We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling Hideaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eden House to your Saves list
Eden House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Darling Hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you are a couple, don't hesitate to book here!! You are very near to everything - the water as well as the bars/restaurants on Duvall - but you will think your on an island when you swim or enjoy the hot tub in the hidden garden!! Hammocks in quiet areas of the garden invite you to take the nap you need and deserve! Don't forget daily happy-hours and the wonderful staff! Every good thing you read about them here is absolutely true. Loved it. Many, many thanks.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with a loft - you'll luv it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    195
    55
    30
    14
See reviews for
82
571
55
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First things first. This is an amazing place to stay. The lady on the front desk was really polite and gave us a tour around the hotel. There is a swimming pool with floating chairs, a sun lounging deck, a hammock area and a hot tub all surrounded by lovely decor. We got a free drink on arrival and drinks (alcoholic or soft) were only $1 after that, which is the best price I have ever seen at a hotel.

The hotel has gone to great lengths to be as green as possible and unlike other 'claims of green' I believe they are genuinely doing all they can to minimize their impact on the environment. They prepared a review of the best places in Key West to visit, all of which were personal recommendations which had been tried and tested.

Our room was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately our nights sleep was so bad I can't give this hotel the 5* i wanted to. We had one of the cheaper rooms but were told we were upgraded on arrival. The door of our room opened right into the shared lounge and reception and from 11pm until 4am all we could hear was a loud conversion going on in the lounge by other guests. We had to leave at 7am to drive to Miami airport so 2 hours sleep really made that difficult.

I fully recommend this hotel but if you get the room we had ask to move or you will probably regret it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We got a warm welcome and a small guided tour across the property upon check-in and were offered complimentary ice-tea, coffee and even insect repellent during our stay.
We had an apartment with a balcony, a seperate patio and an outdoor shower, which was really nice.
All of the staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay in the Eden House.

Room Tip: Apartment 403 has an outdoor shower and a seperate patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at Eden House for 5 nights in May 2014. This was my first time there. I got the feeling that many of the people who were there at the same time had been there before. The location is several blocks away from the hype of Duval street but close enough that you can rent a bike or walk and get there in a few minutes. I welcomed the idea of being a little away from Duval. Parking is a little difficult at the Eden House. There are only maybe 15-20 spots (and a few scooter spots) for the entire complex. We ended up having to park in a public garage one night because there were no spot by the time we got back to the hotel around 8 pm one night. Spaces always opened up early in the AM and very late at night (2AM).
The rooms are located in several different buildings on the property and they have every type of room from a shared hostel type of situation to a private house. I stayed in a small deluxe room. The "deluxe" gets you a TV (didn't turn it on once), queen bed (nice), and a mini fridge (also worth it). The room was in the main house but we did not face the pool. We were in room 112 and while convenient to get to right off the lobby area it would have been nice to have some type of view out our window other than the fence dividing this property from the adjacent property. Wasn't a huge issue though since we didn't really spend too much time in the room other than to sleep. A note about sleeping... although we were right off the lobby we had no trouble sleeping in until noon. ;-) Their website does not lie - the rooms were small BUT certainly adequate for our needs (just two small adults). The only thing I think that could improve the room was to have more hooks on the wall since there really is limited shelf and floor space.
The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. Right when we arrived we were welcomed with a nice cold beer and shown to our room. We dropped our bags and were provided a quick tour of the property. The pool is small but nice (no lap swimming here). There were only about 10 - 12 lounge chairs available and two umbrella tables with 4 chairs each surrounding the pool. There were other tables, chairs, hammocks and places to sit a little further away. The grounds surrounding the pool and the hotel and very lush and green. Lots of nice shade. Really quite comfortable and relaxing. All in all it was a great stay and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: When you book they say that they can't guarantee you a specific room until you check in but I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our stay at Eden House was a great surprise. First of all, my girlfriend and I booked the room last minute to stay in Key West on St. Patrick's Day weekend. Even last minute, the price for the room was comparable to that of a room in the hotel chains. I was pleasantly surprised that they had room considering many other places did not have rooms available at the time of booking. Upon arrival to Eden House, we were given a warm greeting by the desk staff and was offered a complimentary beer. We were shown around the property, including the sparkling blue pool, couple's swings, and hammocks. Not to be outdone are the full, green foliage and tucked-away coy ponds.The rooms are cozy and free of noise from the outside and neighboring rooms. All rooms have direct access to the inside of the home, as well as the outside, allowing guests to come and go as they please.The room was very clean. It included a queen or double sized bed, a refrigerator, and a full bath. The last great thing about Eden House is that they offer a daily free happy hour by the pool for all guests. Overall, my girlfriend and I had a great time and will be coming back again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Only booked in for two nights but wish we could have stayed longer! Really friendly staff,great service, amazing outdoor area to chill...We loved the hammocks! Had lots of info on the area including restaurant menus. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel right at home... Felt more like staying with friends rather than staying at a hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was not my first choice in terms of where to stay in KW- my husband and I had unredeemed Hyatt points so debated staying there, but ultimately followed our friends to Eden House for a 3 night stay. I wasn't sure what to expect..... it is perfect and I love being wrong! What the photos don't convey is the culture- the unbelievable staff, the friendliness of other patrons and the location couldn't be better. The room was clean, fridge was fantastic and the bed is comfortable. Would my room at the Hyatt have been nicer? Maybe, but knowing what I know now, I wouldn't trade my Eden House experience for anything. I look forward to many, many more trips to EH in the future. What a blast!

Room Tip: Our room by the pool was lovely- and not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.