We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galleon Resort Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleon Resort And Marina

Save Saved
You added Galleon Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galleon Resort And Marina
617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 41 hotels in Key West
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Galleon Resort Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went to the Galleon on a business trip. I had reserved 8 time share rooms in different configurations. The staff at check in was extremely nice and helpful. I stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath marina view room. The room came complete with a kitchen, various electronics and a washer & dryer. The rooms decor was still a little 70's ish with wood paneling but had upgrades of flat panel TV's, spa tub and oversized shower. The fitmess center needs help as far as an upgrade goes. The pool and tiki bar are nice as well. The best part of the resort is the view from the rooms. The view of the Gulf - Sunset Key and Tank island are nice as well as the view of the marina. The marina offers fishing charters as well as renting your own boats and PWC's. This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this resort and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Although no daily housekeeping in the room price, choose the marina or gulf view time share rooms.Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    23
    21
    30
See reviews for
67
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Galleon Resort is the best place I have ever stayed in Key West. We had a room overlooking the ocen marina and waking up looking at the water and million dollar boats that I dream of owning was a wonderful. We had a 2 bedroom condo that was clean, stocked and with bathrooms that have been updated and are beautiful. The pool was nice and towel service was availabe on a daily basis. The Tiki bar was great (our only complaint is that the bartenders could have been friendlier) and the small sandy beach next to the pool was great. This place has 100's of places to eat and drink with-in walking distance and Mallory Square and Duval Street are only 2 blocks away. You are close to the Party without all the noise!. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. If you are high maintenance and need your room cleaned and bed made on a daily basis this is not the place for you. They come once a week and re-fresh towels and change linens which was fine for us. Loved the place and location and cannot recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Marina!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have a friend who owns a time share with this resort, which is how we originally became attracted to it. The week we had planned our time in Key West didn't align with his vacation weeks, so we paid for a week with the hotel itself--a reasonable rate, considering the particularly festive week we were there.

I can't say enough about how great the staff is in helping you with your needs. We plan to make a yearly trip to this resort and we had some things related to a medical condition that would be helpful for them to store for us--and they were so helpful and willing to do this for us. And they didn't even charge extra for quite a bit of inconvenience and hassle (but we definitely did tip them for their trouble, as we will again next year when they drag out the equipment they have been so wonderful to store for us).

I want to give particular thanks to Gregg, Tom, and Tim who were all instrumental in allowing our week at the Galleon to be wonderful and comfortable. Now on to the great points about the suite we were in.

We rented a 2 bedroom suite so it really felt like our "home" in Key West. It's location is perfect--in old town and 2 blocks from Duval Street. Our room, with a deck that spanned the living room and bedroom overlooked the water and Marina below. We spent several enjoyable afternoons enjoying cocktails out on the deck (comfortable chairs and a lot of space for the deck for an apartment!).

The suite we were in was fabulous. Everything you need to call home--and done in an upscale way. We had a wet bar with a great variety of glasses. A fully stocked kitchen--even a blender and toaster!

Two televisions--a big flatscreen in the master bedroom, another in the living room and a smaller TV in the second bedroom (we mostly used the second bedroom as a dressing room as we were there during costume party week in Key West ;-)

We had a great time--and a good part of why is because we had a perfect location and a fabulous upscale suite. Oh, did I mention that the master bedroom bathroom had a jacuzzi and a HUGE shower with several options for what type of shower head you prefer.

I can't say enough good things about the staff and the place. Hats off to them--and thanks to them as well. This is a great property that I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you can, get a suite that looks over the water. Our sunrise suite was beyond beautiful and droo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The Galleon is located near the marina, and close to all the main attractions key west has that is worth seeing . The rooms are well maintained and the staff are always ready to help you in any thing you could possibly need. The property has a pool and access to the ocean with a grand view of the surrounding areah

