We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, hospitable, and absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden House

Save Saved
You added Eden House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Key West
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, hospitable, and absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

A friend and I selected this hotel for our two-day, one-night stay in Key West, and anticipated a very nice stay based on the reviews and the hotel's website. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it was even better than our expectations.

The front-desk staff was very friendly -- morning, afternoon, and night. They gave us very helpful advice on where to eat, which beach we would enjoy, and gave us directions and called cabs for us to get to our destinations, even providing us with maps of the area.

At check-in, we were given a tour of the facilities, and it was absolutely gorgeous. The pool area is fun, but not too loud, and there is a happy hour in the late afternoon with free cocktails that we partook of. There was also a hot tub, which is a nice little luxury many hotels don't have.

The room we stayed in, with two single beds and a private bathroom, was not very large -- a little more on the cozy side. If you are traveling with children, I believe they have larger options, but our vacation was not intended to be spent in a hotel room, so it was perfect for us. There was also nice tv if you have a little time to kill, but we never used it. Instead, we appreciated the mini fridge and microwave they provided. The beds were also very comfortable, and it was extremely quiet all day and night, even with the busy activity that hotels usually experience at check-out in the morning. To me, peace and quiet is one of my highest priorities in a hotel, and Eden House's quiet hours rule is very effective and reasonable.

In addition, we found the hotel to be very clean and pleasant. The tile floors were nicely kept, the bed linens and towels were very clean, and in general the hotel was very tidy. A computer was available for guests' use, and they even had a large selection of sunscreens and tanning lotions at hand for beach and pool excursions -- now that's looking out! They also provided complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings, and a 20% off card to the Azur restaurant next door, which was very lovely and conveniently located.

Overall, we loved the Eden House. During the spring break season, some hotels are a mad house, but this one was really a nice little haven. If it's within your budget, I'd definitely recommend it over any budget hotel to make your trip just that little bit more pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    796
    191
    49
    30
    13
See reviews for
78
532
52
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Hammocks for resting, books for reading, pool with both sunny and shady areas. Perfect spot for getting away but only blocks away from marina and restaurants and sights. Best for couples.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

When you think of relaxing in the off center world of Key West you should want things to be easy and to be able to walk home to a comfortable resting place at night. The Eden House is the right place for that.

The trip was a getaway for me, my wife and our 26 year old daughter. We stayed in the first floor cottage apartment with a wonderfully secluded hot tub, separate sleeping areas and a doorway to Grinnel Street. All was within walking distance - we only took the car once during our 5 days (and found that could have been walked as well).

Great care was taken by a very friendly staff. All carried the casual ease one expects in Key West. No request went unheeded and the nightly hour to drink by the pool was a great relaxing time each day before heading to dinner.

ALL of the old town area of Key West is within walking distance. We dined, took a snorkeling trip, rode wave runners and watched the sunset. At the end of each day we casually strolled back (with our nightcap in hand :-) to a very comfortable place to prop our feet.

I will stay there again (and again if the opportunity is presented)

Things to know:

Parking is a premium - find a spot on the property or nearby and then stash the keys until you are ready to leave.

Internet wireless access is limited to a couple of areas - pool side and the library. Not a great challenge at all, but you may not have access in your room

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Sounds like you have got the Key West thing down. My only suggestion for next time would be to skip the car.

See ya on the flip side
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent 3 days at Eden house, and will go back at the first chance. The location is great, walking distance to Duval St while still being in a nice quiet neighborhood. Staff is very friendly, helpful and their greeting upon check in is 'bud or bud light". How ever it wasn't a wild party hotel. The room we had was very clean, with a nice TV, and fridge. Ours was a standard room, which was small but ample if you just want a place to sleep and shower. The outside had a nice covered balcony, very nice pool, hot tub and the nice hammmock nap spot. No reason to sit inside with these options.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

A place like Eden House is not possible everywhere. Necessary to its function is that all of its guests adhere to a single, central tenet: don't be a tool and ruin this for everyone. A beer when you walk in the door, a pool open til 10, but available 24 hours for inocuous dips ("If we can't hear you, we can't see you"), a poolside self-serve happy hour beverage cart...all of these can be yours, provided you're not a [--]. The staff is welcoming, helpful, and understands that part of the attraction of Key West is forgetting about the details and stresses of the "civilized" world. And they're there to help you do that. It may not be for everyone - it's a throwback to more communal accomodations (many of the rooms have shared showers, there's a downstairs fridge for everyone, and the rooms might be small for some), but if you want to kick back and properly submit to Key West's charms, this is a great place to call homebase.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

What can I say about this hotel that has not been said already. It is clean, friendly, warm, comforting, happy, quiet, tranquil, charming, quirky, and yet it is not for everyone. If you expect a cookie cutter hotel experience, do not stay here. This hotel is for the person who welcomes a nap in a hammock, enjoys and celebrates the independent spirit of a hotel that is run with love. I would encourage anyone who is entertaining a stay here to try to stay longer than a couple of nights. Why? Because it is fun, and life is short.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We are repeat patrons at Eden House, and each time we stay there we find new things to love. This year we thought the music playing around the pool area was especially enjoyable! The peacefulness of the hammocks allows you to let go of stress and just appreciate the greenery and the blue sky. Also, the happy hour is a great way to meet other patrons and make new friends. We can't wait to return or should I say "this place is terrible"...we want to keep it to ourselves!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.