get the message. You need to get this fixed. There is no reason in this day and age to have such poor wireless service. You may think everybody is there to relax without a care in the world, but the reality is people do need internet access for either business or personal entertainment. We burned through GBs of data on our wireless plan to access the internet via our smartphones. Thanks to Tripadvisor I already planned for this expense, but it should not be needed at the price we paid. After extensive research, I found the most reliable connection was at the Tiki Bar. Go figure.

The other awareness item is that the beach area is very small. I did not set foot on it because it was not important to me, but it was a bit of a disappointment to my teenage daughter.

For those of you who do not care about wireless internet or a small beach, then the Galleon is a great place for all its positives. For everybody else, I would still recommend going, but do so with your eyes wide open. For me, "I'll be back".

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got back from renting a 2 bedroom + loft at the Galleon resort for a family spring break. It is absolutely true that the place is tired--the couch and loveseat in our unit were so threadbare I covered them with the spare sheets so we wouldn't tear the cushions. The comforters in the 2nd bedroom looked like they'd been there for decades. The lobby is dark and dingy, the service at check-in hit-and-miss. The wifi is unreliable at best. The lady who is in charge at the pool is a pushy control freak who insists on interfering with everyone from kids tossing a ball to adults trying to put an umbrella up. Note to management: You need to tell that woman to back off. I heard people from 7 to 70 complaining about the way they were treated by her.
Despite any shortcomings, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Our unit in building F had a balcony overlooking the marina off both the living room and the master bedroom. We sat outside for hours watching the boats and looking at the beautiful blue water. We were no more than 10 minutes walk to almost every place we wanted to go, and we brought our bikes and easily road them to the couple attractions that were a little farther (like the beaches). We were two blocks from Mallory Square, a few steps from the Harbor Walk, and a stone's throw from half a dozen boat charter companies. We could hear the music from Schooner Wharf at night, but it wasn't loud enough to keep anyone awake. The pool, when the shrew was not pestering us or our neighbors, was warm and lovely, with a view of the tiki bar and the boats in the harbor beyond.
My advice is to pack a couple clean blankets from home; expect crappy wifi; and embrace the Galleon, warts and all. We're very glad we did.

Room Tip: Buildings D, E, and F overlook the marina; C looks out over the water; A and B look over the pool to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed here through the years, but management has really gone downhill. We had a cleaning lady push her cart into our car causing damage and management (Toby Jenner) denied all responsibility. Having witnesses didn't matter, what a weasel. Please use your money at another resort, one with a more honorable staff. Also our room smelled terrible this last stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were there the week of March 4th-This was a spur of the moment trip, booked less than 5 days in advance. We had a wonderful room (B-52), great view and very clean. Tom is a great guy to work with and the resort is in such a great location. Walk to everything! We paid extra to fly directly into KW and eliminated the car rental, which you don't need so the cost of the airfare direct into KW came out to be the same if we had flown into Miami or Ft Lauderdale and rented a car.The way we did it made it worth the time and stress of driving. The pool is nice and heated. The Tiki bar which serves drinks/food is high on drink prices and food is average. The Tiki bar staff not the friendliest staff around but did a good job on service. I love this resort, my 3rd time there and will go back time and time again.

Room Tip: B-52 is a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in one of their inexpensive room as 'a view' isn't something important to us. The room was nice, clean and spacious. It was a very good value compared to all of the other similar properties that we priced out. Very nice medium sized beach. Nice pool and hot tub. The attached Tiki Deli was AMAZING in food quality, value and how fast it was prepared. A rather nice location that is very close to the downtown action but even on Spring Break week, we were not awakened by any noisy partiers.

The only negative was they do not offer late checkout. But they do allow you to store your suitcases behind the desk if you happen to fly later in the day.

When we return to Key West I would not shop around next time. I will just go directly to the Galleon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just spent a week at the Galleon . Been in Key West many of times before but stayed at a timeshare for the 1st time. It was all but perfect in many ways. It's location is right on the gulf with a view from our balcony. The rooms have been renovated over the past while with new kitchens, bathrooms, tv's and furniture. They are very roomy and clean. The staff are friendly as well as helpful if you had a request, because you are not at a hotel you don't see them all that much. They have a great pool and tiki bar as well as a takeout spot right on the board walk if you need some munchies. The resort is located on Front St at a dead end so it's as quiet as can be expected for the crazy end of Duval St. Just far enough away to walk in 2 minutes but quiet enough to be relaxed when needed. The parking is right on site although limited. The food and drinks were all good and reasonable. I would certainly stay there again.
Just a great time and place!
Conrad

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleon Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.