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Traded a week from RCI to stay at this place Sept 29-Oct 5/12. We were on the fourth floor facing the pool and the Gulf, loved, loved our view and unit! Over the years have tried to trade a week in Key West and this was the first time we ever got called. This isn't the time of year we would have chosen if given the choice but it turned out hot and sunny almost every day! One day of overcast and a bit of rain which was fine, we toured around and shopped a bit that day.
I understand all the units here are two bedrooms. One bedroom is at the back of the unit with a washroom right beside it, the other is at the front with a balcony view and an ensuite. Lots of closet space and a free safe was in the master bedroom which we used for our money and passports. Our master bedroom had a king bed, very, very comfy! The other bedroom had a double or queen, I'm not sure but they said it was comfy too. We found the unit nice and large, had a beachy feel with the ratton furniture, I think that's what it's called. Our bedroom had French doors to the balcony which also had access from the living area. Enjoyed sitting out on the balcony with our morning coffee or at night. We used the dishwasher and stackable washer and dryer. The unit is large and spacious and sharing it with out friends we never felt cramped. Free wifi.
The resort was very nice. The pool was cleaned every morning, lots of chaise lounge chairs and several umbrellas although the umbrellas couldn't be moved which made it harder to get one. I don't like the sun as much as my husband and friends and I couldn't always get one all the time. The Tiki Bar was nice to have by the pool as well. The drinks were reasonable and they had a happy hour every night. We brought drinks down to the pool most of the time although we did buy a few. We had hamburgs and chicken on a bun bbq'd one day by the pool, they were good and reasonable as well. I loved the entertainment at happy hour, they were all good, played fun music and we looked forward to hearing the different ones throughout the week. We really loved the location of this spot, walking around the boardwalk and taking in the view of the boats and trying out the different restaurants was a lot of fun. We did a night time sunset cruise with Commotion on the Ocean tours....I forget the name of the actual tour group. It was a fun one though, lots to drink, appetizers and a little 2 piece band playing, sailing along the coast and around the island out front of the hotel, you didn't go far but you were out enjoying the beautiful sunset...we had so much fun.
Loved Key West too, loved that we could walk from the hotel to Mallory Square and see the entertainment each night, watch the sunset then go dine out at the many bars/restaurants that are there. This little town does not sleep. We are between 39 and 49 years old and we fit right in having tons of fun with young and old, anything goes in Key West. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the shops more then our husbands. The guys went deep sea fishing one day and caught a shark. They had a good time. We all went snorkelling on a tour one day, it was good as well, I just watched but the other three had fun. All three got bit by jelly fish. They gave us beer or pop.
We went on one time share meeting and really considered buying here. We own two weeks now and would love to own at this resort, we may buy in the future if we see a good deal. The time share people did not hound us, they don't need to as they don't have much for sale.
Not much more to say other then I had a fabulous time staying here, would love to go back to the Galleon again!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a nice view but I'd ask for marina view or gulf/pool view, the pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend traded through RCI and got a 2 bedroom unit. We were there with another couple. It was spacious and clean. We didn't use the kitchen much but it was great having an ice maker in the freezer.

Some reviewers had rooms facing the Tiki bar and had some complaints re the loud music. Our unit faced the marina. Sitting out on our terrace was awesome!

We did a lot of walking in our week there and every time we left the busy sites and crowds and headed down Front Street to the Galleon it was nice to leave the crowds.

The pool and bar were excellent and looking out over the water was so peaceful.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hi Everyone. We spent four nights at the Galleon Resort & Marina at Key West in a studio (lock-off) unit. The unit was fairly small but adequate for what we needed for a short visit. The "efficiency" part of it, fridge/micro/coffee pot/dishes, was about 3' from the bed, I could almost hit the "ON" button on the coffee-maker while lying down. Suppose that could be good or bad, lol.

Bathroom was small but decent sized shower (no tub). There was a flat screen television and free wifi. We had double doors to a balcony which was too small to sit out on and overlooked the circular pull-through for checking in. King sized bed and a small table with two chairs (wicker with glass top which was nice). We were happy ~ we were looking for a king bed with wifi and a coffee-pot that was clean and this fit.

Check-in was a breeze and they were helpful at the front desk. The only somewhat rude comment to us was that the airport shuttle was for owners only and we were handed a taxi card. That's fine, it was just not put very nicely. Taxi fare was $18 plus tip each way.

Went to the tiki bar for breakfast the first morning at 10 am and waited over half hour for someone to help us. The place was empty and the bartender was apparently elsewhere getting ice. Great 241 bloody marys though, almost worth waiting for. Food, average at best.

Pool was nice, deck area also nice. Tiny beach with nice loungers and white sand and great swimming water. We spent every morning there except one when they had it taped off for some reason. The bartender didn't know anything about it (?).

We were on Floor #5 and there is an observation deck at the water side. Nice area, but hellllloooo...no chairs, ash trays, tables, anything. Just someplace to stand and watch the sunset. Its a shame too because the area was very large, enough for several dozen people to hang.

Location is fantastic, we walked to everything but a couple of restaurants on our list. Best meal we had was at Finnegans Wake but this was a pretty good hike. We took a pedicab to an italian restaurant (can't remember the name at the moment) and it cost far too much $$ (I think $25) and the food wasn't too good. We walked home and it took about 20 minutes.

All in all, I'd def stay at Galleon again if the price is right. We got a great deal from VRBO ($150/night) because it was last minute. Not sure I'd spend much more than that for a studio without a view.

Room Tip: Of course, oceanview is always nice. They have both ocean view and marina view and if you are reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleon Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.