We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eden House to your Saves list
Eden House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
DIRECT BOOKING SPECIAL
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Key West was the last stop on our American road trip and staying at Eden House was easily the accommodation highlight of our journey. Arriving after a very long drive, we immediately felt we had arrived in an oasis of calm on viewing the pool, hammocks and general ambience. A free beer on check in helped too!!
As in many American hotels, there wasn't any breakfast possible but tea and coffee available and a voucher for coffee and pastries at the bakery opposite. On the last morning, we went nextdoor to Azur and had the most memorable breakfast EVER and would advise people to go at least once!!
Rooms weren't huge but we weren't intending on spending time in the room when there was a complimentary happy hour around the pool once a day! Very helpful staff who on the morning of leaving, handed me a sheet of markers with interesting pllaces to stop off on the journey back to mainland Florida. In amongst these was Anne's Beach which again was another trip highlight, such a lovely idea.
Now we are back in England and saving our pennies to once again return to Key West and Eden house. Thank you for such a great memory.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    191
    54
    30
    13
See reviews for
81
551
54
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

First visit decision was a last minute stab in the dark, made from what in 2005, was their quirky web presence, (and I must admit, a $99/night special). Flew into KW from Marco Island on a 6 seater with friends from Chicago. Room was not available until 3 so we snagged a hack to Duval Street where we bar hopped our way to the "hotel"....(I haven't found quite the word to describe Eden House yet). The four of us were, let's say, underwhelmed and hesitant to go in as we stood in front of the white-washed nondescript main building. Ok, what the hell, we strode in...to a small lobby with a small window and a large bearded guy behind the half wall. He looked up, "checkin' in?" I looked at the rest of our group who were trying to muster the grit to stay and not flee to the comfort and familiarity of of the big hotels 7 blocks away. "Yup" I said.

"OK", reservation names, and ya wanna beer or soda", (he reached under the counter to a cooler full of cans), which caused us all to laugh and broke the ice. "Follow me", the big guy says, and we exit the "lobby?", stage left down a dark wooden walkway bordered by lush tropical foliage into ........Eden. Wow! Utterly beautiful tropical garden setting, gorgeous pool, generous hot tub spa, and an enclave of varying size and style buildings in the background. We were stunned and now smiling as the stresses melted away. "This way" our guide says, as he leads us through the garden to one of the buildings. Here ya go folks, out key on a bottle opener chain, and we open the door to a modest and, I must say small but immaculate room that "uses every inch of available space". Tiny? yes. Uncomfortably so? No. Great bed, great shower, TV and microwave room are optional, but...hey! You're in Key West, waddaya need? Been back 4 times since, already booked for our 6th visit. Don't miss this uber cool hidden gem!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Servicebyjordon,
You should be writing my newsletters! I couldn't have said it any better myself. A pleasantly surprised guest is just what we are looking for, though I think we had you with the cold beer at check-in. An afternoon at the local watering holes is a great way to start the Key West/Eden House experience. Set 'em up bartender... make mine a double double. I only have a long weekend.

See ya soon,
Mike and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just completed our first trip to Key West and upon the advice of friencs we chose the Eden House as our place to stay. Indeed it was a great choice. From the time we checked in to the time we left we could not have experienced a better time. The staff was excellent in answering questions and pointing us as to places to eat, drink and enjoy.
The room we were given was ten paces from the pool and beautifully appointed. It was also as clean as can be. Probably the nicest lodgings I have ever had.

Room Tip: Can only speak for myself but am sure ALL rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Howdy John A,
Glad you enjoyed yourself with us on your first visit to Key West. A recommendation from a friend is what it's all about at the Eden House - 38 years and counting. Please thank your friend for us and we will continue to keep our eye on the ball. For us it is hospitality and when we enjoy what we do, it ain't a problem.

Happy hour starts at 4pm sharp so don't be late!
Mike and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Truly a GREAT trip. Outstanding location. Close enough to the action but far enough away. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the facility is very clean & well kept. We stayed for 9 days/8 nights and witnessed first hand the upkeep of the property... repairs, clean up, painting and the like. The pool and hot tub were wonderful especially after hours (when the kiddies were absent). They offer diverse accommodations (deluxe, lofts, apartments, etc.). We stayed in both a loft and an apartment. The rate was the same and both units were nice. The staff (namely Laura, Ryan, & Liz) are very friendly & helpful well beyond the immediate facility including but not limited to activities and tips on visiting Key West. Their helpfulness made ALL the difference!

Don't miss the free coffee by the front desk nor the complimentary Happy Hour. They've got bike rentals and FREE WiFi too (though the bike rentals are a bit rough). Planning to visit Eden House again whenever possible! The sooner the better!

Room Tip: Ask about the provided amenities in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWFL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff is great and entire facility is very clean and well kept. This was our first time at Eden House and we had room 202. Checking in I was a little concern that the room faced the main room and would have to put up with traffic noise; not one problem. i could not believe how quite the room turned out. Eden House is just far enough away from Duval; yet close enough to walk there and other areas without a problem. The room was clean and the bed was "killer" soft; just like our bed at home.

Thanks to the entire staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 202 gave us the room size we desired, private bath and great bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Only stayed one night, but sure to return. Easy Check-In with a Great Staff that offered a welcome drink. I was upgraded to a beautiful porch deluxe room without asking. Property is immaculate. I am a very meticulous individual and have not one negative thing to say. Beautiful Pool with Hot Tub in a tropical setting, and a nice sundeck..Great to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during our holiday around Florida. The hotel was well kept, clean and oozed the key west vibe. There is a nice pool with a variety of seating and every day a complimentary bar hour with wine and spirits. This made a great start to the evening jollities. The staff a very helpful and they helped us book a snorkel tour whilst we were there. It is also in a great location - quite and not in the middle of the Key West bars etc. There is also a lovely bakery round the corner and when we checked in we got a voucher for a free croissant. The hotel also provides tea/coffee in the reception 24hrs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.