We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you gotta be kidding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Duval House to your Saves list
The Duval House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   815 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“you gotta be kidding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

I've stayed at the Duval several times and in many different rooms. Not sure if #17 was one of them or not. While there are
different degrees of rooms, let's get real. The person who complained about their $99 room at the Duval house in December... get real ! You couldn't get a tent site at Boyds Camground in December for $99.
This place is what Key West is all about, if you want Hilton type rooms, go to the Hilton. But giving this place a bad review isn't right.

  • Liked — Key West Feeling, the location, the pool.
  • Disliked — 10 buck to park
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    109
    28
    23
    23
See reviews for
19
206
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

My boyfriend and I travelled to Key West 2 weeks ago and did not book any accommodation before arrival. We went to the visitors center and asked for any good hotel deals. They straight away offered us the Duval House at US$ 109 incl bfast per night. The brochure looked nice so we booked 2 nights. Upon arrival we were given the choice of 2 different rooms, one with its own balcony and a small bathroom with shower and another room with a shared balcony, large bathroom with bath, four-poster bed and a small couch. We took the second option, this is room 2 and I advise you to ask for this one when you make a booking!
The a/c is a bit old and makes some noise however this does not keep you up at night.
The champagne breakfast is just lovely. It's served in the pool house. They serve coffee, tea, juice, champagne, several types of cereal, fresh fruit and all kinds of pastries, croissants and bagels.
I am very pleased that I did not read the previous comments before our stay as they might have put me off of staying at Duval House. And that would have been a shame, it was the most romantic placed we stayed at during our travels trough Florida.
Go and stay at the Duval House! The service is great and the rooms are very nice (make sure you book one of the bigger rooms though, as the small rooms really leave no place for moving around).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

A group of eight of us stayed at the Duval House. I found no problems with it at all. I have read reviews of hotels all over Key West. Majority of them say "pricey". To me that is what you get in Key West. So I didn't think the Duval House was pricey at all. We plan on doing the same trip again in July for my birthday and plan on staying at the Duval House.

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

If you are planning a trip to Key West, I highly recommend a stay at The Duval House. We rented the entire B and B for family and friends for our daughter's wedding. They not only met, but exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms are clean, bright and so much fun to stay in. (we all spent alot of time in the rockers out on the deck of our rooms) The service is great and so very friendly! Our family and friends loved their visit to Key West, in part, thanks to the great Duval House atmosphere. So if you are heading to Key West, stop by the Duval House, spent a night or two and say hello to Maureen and Skip for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2005

This hotel is not a good value at all. The brochure and website pictures are misleading. Our room was miniature with a terrible mattress and a shower that you couldn't move in (see previous reviews of room #17). The room was musty and it was just really junky. We were very near a bar and the loud music blared into our room until after 2:00 am. We got our room for $99 a night and I still felt like we got a rerrible deal. I have had better showers at a KOA campground and the promised champagne breakfast was really skimpy. Also, they nickel-and-dime you on everything, from threatening $93 for a lost key to $45 for a late check-out. I saw other places that looked much better - the Tropical Inn across the street is beautiful and very nice. We enjoyed our stay in Key West in spite of this hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Duval House this May. We had a wonderful time! Our room was small, but very well appointed, and had French doors that opened onto the garden, and had a small private patio on one side. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom nice...everything was great!
The grounds were beautiful. Lush tropical gardens surrounding a beautiful clean pool. Tons of nice iron garden furniture to rest in, a beautiful gazebo, and a 2 person hammock that my husband and I took advantage of everyday for a siesta!
I read some other reveiws that said the rooms were noisy. Our room was not noisy at all. However, the Duval House does have rooms facing Duval Street (which is the busiest street in Key West), so if you stay here, I would suggest to ask for a room with a garden view rather than a street view.
Overall--wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Duval House for our honeymoon and absoutely hated it. The room was not clean. Toilet was filthy. Our room was tiny and you can hear everything that goes on outside your room. It did not feel private at all. The air conditioner smelled moldy and gave us a headache. The floors were not washed and our white socks got dirty walking across the room. Housekeeping isn't very quick about cleaning the rooms even w/the "clean now" sign on the door. For a B&B the breakfast was horrible. I don't know if I was expecting too much because they call themselves a B&B, but I thought the breakfast should have been better. The cold pastry and weak coffee was not appetizing. We only had the breakfast once since I saw ants by the pastry the first morning. The gardens were OK and the pool nice but the airplanes flying by were very loud. The flight patterns for the airport flew right above Duval House. We couldn't cancel because you need to pay in advance and pay a cancellation fee if you don't stay for your whole reservation. Parking is extra or you need to park in the street. Definitely overpriced. Our honeymoon was not as enjoyable because of our stay at the Duval House. We stayed at the Southernmost Hotel before our wedding which is excellent including free parking. I definitely recommend staying there. We wished we stayed there for our honeymoon as well instead of the Duval House. When we got home I wrote Duval House a letter regarding our complaints. They sent us a 20% off for our next visit, but we will not be staying there again. It would have been nice if we were reimbursed for some of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Address: 815 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duval House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.